We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hamburg Central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alt-Nuernberg
Ranked #116 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Albury, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hamburg Central”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This small hotel takes a step back in time. There are only about 12 rooms over four floors, and there is no lift. The rooms are clean and a reasonable size. A modest bathroom with all the necessary and no frills. Comfortable bed, a couple of easy chairs table and chair giving more than a lot of chain hotel rooms.
Placed a stone throw from the centra railway station and a short walk from the city centre it would be difficult to improve on the position. The staff make every effort to make your stay memorable.

Breakfast which we had included, could not have been better, with the jams and cakes home produced.

Whilst the local area is a little seedy and very noisy at street level the windows are double glazed keeping the room quiet giving us a good nights sleep.

We were on the third floor and had our windows open during the evenings as there is no air conditioning or cooling.

Recommend staying here if you are travelling by train, car parking could be a problem.

Room Tip: There is no lift so the higher you go the higher you will need to carry your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    32
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
34
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, UK.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Exactly how I expected, fab location, lovely basic rooms, free wifi, great host. I also thought the rooms were exceptionally clean too.
Take earplugs as you are close to central station so it's noisy. We did have the windows open a lot of the time as the room was pretty warm.
Would benefit from tea / coffee facility in rooms and also could do with shower curtain, apart from that fab, thanks Wolfgang!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Booshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farum, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Nice, very central hotel in Hamburg city center. Surprisingly quite area, very near to central main station. Friendly and personal good service from staff. Only little too old fashion style at hotel. Uncomplicated stay, nice and predictable, somewhat borring.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I arrived here with little advance notice and was given a very lovely room. The woman working the desk couldn't have been more friendly or helpful and the room was very clean and nice. The hotel also came with a delicious breakfast for no extra cost. The problem was, the hotel is not at all sound proof. I'm generally a heavy sleeper but I was really unable to sleep for much of the night as all of the outside noises and some inside noises (sounded like a few drunk people having a conversation but not entirely sure) kept me up. Had it not been for the noise I'd say it was one of the better hotels I've stayed in. Will stay again, but will bring ear plugs.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Glubetrutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My husband and I stayed one night in November. We hadn't booked ahead and happened to stumble across it after walking in to a few to ask about availability and prices. We were glad we did! Of the 5 or so we walked into on the block they were by far the cleaned, most friendly, and nicest atmosphere. The breakfast was amazing. The decor was adorable and looked traditional but not cluttered. Most of all, the man and woman working, whom we assumed were the owners by the amount of pride they took in the place, were very helpful and seemed to really enjoy what they do and made everyone feel welcome.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meaghan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mougins, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed a couple of times here and couldn't feel more welcomed. This little cosy hotel will always be on my list when coming to Hamburg. friendly staff, simple furnished but cosy and clean rooms and perfectly located. thanky to Mrs. Kind & Co.
Fred from Mougins

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fred b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

we came by train and hotel is 100m from HpBanhof,1km walk from city center.Clasic 3x hotel,clean,quiet,very pleasant and helpfull staff,rich breakfast.No lift,Can choose smoke,non smoke room,internet only in reception.Many good restaurants in 5min walk distance.More expensive than usually in Europe(140 per room with b),but hard to find cheaper in this location.We left at 9am and return at 20.00,really nice city...for a sleep very good choise.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
#55 of 317 in Hamburg
395 reviews
Terminus Hamburg
#131 of 317 in Hamburg
129 reviews
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Kronprinz Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Novum Apartment Hotel City Apart Hamburg
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg
St. Georg
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#275 of 317 in Hamburg
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alt-Nuernberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alt-Nuernberg

Property: Hotel Alt-Nuernberg
Address: Steintorweg 15, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alt-Nuernberg 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alt-Nuernberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing