We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Small, Simple, but Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel One Hamburg - Altona
Ranked #74 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I was a little hesitant to take my friend up on his suggestion of a Motel room (bad images of the cheap American motels came to mind), but upon entry to the hotel I was pleasantly surprised. It's not luxurious of course, cheaply decorated with trendy things, but funky color scheme and has a wonderful sense of flow. Friendly, efficient staff checked me in at the front desk and made me feel very welcome.
The room was well, you get what you pay for, but I was really surprised at how functional the space was. Everything was very clean, and although very small, I enjoyed every minute of my short stay. Keep in mind there is not even a telephone in the room, they literally don't want you calling them for anything. If you want something you need to get it yourself, and likely pay extra for it, but it's all part of that great price.

Room Tip: Just ask for it. Ask to see it first:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moose2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2011

Terrible ... for €99, you can expect soulless, white, shoebox accommodation, no room telephone, a breakfast area with the character of a busy airport, and reception staff who think Pizza Hut is a good restaurant recommendation!! Despite the high Trip Advisor rating, the people who though this hotel is excellent are either students, backpackers, or someone who has never stayed in a hotel before. Anyone else should avoid this hotel like the plague.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPVLondonGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Stayed here two nights after reading other reviews, and was not disappointed. The hotel is almost new. Rooms are, as usual in Europe, fairly small, but very clean. Motel One is a no-frills chain (no phone, no body lotion, etc,). The washbasin is in the bedroom, not the bath, which would be fine except that in order to avoid water damage (I guess), there is no stopper in the sink! This made it very hard to wash up some clothing which I had planned to do. And, there is really no place to hang up your clothes, no comfortable chairs and no good reading lights. The location is not great, as it is fairly far from downtown without much in the way of nearby restaurants, etc. However, lest I sound too negative, note that the room is overall quite pleasant; I asked for and received a room on the back of the hotel, which was very quiet. The buffet breakfast was quite good and very good value, and the staff was very helpful. The hotel is clearly designed for young travellers who are not spending a lot of time in the room, as "vibe" and style are the clear priorities. That said, I'd happily stay at a Motel One again, though I'd think twice about this particular one, owing to the inconvenient location

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank majorswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

This is how an overnight/short-stay hotel should be. Very similar to some of the newer Premier Inns in the UK. They get all the right things right - bed is good, its clean and quiet, and breakfast is of good quality. WiFi worked well (should have been free though, but hey). Other sub 75 Euro hotels take note...

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c3ntaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

I really liked this place - it is good value, has nice little modern touches and is more hotel than motel. the rooms are teenyweeny but that may have been as i was on my own but if space is important to you then you may want to enquire first before booking about the size of the standard room. Otherwise, I was happy!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank contentas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Great Welcome when you first come in. Given the price of €59 the reception and bar is pretty trendy. Rooms are basic but very clean and modern. Room is a bit like a very upmarket student dorm including Loewe TV. Staff are very friendly and welcoming and there are plenty of them. Great value for a one night business trip. Watch out for that big fire on the TV in reception, I'm sure I could feel the heat from it sitting at the bar.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillieLasne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Motel One Hamburg Alster
Date : May 20, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights with my family. We had 2 rooms here.
The hotel is neat and clean. Rooms are not very big but comfortable enough. Have the basics, air conditioning, tv, basic bathroom ameneties, hair dryer.

Very minimalistic, tasteful decor. Everything in the hotel is in the combination of brown and blue. Very nice to look at.

Our rooms were on the ground floor so made it easy for a quick entry and exit. Also, the coffee shop is located next to the lobby so made that easily accessible as well.

Some of the drawbacks. They don't have a concierge service and no trolleys etc. to carry luggage. So if you're travelling with any amount of luggage, you're left to carry it to and fro all by yourself. No one will even offer to give you a hand.

The front desk attendants barely speak any English, so it makes it really difficult to get any information that is even a bit complicated. Their knowledge is very limited.

Food - the breakfast buffet at the coffee shop is just about okay as well. Just the basics and almost no choice for vegetarians except breads and cut vegetables. Besides the breakfast service they only serve sandwiches through the day. So if anyone is looking for a full meal, you have to step out of the hotel.

So basically, clean hotel, decent rooms, comfortable to live in over all.
There is a Burger King and McDonalds at walking distance, so if someone is hungry food is just a couple of minutes away.
But considering it wasn't very cheap, I'd suggest you spend a bit more or maybe the same amount for a hotel which at least has some service.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niti27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Ibis Budget Hamburg Altona
#115 of 321 in Hamburg
590 reviews
25hours Hotel Number One
#69 of 321 in Hamburg
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altona-Altstadt
NH Hamburg Altona
NH Hamburg Altona
#51 of 321 in Hamburg
928 reviews
Eimsbüttel
Park Hotel Hamburg Arena
Park Hotel Hamburg Arena
#167 of 321 in Hamburg
466 reviews
Bahrenfeld
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
#17 of 321 in Hamburg
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Hamburg - Altona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Hamburg - Altona

Address: Kieler Str. 171, 22525 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Hamburg
#50 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#59 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £66 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Hamburg - Altona 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Motel One Hamburg - Altona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 1 Hamburg - Altona
Motel One Hamburg - Altona Hotel Hamburg
Hotel One Hamburg Altona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing