We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in Hamburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #13 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Hamburg”
Reviewed 18 November 2011

This is my fourth stay at the Movenpick and it never disappoints. Consistenty brilliant from go to wo. The building was once Hamburg's water tower and the architecture is grand designs worthy. Great location in a Boho part of Hamburg - this adds to the charm. There's plenty of bars and restaurants in the area. The rooms are always immaculately clean, well stocked and no shortage of towels! Food's great. The in house restaurant is top quality. I refuse to stay anywhere else in Hamburg.

Room Tip: Ask for a room 6th floor and above for a better view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Checkers340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Hello from Hamburg,

Thanks a lot for your stay in our hotel and your friendly review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed you visit in Hamburg and our historic water tower. We are constantly striving to make our guest’s stay as enjoyable as possible and it is always a pleasure to hear, that we achieved this target.

We hope to may welcome you soon again!
Best regards,
the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,195
    611
    113
    26
    16
See reviews for
250
881
101
550
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

I was here for business, but got in a bit of sightseeing also. As others have mentioned, this is a converted water tower that you can see for blocks and the design is really sharp. This is one of a few hotels I've ever been to where I would suggest if you're not staying here, at least stopping in to see it and have a meal- the architecture is that cool and the food is that good. Breakfast and lunch buffets were outstanding with too many good options to fit in my belly. The location is also good- fairly close to the lake and right by the metro. The rooms were somewhat large for a European hotel but cleverly designed and classy throughout. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jolloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Hello from Hamburg’s water tower,

Thank you for your stay in our hotel and your positive review. We are pleased to hear that you felt very comfortable during your stay and that you enjoyed the atmosphere of our exceptional water tower and our delicious food offer as well.
Hopefully we may welcome you soon again in Hamburg.

Kind and warm regards
the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I booked a standard room but as we were celebrating my friend's birthday I had asked for a nice room with a king size bed. Not only did we get both but they also surprised us with a little birthday cake which we found waiting in our room. Very nice touch! We really liked the modern design of the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The tube station is only a 2 minute walk away and it only takes two stops to get into the city. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank X X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
Hello from Hamburg,

Thank you for your visit in our hotel and your positive review.

We are pleased to here that you felt very comfortable during your stay. Thank you for your compliments concerning our service and the modern design of our historic water tower.
We hope that you enjoyed your little birthday cake! Perhaps we may welcome you on your birthday, too!?

Greetings from the water tower,
The Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This was our first stay in a Movenpick hotel and I have to say we really couldn't fault it! The hotel is in a converted Water tower which makes it quite distinctive to look at and it sits on a small hill in a funky part of Hamburg. It is slightly out from the city centre but this isn't really a problem as there is a metro station nearby. The hotel has clearly been decked out to quite a high standard with large rooms with good furnishings and a quality feel throughout. The bar is quite cool in style and very modern looking. It was a nice place to sit and have a 'pre-going out' drink and the staff were friendly and efficient. The best thing by far, however, was the food in the hotel restaurant. Our package included an evening meal and it was superb. The restaurant was busy (it seemed with non-guests - which we took to be a good sign) but the staff were quick and friendly. Our waitress was a local student and she recommended a great German wine to go with our meal and was patient and gracious with our halting attempts at speaking German! All, in I would definately recommend this hotel. It's not a cheap option but if you are looking for a class place to stay but at a price that isn't ridiculous - this is a good bet. Oh, and the breakfast is excellent also!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markyd333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Hello from our historic water tower,

Thank you very much for staying in our hotel and for taking the time to write this friendly review.

We are very pleased to hear that our hotel in the historic water tower was according to your taste. Further we are happy, that you enjoyed the atmosphere and service of our lifestyle bar Cave and our restaurant. Great, that we could convince you with the quality of our food and especially our rich breakfast buffet.

We would love to welcome you very soon again in Hamburg!

Best regards,
The Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Stayed for the weekend with 13 others at the start of August and found the hotel to be decent, clean and excellent service. Just what you need when you won't be spending much time at the hotel and only have two nights in Hamburg. Rooms were good and spacious - not sure about this continental European passion for hotel rooms with windows between the room and bathroom mind you. Who is that for exactly? Also the blinds didn't come all the way down which meant you had to avert your eyes whilst your room mate was in the shower. Can't complain though and staff were very good. One of our party left a mobile phone behind and it was in the UK with him again in two days.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Hello from Hamburg,
Thank you for your visit in our hotel and for writing this review.

We are glad to hear, that you had a nice weekend in Hamburg and that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We decided to integrate a window between the room and the bathroom because otherwise you wouldn’t have any daylight in the bathroom. We apologize for the broken blind, which protects your privacy usually.

At least we would like to thank you for your compliment concerning our service. We hope to may welcome you soon again!

Best regards,
The Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Very nice hotel & staff cleane and good location with cool entrance you can feel the sound of water

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albalooshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Hallo from Hamburg,

Thank you for your visit in our hotel and this positive review.
We are happy to hear, that you felt comfortable in our historic water tower.
The sound of water is one element of a project called memory, which always recalls the history of the building. We are glad to hear, that you enjoyed this special atmosphere.

We hope to may welcome you very soon again!

Best regards,
The Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
477 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The Movenpick hotel is located in an old water tower so the entry, reception area, hallways and bar are quite spectacular. However, the room was rather small as was the bathroom, even though they were nice and clean. The view from the room was great. Checking in was a time consuming activity. I arrived around six which I can imagine is a rather busy time normally. I was however lucky I was the only one apart from another gentleman. There were two receptionists and they were both busy with the one other gentleman. At some stage one of the receptionist gave me a document to fill in and then she joined her colleague again to help the other guest. All in all the whole process took about 15 minutes. In the meantime, other guests were arriving and they also needed to wait. I think next time I will try another hotel as the whole experience didn't wow me.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeKokkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Hello from Hamburg,

Thank you for your visit in our hotel and for taking the time to write this review.
We are pleased to hear, that our historic water tower and the great view from your hotel room were according to your taste.

Since the beginning of September we have some new employees at the hotel reception, who have to be introduced carefully in our hotel standards and procedures. That requires sometimes the attention and time of their colleagues.
Of course we apologize for this inconvenience and will forward this review to the responsible person.

We hope that we may convince you of the quality of our service, food and hospitality in one of our Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts.

Best regards,
The Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#8 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#18 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Hamburg

Property: Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Address: Sternschanze 6, 20357 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Sternschanze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#4 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#6 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#7 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Movenpick Hotel Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique for it being built into a former water tower, the Movenpick Hotel Hamburg stands as a trendy and modern hotel in the Sternschanzenpark area. The hotel offers 226 rooms, a Movenpick hotel restaurant and the Lifestyle Bar "Cave". 13 Conference and meeting rooms as well as a fitness and sauna area are also available.The hotel's location is ideal for both business travelers and visitors. Only a few steps away, the metro brings you to wherever you'd like to go. The fairgrounds and Congress Centre Hamburg are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburg Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing