We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #15 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Near to the relaxed and eclectic Quarter "Schanze". Very interesting building (old water storage tower), delicious breakfast, awesome SPA, perfect for a couple f days in Hamburg. Friendly Staff and good parking conditions.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johannisbeersaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Hello from Hamburg,
Thank you for your visit at our hotel and your friendly review. We are glad to hear, that you enjoyed the district “Sternschanze” and - of course - that you felt comfortable with us.

We hope to see you soon again in the water tower.

Kind regards,
the General Manager and the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,165)
There are newer reviews for Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 2,165 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

Fantastic building 2 min. walk from the U Bahn station, 15 min. walk to a lovely Park, great jogging path round it. Only 3 Tram stops to Jungfernstieg, you can walk it if you prefer.
Service in Hotel was brilliant, very friendly, rooms elegantly made for the round shape of the Building. Having a bath is always a nice extra. Didnt quite get the heating System.
Sleeping with open windows not a good idea, due to the nearby Station and well frequented Park round the Building.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bunch-o-heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear “bunch-o-heather”,
thanks a lot for your great review here on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear this very positive feedback about your stay. As advice for your next visit: to avoid being disturbed during the night, you may close the window; they are all soundproofed.

We hope to may welcome you very soon again.

Kind regards,
the General Manager and your Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Got a Upgrade to one of the top floor suites, and what a fantastic room and view. The hotel is not in the city centre, but lies NeXT to a great Brewpub. You can drive Your car in the garage and pay, or you can park for free right outside the hotel, Nice quiet area.

Room Tip: Get one of the top suites, fantastic viev and good Space.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wyu-Auw-Chu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Wyu-Auw-Chu,
Thank you for your visit in our hotel and your positive review. We are very happy to hear, that you felt comfortable with us. We hope to may welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,
the General Manager and the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

If you fancy splashing out a bit, this hotel hits the spot. It's a bit too big to be called a "boutique" hotel, but it has the kind of quirky features you find in one - it's shape being one of them! The service is very attentive and polite, rooms are well-equipped, bar is modern and comfortable (and not too expensive - less than €5 for a large beer and cheap cocktails up to 20.00hrs), and food very good. I didn't eat dinner there, but the breakfast buffet was plentiful (English, continental, and everything in between) and both beautifully cooked and beautifully presented.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wittsy_64_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Wittsy,
thank you very much for your visit and for writing this positive review. We are glad to read, that you enjoyed the special atmosphere of our water tower and that you were satisfied with our personal service.

We hope to may welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,
your Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is a fabulous hotel in every sense.
Great position
Fantastic building
Cool decor
Original features
Excellent service
Superb bar and restaurant
Great food
Fabulous room
Value for money

The only thing I could find to pick would be the pillows were too soft !! Sad Eh!!
I will definitely use this hotel again for business and may even take the wife if she behaves :)

go for it you wont be dissapointed

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank H2499MNmarkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Hello Mark,

thank you for your visit with us and this great review. We are happy about each of your "positive keywords"! We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,
the General Manager and the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

What a fantastic hotel! Excellent! Perfect rooms with a feeling you're just at home. Deliscious breakfast with a variety of options. Lovely lounge - the 'Cave Bar' which the option of any kind of snack, cocktail and coffee. Excellent staff! Oh yes, next time I'm in Hamburg I would defintely just book again with Movenpick Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giorgos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Hello from Hamburg,

Thank you for your very kind review about your stay in our hotel. We are glad to hear that you felt just like at home. We are already looking forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,
your Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My husband and I decided to treat ourselves on our last trip to Hamburg and stayed at the Movenpick but were unfortunately severely disappointed by the staff, the room and the facilities. On arrival at the hotel, rather than greeting us, the porter at the entrance at the hotel shouted at us for parking our car in the wrong place, even though we didn't have a car. We stayed in a superior room, but were disappointed by the size - was much smaller than expected - and the fact that the shower only ran either scoldingly hot or freezing cold. Having reported the dodgy shower, we came back to our room to find the shower was still broken and that the handyman had left their tools all over our bathroom! And to top that off, the staff at reception didn't really seem to know Hamburg very well as couldn't offer much advise on how to get around.

So...although the building is impressive, would most definitely not recommend this hotel, as is very pricey given how poor the service and facilities are.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MPrCr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Hello from Hamburg’s water tower

Thank you for your visit in our hotel and for writing this review here on TripAdvisor.

We regret to hear that you weren’t totally satisfied with our service and apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay. As we already have experience with parking tickets for our guests, caused by parking in a wrong place, our porter presumably just wanted to “warn” you. We are very sorry for this misunderstanding.

The size of our hotel rooms is indeed not that spacious, which is caused by the construction conditions of our historic water tower. We weren’t allowed to change the protected building. As well for the problems concerning the shower we apologize at this point. We are constantly working on any technical improvements in our house.

We hope that we may convince you one day in one of our Hotels & Resorts worldwide of Moevenpick’s high service quality.

We wish you all the best.

Kind regards
Your Moevenpick Hamburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#6 of 319 in Hamburg
1,466 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 319 in Hamburg
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 319 in Hamburg
2,416 reviews
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#16 of 319 in Hamburg
1,572 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Hamburg

Address: Sternschanze 6, 20357 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Sternschanze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#4 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#6 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#7 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £102 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Movenpick Hotel Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique for it being built into a former water tower, the Movenpick Hotel Hamburg stands as a trendy and modern hotel in the Sternschanzenpark area. The hotel offers 226 rooms, a Movenpick hotel restaurant and the Lifestyle Bar "Cave". 13 Conference and meeting rooms as well as a fitness and sauna area are also available.The hotel's location is ideal for both business travelers and visitors. Only a few steps away, the metro brings you to wherever you'd like to go. The fairgrounds and Congress Centre Hamburg are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburg Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing