We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Hamburg”
Review of Hanse Clipper Haus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanse Clipper Haus
Ranked #18 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2012

My wife and I stayed in this apart-hotel for a weekend visiting family. We had not stayed in premises like this but would not hesitate to do so again and would definitely recommend it. We had an apartment on two floors, that was no more expensive than what we would expect to pay in a hotel. It was very clean and comfortable with a very comfortable bed. Central and quiet, it was the perfect base for the weekend we were there. Plenty of cafes on the adjacent streets.
Staff spoke perfect english and were very helpful.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Highlander03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2012

We have styed for a weekend at the hotel some years back and wanted the same type of room - it's an nearly all-suite hotel. At the time of the booking we were assured it was the same but upon arrival it turned out to be a completely different suite. When requesting an explanation we were told that it was due to changes in the rate 'plan' and language problems.
The hotel is nice and in a very special poruguese/spanish quarter so we did enjoy staying there but was disappointed about the mix-up of the information given by the hotel. So remember to diuble check if you want a specific room at the hotel

Room Tip: Make sure you know what type of suite you have booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We booked this apartment which is well-located for the city, harbour and transport. it is well appointed and would recommend it but......the staff were unimpressive, couldn't be bothered to help and weren't interested in sorting out our small issues.
It is unacceptable to be charged 5 euros per hour for wifi. The kitchenette is under-stocked with 2 Nespresso coffee capsules, 3 teabags and 1 dishwasher tablet!!!! Is this mean or what?? We booked for two nights. More could be purchased from reception.
Apartments aren't service during the stay, this is almost acceptable.
If your apartment is located onto the back street of the building, be prepared for noise!!!
Otherwise, a pleasant choice if you overlook the irritations!!!

Room Tip: Make sure the room is nearer to the reception area of the building and facing towards the church oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgeZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is a sort of hotels offering proper kitchen in your room. Room is spacious, well equiped with all you might need in a hotel with some extra kitchen appliances you probably don’t need. For example there is a Nespresso machine, (I would probably prefer La Marzocco instead, but many people like this encapsulated coffee even more). The only potential problem spotted was the internet access, which was only available via cable for an extra charge (cannot be sure now but it looked quite pricey – several euros per hour or so). Otherwise it’s a very good place to stay. The area around the hotel is rather quiet, but at the same is packed with Spanish and Portugese restaurants and cafes which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pltf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed in Nr. 304, which was a 55 sq.m. appartment with living room, kitchen (fully equipped) and balcony on the 3rd floor, bedroom and bathroom on the 4th floor - tvs on both floors - but you have to pay extra if you want to watch cable (and the local channels are mostly in german language). The whole space was nicely decorated and it was like staying at your own house. There is no room service if you stay less than 4 nights - as we did - , no breakfast included in the price and the shampoo and bath shower in the bathroom are given only once (so you absolutely have to bring your own). There is also no free internet access, just T-mobile spot on the ground floor - next to the reception.
The building is well located in the Portuguese quarter, close to many nice cafes and restaurants, mostly with Portuguese and Spanish cuisine. On the ground floor there is restaurant Fischmartk, which is kind of expensive, but with very nice food - fish of course, typical Hamburg cuisine. On the ground floor you can also have breakfast at Oh it's fresh. We also enjoyed very much the breakfast at Johanna's cafe, which is very close to Hanse Clipper (closer to Saint Michael's church).
Hanse Clipper is really close to Saint Michael's church, the metro station (2 lines), Rickmer Rickmers, Cap de San Diego etc. We walked almost to every place we wanted to visit (Miniature Museum, Hafen City, the lakes, the Town Hall). The area is quiet generally and our appartment was facing the park in front of Saint Michael's church.
We would stay there again if we visited Hamburg sometime in the future :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariabgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2008

I was lucky to stay in a duplex apartment at Hans Clipper Haus for almost 6 weeks (Oct/Dec 2008). The apartment was well furnished and furbished. The only snag was the TV channels in English which were very poor only BBC World News and CNN. It seems that the week we left Hamburg, the Hans Clipper Haus were installing new TV Channels. The most important and useful thing, was the free use of the laundry room on the fourth floor, which had 3 washing machines and 3 tumble dryers. The Housekeeper spoke perfect English and was always ready to help. The biggest drawback was that most, not all especially Magdalena who was very efficient, of the Reception Staff were very laid back and took their time to see to a request. I would definitely recommend the HCH to anybody wishing to visit Hamburg.

Thank VickiHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2008

spent two nights here and was very satisfied. the property seems to have been recently renovated and i had a very pleasant junior suite - with kitchen, bath, living and sleeping area.

make sure to request a room on a higher floor away from the noisy restaurants on the ground floor. my room on the 4th floor was very quiet and pleasant. large bed, very clean, excellent kitchen facilities and plenty of space.

the neighborhood, though not right in the center, is very convenient with taxi or public transportation to most major sights, and is very close to the harbor and the michelskirche.

if you are looking for an apartment hotel this could be an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank purushakara1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 321 in Hamburg
1,054 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#6 of 321 in Hamburg
1,493 reviews
AMERON Hotel Speicherstadt
#11 of 321 in Hamburg
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#71 of 321 in Hamburg
1,071 reviews
Neustadt
Adina Apartment Hotel Hamburg Michel
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 321 in Hamburg
2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanse Clipper Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanse Clipper Haus

Address: Ditmar-Koel-Str. 1, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#56 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £102 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanse Clipper Haus 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Portugese Quarter with its many shops and restaurants, these elegant apartments are just a 5-minute walk from Hamburg Harbour. They include fully equipped kitchenettes, flat-screen TVs and free WiFi. Hanse Clipper Haus Hamburg offers stylish, non-smoking apartments with a spacious work area and living room with sofas. The kitchenettes include a dishwasher and a Nespresso coffee machine, and luxury toiletries are provided. Guests can prepare their own meals at the Hanse Clipper apartments, and there is a supermarket just a 1-minute walk away. There are many cafes and bars in the area. Landungsbrucken Underground and S-Bahn Station is a 5-minute walk away, providing excellent connections to all parts of the city. Hamburg Neustadt is a great choice for travellers interested in restaurants, shopping and city walks. This is our guests' favourite part of Hamburg, according to independent reviews. This property is also rated for the best value in Hamburg! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hanse Clipper Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanse Clipper Haus Hotel Hamburg
Hanse Clipper Haus Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing