We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not recommended”
Review of Hotel Polo Hamburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Polo Hamburg
Ranked #248 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“not recommended”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I went on a trip through Europe with my girlfriend and we already visited 5 hotels before coming to this. It was the most expensive one and also the most unpleasent one. The room was very very small and not in a very nice district. The first room we got was right next to the reception and after asking to change we were lucky that they had room. In short the price/quality is not as expected.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    104
    91
    22
    22
See reviews for
40
118
33
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sgtwilson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2013

The staff were pleasant, the shower was ferociously hot, and the hotel is centrally located - so in a there's all the positives that get this very poor hotel its couple of stars.

The room was tiny, the furniture less than basic (rickety wardrobe and, er, that's it). The bed small and uncomfortable and the duvets threadbare. (In Northern Germany and in February, even snuggling up to my lovely and in every sense hot wife I was freezing.) Cheerless doesn't even begin to cover it. No kettle, no cups, nowhere to get a cuppa. The room was more like an office in the accounts dept of a down at heel secret police force, than a place to relax and sleep.

A disgrace really. They need to sort it. We won't be back.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thin_controller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamburg hotels

Gliwice, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2011

For a few nights stay in Hamburg. Rooms are nice with tasteful design. Service is excellent. The only drawback was the window view from the room, which was not fantastic, however you probably cant get a nice view in the overlooking the main road. Definately recommed this place.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabizzwecz1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

The best thing about this hotel is that it is a stone’s throw away from the Central Railway station, so if you have to travel to other towns while you are staying in Hamburg, it is very convenient. In addition, it only takes about 15 minutes to get to the main square and the main shopping area. Being so close to the railway station of a bigger city, the area around the hotel cannot very safe but I never had any trouble coming back in the evening.

The rooms are not big but very clean and have all the essential things – a bed to sleep in, a desk to write on, and a wardrobe to keep your clothes in. They offer free internet access, which worked quite well. There are basically only two problems – one is the street noise (the hotel faces a street with very heavy traffic and it was hard to fall asleep with the room window open) and the other one, dim lighting (impossible to read unless you were lying in bed with a night reader lamp).

Breakfast was quite good. The breakfast room tends to get a bit crowded towards the end of breakfast time, so try to come before 9:00 to be on the safe side.

Finally, the Central coach station is right across the street from the hotel (I could actually see it from my room), so when I had to take a coach to the airport on my last day, all I had to do was to cross the road and get on my coach – no time wasted.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
374 reviews
224 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

Booked this hotel 3 or 4 months prior to arrival on December 24 for four nights. Booked directly with the hotel. What a surprise when I arrived in the evening and found the hotel shut down for the Christmas holidays. A note on the door instructed me to go to one of their sister hotels. One would think that the hotel which had my email address would have informed me regarding this that I could have accepted the alternate hotel or cancelled and made a reservation at another hotel of my choice. Very poor management in my opinion.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank yvr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Petersburg
Level Contributor
666 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 531 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

The main advantage of this hotel is its location – 3 minutes’ walk from the Central railway station, just across the street from the Central bus station, and about 15 minutes’ walk from the Town Hall and the central square.

My single room was on the 3d floor. It was small and very basic but had all the main things – the bed, a desk, an easy chair, and a wardrobe. Despite its small size, it was quite easy to move around, so it was quite functional. The bathroom with a shower was clean, and the towels were replaced every day.

One big problem about the room, which I guess must be a general problem with all the hotel rooms, was that it was very dimly lit. It was in fact so dark that when I had to look something up in the city map, I had to go to the bathroom (where the lighting was OK) to read it – and I am not long-sighted. Another problem was that the hotel faces a busy street, and it was very noisy even with the window shut – and you could not keep it shut all the time because the hotel is not air-conditioned and the room would get stuffy quite soon if you did.

Breakfast is served in the breakfast room on the first floor. It was not outstanding but there was omelet, a selection of sausage and cheese, yoghurts, and a fruit salad – on the whole, quite sufficient. Some of the reviews here have mentioned that there was hardly enough room for all the guests in the breakfast room. All I can say is that I came to breakfast at various times – from 7:00 to 8:30 – and never saw more than 8 people there at the same time. They serve breakfast between 6:30 and 10:30, so perhaps it got busier towards 9:30 or 10:00, but then I never got a chance to check it.

The girls at the reception are nice and friendly, and if you have to leave some time after the check out hour, they can store you luggage in the storage room. The hotel has free wi-fi access, which for me is a definite advantage.

On the whole, I would recommend this hotel to those who have to travel on a budget. There are some steep steps at the entrance, so it would not be comfortable for disabled people. The area is not very nice – but then you can hardly expect it to be nice when it is so close to a railway station. All things considered, the hotel is average but acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank svegor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

The only good point of this Hotel is that is only 5 minutes walk from the main train station...that means it's a Druggie and drinking area! ....however that was fine.
On arrival i was given a room where the door doesn't close properly...(it looked like it had been forced open many times...probably because above this door states emergeny exit!
I returned downstairs and asked for another room...I was then told that the door was fine(although she did not come up and see)...she then phoned her supervisor and asked if there were any rooms in any of the 7 (sister)hotels which are in a five minute radius of the Hotel....she informed me that there were no single rooms available but I could have a double room at an extra cost......I then replied no and was told that the other alternative was to sleep in the broken door room and I could be moved into another room the next day. That night I went onto the internet and found rooms available from the other hotels(ie they lied).
The next day i went down to a basic breakfast and was told that my suitcase will be moved to another room during the day. On my return i was given a key to my new room.....I went up to the new room and without using the key i opened the door.....by luck my bag had not been stolen in the room.... I phoned down to explain that someone had forgotten to lock the room, however it was by luck that my bag was not stolen. I then went to use the dvd player, however without the connecting cable to the t.v it surprisingly doesn't work....I then went down and asked if she had another cable...she looked for two seconds and said no! ...I waited to see what else she sould say, however nothing came out of her mouth...I then asked would could we do?...she then got on the phone and asked the other hotels....she managed to track a cable down and this arrived(which I was pleased about).
The next day I returned to find that the room had not been cleaned and that the towels were still on the floor., however there was now three pieces of fruit on the table.I immediately went down and asked why this had not been done....she then look at the computer and said that I had a do not disturb sign on my door!!!!!! I told her that I didn't and that if that was the case then why had someone come in and place some fruit on the table!!!!!! she had no answer......
the next day someone asked for my email as the hotel will contact me regarding these incidents...surpringly again this did not happen!
Please note that the rooms are extremely tiny,internet works when it feels like and the cleaning is minimal to say the least.....
I travel all the time throughout Germany and this is the worst Hotel that I have had the misfortune to book.
you have been warned! sorry for the long review...however everything is true!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brompeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Terminus Hamburg
#116 of 318 in Hamburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Norddeutscher Hof Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Eleazar Hamburg City Center
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Continental Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Hotel Lumen
#269 of 318 in Hamburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Polo Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Polo Hamburg

Property: Hotel Polo Hamburg
Address: Adenauerallee 7, 20097 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Polo Hamburg 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in the heart of Hamburg, very close to the main railway station and the bus station, and is just a short walk from the many shops of the city centre and the Alster. The Hotel Polo Hamburg offers a welcoming atmosphere and makes an ideal base for shopping trips, harbour tours, relaxing boat rides on the Alster and even partying on the Reeperbahn. All parts of Hamburg can be accessed from here with ease. You are next to the city railway (S-Bahn) station, and the proximity to the main railway station means that you can easily get around Hamburg with all modes of transport. Rooms: 40. Hotel Chain: Novum Hotels. The Hotel Polo Hamburg offers a welcoming atmosphere and makes an ideal base for shopping trips, harbour tours, relaxing boat rides on the Alster and even partying on the Reeperbahn. All parts of Hamburg can be accessed from here with ease. You are next to the city railway (S-Bahn) station, and the proximity to the main railway station means that you can easily get around Hamburg with all modes of transport. Rooms: 40. Hotel Chain: Novum Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Polo Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing