We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, well priced, well located hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lindner Hotel Am Michel
Ranked #22 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“Excellent, well priced, well located hotel”
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Chic, medium sized hotel, with very friendly & quick service. Well located, within walking distance of many restaurants and various attractions. About a 15 minute drive from Hamburg airport. Clean & well decorated rooms.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crash01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    316
    50
    14
    4
See reviews for
60
228
57
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Chose this hotel upon recommendations and was glad to have stayed here. I found the hotel to be in a great location and the staff are very welcoming and helpful.
Stay here and you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTravelbug1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

First, forgive anything that is a criticism due to differences in cultures/standard hotel policies between Germany and the US. The one about the ice is the most likely one that falls in this category.

My biggest complaint is about the management of the hotel. I called the front desk to make the reservation since I had a corporate code and was told to call back another time or email them. I chose to email, asking for the rates. I received a response email that was just a reservation. I wasn't asking to make a reservation, but the rate was okay (not great), so I just kept it as it was. When we got to the hotel, we realized immediately it was more in a business district than tourist area and this proved to be the case as a lot of things close around here early. It's not far from some major attractions, though, so I wouldn't complain about the location.

My first complaint is that a hotel that charges 194 Euro a night would charge to use the internet. 39 Euro for the week. The second was that there is no ice available, but I think this may be a Germany thing as I haven't seen much ice anywhere. There is also no iron in the room. The air conditioning does not work reliably and the fridge isn't cold. The room is beautiful, but that's it.

My biggest complaint is the reservation confusion and the way I've been treated by the front desk. The reservation was for 154 Euro a night, but I noticed on the bill produced on the TV that it was coming up as 194 a night. I asked at the front desk and was told that it would be corrected. I checked the next night and it was corrected, but they started charging 20 Euro a day for the breakfast. So, I asked again and was told that it was because there were two of us. I just decided we'd stop going to the breakfast as it isn't bad, but it's certainly not worth 20 Euro a day. I looked at the bill the next day and it was back to 194 Euro a night. Apparently the last person I talked to just decided to put it back the way it was. I can't say I see how a second person should be charged 40 Euro a night. Quite ridiculous. I'm even more disappointed by how they just changed it back without saying anything as well as not telling me that they would be charging more than I was quoted when I checked in. If they were just going to make the reservation without asking for any details (when I wasn't even asking to make a reservation), they should at least tell me it's wrong when I check in.

Too poor of service and too many details they failed on make it so that I cannot, in good conscious, recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ralverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

This hotel is in the perfect location. A quick taxi ride from the train station and the major sites were no more than a 15-20 minute walk away. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were modern and clean. Breakfast had a variety of food and even omlets made to order. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie21076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2010

The Lindner has what the business traveller needs: decently sized, clean, functional rooms and mostly efficient service in a convenient location.

Ok, so it tends toward bland. And the location on the edge of Neustadt is kind of incongurous, sandwiched between new build apartments and slightly bohemian older areas, but it's really convenient for evening running in Planten un Blomen.

It's not exciting, but all in all it works.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scot in Europe (mostly)
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Good:
Quick check in. Well designed room. Very quiet location. Not too far from the centre for shopping etc. Comfortable bed. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Bar Lacoon has 2 internet connected PCs for guests to use FOC and serves delicious cocktails which unfortunately are not FOC. Great food in restaurant in the evening and an extensive selection for breakfast as well.

Not so good:
Breakfast was overpriced at 20 euro per person. It's also ridiculous that a 'business' hotel charges a daily rate for wireless internet in the rooms.
It wasn't obvious before booking that the rooms are VERY open plan with only the toilet behind a door - the shower and bathroom area are adjacent to the beds. There would be no privacy if booked to share with a colleague.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WearyTr4veller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Fantastic business hotel. No wonder Lufthansa has marked this as one of the best hotels for its staff. I felt sick and there was a doctor on duty within 20 minutes.

  • Liked — Convenient Location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank theknight16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 319 in Hamburg
1,022 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#8 of 319 in Hamburg
1,434 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#16 of 319 in Hamburg
1,530 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#72 of 319 in Hamburg
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindner Hotel Am Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindner Hotel Am Michel

Property: Lindner Hotel Am Michel
Address: Neanderstr. 20, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#23 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#26 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#37 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lindner Hotel Am Michel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lindner Hotel Am Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindner Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing