We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Nearby Hotels
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Hamburg(Hamburg)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Hyatt Hamburg(Hamburg)
US$340
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel St. Annen(Hamburg)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Madison Hamburg(Hamburg)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,380)
Filter reviews
2,380 results
Traveller rating
1,424
755
138
41
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,424
755
138
41
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater towerthe cave barmovenpick hotelunique buildinglong escalatorsound effectssurrounding parkred brickunusual hotelgreat hotelpillow menus bahnbreakfast buffet istube stationa wonderful staybusiness centerthe congress
Filter
Updating list...
358 - 363 of 2,380 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My family (husband, son, my mother and I) was so excited about our stay at the hotel, but it turner out to be such an disappointment for us. We had booked two rooms - 1 for my son and my mother and 1 for my husband and I. Since I made the reservation at the same time I really thought we would get rooms next to each other - but no my son and mother ended up on floor 12 and my husband and I on floor 2 - which made my son cry. According to the reception everything was booked - if only the receptionist would have spend one minute looking at the computer I might have believed her.
The rooms were nice - one with a better view :) but no coffee maker, madras that need to be turned over or maybe time for new. Noise from the park until 2-3 am even with windows closed. Andet might be time for the windows to be cleaned, looked awful with the sin shinning.
Expensive wi-fi - it is time to make it free like in most hotels. We didn't try the breakfast since it was too expensive - very clear it is a hotel for business people who have a Company pick up the bill.
I am pretty sure I won't be coming back. I just feel so disappointed - so much for a mother's day gift.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vibeke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Vibeke,

Thank you for your visit in the water tower and your review here on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry to hear, that we could not meet your expectations of our hotel and apologize that we weren’t able to allocate the two rooms next to each other. We definitely understand your displeasure about this situation, though we can assure that our receptionist would have changed the rooms, if there would have been any possibility.

We also regret to hear, that you were disturbed by noise from the park. All our windows are soundproofed and normally you enjoy a relaxing night time when they are closed. Your comment concerning the cleanliness of the window panes we will of course forward to the housekeeping department.

Concerning the WIFI and the breakfast, please have a look at the packages of our own hotel website. The breakfast includes a rich buffet with warm and cold specialties, all Moevenpick coffee beverages, a variety of tea, juices as well as sparkling wine. We are sorry that you feel that the price of EUR 23 (for an adult) is too high for this offer.

We hope that we may welcome you one day in one of hotels & resorts worldwide and to may convince you of Moevenpick’s high service quality.

Kind regards,
the General Manager and the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I've had the pleasure to stay at other Moevenpick locations before and have always been satisfied. Hamburg upped the quality that others need to beat by some margin. It was only for one night but well worth it. I was upgraded to a higher room floor. 16 floor gave me a superb view of Hamburg and beyond. Gym was first class. Service impeccable and the breakfast was quite possibly the best I have experienced. Well done Hamburg!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simarsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Simarsden,
Thank you very much for your great review and your compliments concerning our service as well as our breakfast offer. We are happy to hear that you spent enjoyable days in Hamburg and the water tower.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again as our guest.

Kind regards,
the General Manager and the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The overall hotel design is heavy, dark and relaxing. Also very, very creative. The room (10th floor) had unique design. Bathroom had a huge window that was right behind the bed headboard and had electric blinds. The smallish fortress-type windows overlooking the park and city. Breakfast was nice - lots of choice.The relax area was also quite nicely designed with both hot and medium warm saunas.

The rooms do not have robes to wear to and from the relax area - this is a spacious hotel (lots of walking indoors to reach the relax area) and it's not fun to have to put business clothes back on just for the trek to the room with wet hair after the sauna.

The biggest downpoint with this hotel is that it's not walking distance to the city centre - i.e. where you want to be as a tourist in Hamburg. You have to take public transport and to reach it you have to walk past "muggers park". Taxi is the best option if to avoid the park at night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear StockholmCanuck,

Thank you for your visit in our water tower and your positive feedback about it. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in Hamburg and with us.

On request we gladly provide every guest with a bathrobe for the use of our fitness- and sauna area. We wonder why you mentioned that you have to walk through the park to reach public transport. You only need to follow the street from hotel entrance for about 200m to reach the metro station Sternschanze. From there you easily reach the city center, the harbor and other attractive sightseeing points.

We hope to may welcome you soon again in Hamburg.

Kind regards
the General Manager and the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Mövenpick in Hamburg is a theme hotel with a nice atmosphere, good accommodation, an excellent breakfast buffet and a bar with very educated and charming staff. The only downside is the bed and cushions which I would expect to be of a higher quality for an hotel in that price segment. The same for the WLAN which you have to pay extra, this is truly not state of the art nowadays.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Hans,
Thanks for visiting our hotel and for writing this positive review. We are happy to hear that you had enjoyable days in our water tower. However, we are sorry to hear that you weren’t totally satisfied with the bed and cushions. We will forward this comment to our housekeeping department. Concerning the WLAN, please have a look at the offers on our own hotel website.

We hope to may welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,
the General Manager and your Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed on a weekend were rates are affordable. On weekdays this hotel is likely to have conference guests or visitors to the Messe exhibit halls.

We were rewarded with a very nice room in a converted water tower standing in the middle of a small park. We once lived in Hamburg and were fascinated by the water tower turned into a hotel. Ever since we planned to once stay there. The Hamburg Mövenpick met and exceeded our expectations.

The building is every as nice as interesting as we expected. The breakfast buffet was an unexpected surprise. Probably the best breakfast we ever had in a city hotel!

The restaurant sits on the ground floor (two floors up from the reception), just outside the water tower building. On the way to the buffet one crosses back into the old water tower to find a large selection of hot dishes, juices, breads, cheeses, meat, …

Room Tip: We were lucky to get a standard room on the 6th floor. Higher floors are reserved for superior rooms. Our side of the building had a great view of the Fernsehturm. Leaning out the window we were able to see the Elbphilharmonie, St. Michaelis Church, … Lower floors may have their view obscured by trees.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Pierre,

Thank you for your visit in our hotel and your very positive review. We are very happy to read, that we met and even exceeded our expectations. Especially we thank you as well for your compliments concerning our breakfast – we will gladly forward it to the restaurant team.

We hope to may welcome you soon again in our water tower.

Kind regards,
the General Manager and your Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews