We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, spectacular architecture in a good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movenpick Hotel Hamburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #12 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great service, spectacular architecture in a good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

My wife had stayed here twice before and raved about it. I can see why. It is a unique space where the designers have taken full advantage of the water tower in their design. We took a suite on the 15th floor with great views over Hamburg and the sunsets. If you have to attend an event at Messer or be a tourist it is well located. You can either get a taxi to central Hamburg for 12 Euro, or a very short train trip. The train station is about 200 meters away. I would of liked to walk because the central city, lake and harbour are only 3-4 Km's away. It is amongst a nice green park so at breakfast you see only trees. The breakfast staff are excellent. Enrique was exceptional in his service. The front desk can be a bit stuffy. The cave bar is fun. There is a very good beer hotel next to the train station you only need to go up a few stairs to a great range of beers. The local area is very young and funky and you always feel safe. Plenty of restaurants near by.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard952013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Richard952013,
Thanks a lot for your visit in our hotel and your positive review here on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the special design and architecture of our water tower. And it’s as well nice to hear, that you have profited of the green and individual surrounding of the hotel. We thank you for your compliments about our breakfast staff and Enrique – we will gladly forward this comment.

Hopefully we may welcome you very soon again in Hamburg.

Best regards,
the General Manager and the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,134
    563
    99
    26
    15
See reviews for
241
817
92
516
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed here with a friend while we visited Hamburg. We stayed for 3 nights. The hotel is only a short distance from the main centre of Hamburg, only one stop on the S Bahn. The hotel is unique as it's inside an old water tower. The hotel overlook the park as does the rooms. I liked the feature on the wall in our hotel room which showed us where in the tower we were staying. The hotel reception is also different, you first have to ascend the escalator to get to reception. The staff were really friendly. My friend and I ordered pillows from the pillow menu and they were delivered straight away. A really nice touch was fresh coffee in the morning in reception and in the late afternoon - chocolate tasting! The Cave Bar was also a plus for this hotel. The staff in the bar were really nice and friendly and the cocktails were excellent. The hotel is a little quiet, if you're looking for something buzzing and with lots going on, this isn't the place for you, but if you're looking for something peaceful and quiet, look no further!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jd1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear jd1983,
Thank your for your visit at the water tower and your positive review.

We are happy to hear, that you and your friend had enjoyable days in Hamburg. Great, that you felt comfortable in our hotel and that you were satisfied with our personal service. In addition we thank you for your compliments concerning our CAVE bar.

We hope to may welcome you soon again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
the General Manager and the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. Upon arrival we were offered an upgrade for a reasonable amount, and we ended up in a lovely room on the 16. floor with a stunning view of the city. We loved the nearby park and the neighborhood with all the cafés and restaurants. We did not try the restaurant or the breakfast at the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank johanneditlevsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Johanneditlevsen,
Thank you for your stay with us and your positive review here on TripAdvisor. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful view over Hamburg. We are also glad to hear that you have profited of the nice surroundings in the area of the hotel.

We hope to may welcome you soon again in our water tower.

Kind regards,
the General Manager and the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Würzburg
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

An old water-tower has been turned into a hotel. The architecture is simply amazing and you can best enjoy it sitting on the patio or in the Cave bar. As one would expect of Moevenpick, service is quick and immaculate. This hotel has excellent rooms, clean and adequately sized.The windows were sound proof (garantee for a perfect and quiet sleep) and the view over Hamburg was spectacular. The bathroom amenities were superb. Breakfast was very good - lots of excellent choices.The relax area is nicely designed with both hot and medium warm saunas.
The hotel is very near to the S and U bahn stop (Sternschanze) which made it easy to get around. However, you should avoid to walk through the surrounding Sternschanzenpark at night which is then turned into a „muggers park“, with lots of graffities against the Moevenpick Company.
Unfortunately there was no free WiFi when we visited, this obviously has been changed now for the summer time, hopefully for longer.

Room Tip: High is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WFS58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hello WFS58,
Thank you for your stay with us and for writing this very positive review.
We are happy to hear, that you had enjoyable days in Hamburg and our water tower. Especially we thank you for your compliments concerning our service. Regarding the WIFI, please have a look at the offers on our own hotel website.

We hope to may see you soon again in Hamburg.

Kind regards,
the General Manager & the Mövenpick Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

great hotel, great location, we had the summer deal so it was also very good value for money. I would definitively stay there again. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Easy to catch the tube to the city or just walk around the corner to restaurant and bars.

I can also recommend the CAVE bar and their amazing cocktails during happy hour.
Will be back

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reisender4631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hello from Hamburg,
Thank you for your stay in the water tower and your great review. We are very satisfied to hear all these positive comments about our hotel and service. We hope, that we may welcome you very soon again.

Sunny regards,
the General Manager and the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel structure is amazing and cool. Rooms are nice with beautiful landscape. Great variety of food at breakfast (cappuccino is super! Taste it!). What I would complain about is the wifi connection which is poor in the rooms and in the lobby. I paid for it (12euros) but actually it did not work properly.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ghiro76_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear ghiro76_11,
Thank you for your visit in our hotel and your positive review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the great view over Hamburg and our rich buffet breakfast. We are sorry to hear, that the WIFI didn’t work properly on your device. Concerning the charges for the internet, please have a look at the offers on our own hotel website.

We hope to may welcome you soon again as our guest in Hamburg.

Kind regards,
the General Manager & your Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#4 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#7 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#18 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Hamburg

Property: Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Address: Sternschanze 6, 20357 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Sternschanze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#4 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#5 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#7 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Movenpick Hotel Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique for it being built into a former water tower, the Movenpick Hotel Hamburg stands as a trendy and modern hotel in the Sternschanzenpark area. The hotel offers 226 rooms, a Movenpick hotel restaurant and the Lifestyle Bar "Cave". 13 Conference and meeting rooms as well as a fitness and sauna area are also available.The hotel's location is ideal for both business travelers and visitors. Only a few steps away, the metro brings you to wherever you'd like to go. The fairgrounds and Congress Centre Hamburg are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburg Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing