We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy Hans” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanse Clipper Haus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hanse Clipper Haus
Ranked #20 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Handy Hans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Great base for exploring Hamburg. Close to great public transport but still walkable into the centre. Rooms decently appointed but only has a microwave rather than a proper oven so can limit cooking. However, separately lounge from the bedroom was great. Comfy sofa, tv for those that want it and desk. And a decent amount of power sockets for a change. Bed comfy - only minor negative was there was no storage in the bedroom - drawers and wardrobes were in the living area.

Desk staff were exceptional. And security was good with a door entry code system from late evening when staff not on duty. Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shrimpysmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    125
    22
    4
    3
See reviews for
50
135
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Great place - well located to port, underground and overground rail stations and the city. The cafes etc are just a bit too touristy but handy for a quick snack. OK so it might not be good for a family with children and how picky that Dave K was about the baby-bed but I am sure there are other places to accommodate the baby. We were there in early October and so there was not the problem of heat from the expanse of windows (which we loved) with their view to the street below. And what is wrong with opening a window for fresh air and some street noise? Surely Hamburg doesn't get that hot in summer. I am a very light sleeper and the curtains cut out enough light for good night's sleep on the 5 nights we were there. We made good use of the kitchen and were most impressed with the luxury bath treats. Whilst not over-effusive, the staff were friendly and helpful. All in all a very comfortable and not expensive (compared to other major cities in Europe) apartment/hotel. We were on the second floor overlooking the small shopping street and had no problems with noise.

Room Tip: Be aware of the fact that there is no aircon but that should not be a problem as some of us prefer f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelpiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed here for 33 nights and although by the end of it, the 1 bedroom apartment felt small for 4 of us, it was a good home away from home. It's in an ideal location, minutes walk to the Baumwall Ubahn station with only 2 stops to the Rathaus in the centre of town or 3 stops to the main shopping strip. The rooms are well equipped - ours was a Maisonette Apartment with a garden terrace but my in-laws (who stayed 2wks) had a standard room - both were very pleasant with a good working kitchen, nice furniture and finishes. In true german style everything is done well, down to the coffee machine and stereo system, nothing is sub standard. The free use of the washing room (with 3 bosch washing machines and dryers) on the 4th floor was needed - and well used. The only gripe I have is the servicing. If you go, ask for Frau Mueller to do your room. She's lovely and very particular. The rest are a company hired in I believe and at best they do a 20% job. Time and again we were given 2 towels (for 4 of us), they often forgot to empty the rubbish, replace tea towels, give us dishwasher tablets, vacuum. I had to ask over and over again. We had a long term stay deal which meant we were supposed to get servicing every 3 days, well 5 days would go by and nothing. My in-laws didn't get their sheets changed at all in 14 nights. This definitely let the place down. The heat was a bit unpleasant too, the first 3wks the temps were in the 30s and the hotel has no air conditioning and with large high ceiling windows, its like a sauna at night. I asked for a fan and finally did receive one 5 days before we checked out - when the temps had dropped to below 20! I was also a bit disappointed with receptions response when I approached them about car parking. I had emailed about it prior to booking and they advised me the cost would be 16 euros a day. I then talked to them the day before to confirm and was told 18 euros - I questioned it and was told the 16 euros was for 'advanced notice'.... hmmm not sure how far in advance you need to mention needing a car park but I would have thought 7 weeks would have been sufficient. She did 'make an exception' but I felt being a long staying customer and having inquired about this at booking, they wouldn't make such a fuss. All in all though I would consider this again as its a lot more personal than a chain hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Number9NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Perfect location, 3 minutes from trains and harbour cruise departure points. City centre is a 20 minute walk away , even do able for those like myself who are not physically fit. Lots of restaurants and cafes in same street, this can lead to some noise in the evenings but only until about 11 pm and does not involve loud music.
Friendly staff who found us a fan as temps were 33c. No air on but heating in room for winter use.
Small kitchenette area with microwave and tiny 2 ring hob. Supermarket is around the corner.
NB! Shops and supermarkets are not open in Hamburg on Sunday to our amazement.

Room Tip: Rooms near 206 are directly above a restaurant. Avoid rooms on 1st floor near there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whatdoithink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

The appartments are situated very good and are clean. However we travel a lot and we can not advise these appartments to people who travel with a baby or a child. With big windows, no airco and a noise street it becomes a sauna very quick if the weather is good. If you close the curtains it isn't dark and the bathroom is too small for a baby bed. Thereby the beds are very small and wifi and parking cost you a lot of money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

I stayed at the Hanse Clipper Apartments House in Hamburg for 4 nights in June 2013. It is located near the harbour (S/U bahnhof Landungsbrücken (eng: landing strip) is 300 meters away). The city center can be reached by foot, but the 2 km it takes is only for the real diehards. Luckily, the whole city area can be covered with a day ticket for eur 5.90, offering unlimited public transport (usually just a bit more expensive than a return ticket, hence a lot of value for money). Same applies to the CCH congres center (2 km away). In other words, the location may not be ideal for business purposes. Being from The Netherlands, I'm inclined to rent a bike in cases like this, offering the most flexible means of transport when the weather cooperates.

The hotel combines the advantages of a hotel (daily cleaning and towel/linen replacement) and an apartment (kitchen with cooking pans and cutlery). Self catering is my prefered way when traveling, but it may not suit everyone. No problem, because you can find every thinkable restaurant type further in the street. And if that is not enough, the harbour landing strip is 300 meters away, offering an uncountable number of places to eat and drink.

Positive remarks:
+ More than sufficient space in the room, particularly in comparison with the average hotel
+ Lots of daylight and a free view outside (no opposite neighbors)
+ Everything present as advertised
+ More than enough closet space for your own stuff
+ Kitchen corner with everything you need to prepare your own meals, including a dish washer
+ Large supermarket (literally) around the corner
+ Offering a standard coffee maker upon request (instead of the Nespresso device)
+ Work desk large enough to be really usable for work
+ Sound isolation with corridor and other rooms is very good
+ The English language is understood and spoken above average

Negative remarks:
-- My most important complaint is about Internet access. Firstly, paying for Internet is outdated, and should be included in the price like water and electricity. And it becomes worse when having more than one device (laptop, phone, tablet), as it not uncommon nowadays. Secondly, the login window is very poorly implemented, as is the error message when your credit is expired
- There is a wireless Telecom hotspot too. It is cheaper but not suitable for streaming video or music

For improvement:
- Hotel is not easy to spot, even when standing in front of it. The street sign is located further in the street, the house number is missing next to the front door, and I noticed the unobtrusive hotel signage not until the 2nd day
- TV Menu shows a lot of information about hotel services and the environment, but the contents is not organized very well. One has to read the whole text on the first day to learn what is available
- The TV Menu has a Bill View option. Can be very useful, were it not that it only included the 1st day and was not updated later on
- No sitting area (table with chairs) where one can eat. However, I may have choosen the wrong room type. I could not deduce this as an optional choice when reading the website

Room Tip: When you need WiFi Internet (hotspot), tell this at the time of booking. WiFi is not evenly availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JvH48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Location was great, near many nice cafes and some cute shops. Near the subway and sea which is convenient. The apartment was really cosy and well-equipped and i would stay here again! Only issue is the washing machine room was located on the 4th floor, not in my room as indicated in the booking confirmation. Small issue but strangely they do not sell small packets of washing powder so we ended up buying a large box. But still a great place to stay!

Room Tip: The rooms by the garden was really nice as you can walk out and enjoy the view. It's on the 1st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oshino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#4 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#7 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Adina Apartment Hotel Hamburg Michel
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#70 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Empire Riverside Hotel
#24 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanse Clipper Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanse Clipper Haus

Property: Hanse Clipper Haus
Address: Ditmar-Koel-Str. 1, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#56 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanse Clipper Haus 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Portugese Quarter with its many shops and restaurants, these elegant apartments are just a 5-minute walk from Hamburg Harbour. They include fully equipped kitchenettes, flat-screen TVs and free WiFi. Hanse Clipper Haus Hamburg offers stylish, non-smoking apartments with a spacious work area and living room with sofas. The kitchenettes include a dishwasher and a Nespresso coffee machine, and luxury toiletries are provided. Guests can prepare their own meals at the Hanse Clipper apartments, and there is a supermarket just a 1-minute walk away. There are many cafes and bars in the area. Landungsbrucken Underground and S-Bahn Station is a 5-minute walk away, providing excellent connections to all parts of the city. Hamburg Neustadt is a great choice for travellers interested in restaurants, shopping and city walks. This is our guests' favourite part of Hamburg, according to independent reviews. This property is also rated for the best value in Hamburg! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hanse Clipper Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanse Clipper Haus Hotel Hamburg
Hanse Clipper Haus Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing