We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lindner Hotel Am Michel
Ranked #22 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I had previously stayed at this hotel with my husband who was on business and decided to return to Hamburg with our eldest daughter for 'girlie time' arriving on a Thurs and departing on a Mon.
I had emailed the hotel upon booking asking for a twin bedded room for us and received just that. The room was a good size, very clean and all we wanted.
The hotel is a 15min walk downtown to the 2 Alsters and another few minutes to the Town Hall. The location is excellent for all manner of 'touristy' things - shopping, tourist, tour buses, bars and restaurants. Do visit the St Pauli FischMarkt - it isn't what you think and you will just love it - it's an early start summer 5am but wandering around listening to live music, breakfast, drink and a full market is a sight to see - DO NOT MISS IT. It is maybe a max 10minute walk to the Harbour and then another 15minutes to the Markt.
Yes, the area is business orientated but it is in the business sector but this does not take over the ambience of the hotel or of the area.
We didn't eat in the hotel at all , just by choice and knowledge of all that is on the doorstep - choosing to visit the bakery opposite, for fresh croissant, bread and breakfast across the road and also using the restaurants directly round the corner. We did favour the Bavarian bar but that was just to have 'german food' as we felt that we can have, thai, italian, indian etc at home. There are also 2 supermarkets within 2mins of the hotel for anything you could want and opening 7am -10pm Mon-Sat
The staff have always been polite, cheerful, efficient and nothing is too much trouble. They allow you to use what german you have to ask for things and when you have finished repeat it in german and in English what you asked for - delightful and patient!!! (Thank you).
There is a left luggage room and again nothing too much trouble in booking taxis for airport etc.
I find this a delightful hotel, with everything I desire and will be back to stay as I intend to visit Hamburg a lot and this hotel is ideal.
Thank you Lindner Am Michel keep up the good work.
Bis Später :)

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous but if you require something specific just ask them prior to arrival - they c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 61daw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 743 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2012

This hotel does not dazzle in any way. It's obviously a business oriented hotel in a nice part of town. Downtown and the river can be reached in 12-15 minutes on foot and the neigborhood is quiet and nice to walk through at night.

However as we - a friend and I checked in - I was surprised we were given a room with a double bed and an open bathroom. We decided to live with it, but had I traveled with my aunt I would have requested a different room.

Also I find the policy of charging for internet access annoying - the parking under the hotel was worth the money when compared to the price of parking in the rest of Hamburg.

Will I visit again? Probably not, but I find nothing really wrong about the place, it just did not impress me in any way.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreadoria56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Great hotel. The location is perfect. Walking distance to all of the highlights of Hamburg. Nice staff, great breakfast with lots of choice (but, then you would expect that at € 20..). Rooms are spacious and clean. Only downsides: shower in the bath, including clinging-to-your-legs-curtain and the electronic key, that took at least 3 and up to 7 times, before the door opened. Other than that.. would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dutchfarmeress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Generally an acceptablestay, at wht seems to be part of a chain of VERY German business hotels.

Problem is I am not German, and thus I appreciate having more than BBC on the TV and not just 30 German syncronized channels.

More off I hate hotels that do not provide seperate ammeneties but have for instance a soap/shampoo dispencer.

On the positive side was the price of 109 EUR. But have the aame price at nearby Adina which i rte higher.

Now to the add on prices. Internet 10 EUR per day. Breakfast 20 EUR per day. Parking 20EUR per day. Thus for a 1 night stay you end up at EUR 160 att which price the Sofitel is significantly better.

Overall the hotel is fine if you only need a room in a nice area, but not if you need the hotel services.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KHH1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I love this hotel, I regularly come to Hamburg on business and have stayed here a few times now. Very comfortable beds, easily accessible WiFi, plenty of desk space, superb breakfast. Would also recommend for a weekend trip to Hamburg - is not centrally located but very easy to walk to town centre. Feels like a home from home, not pretentious, just modern, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mca555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed in this hotel just before Christmas. Very nice space, both rooms and common areas. Rooms are on the small side, but very well appointed, comfortable and the bathroom is decent-sized. Bed was very comfortable. General feel is kind of trendy with wood and dark colors and has a very modern feel.

The only downside was that the location is sort of on the edge of the main downtown area. It's about a 15 minute walk to the Neuer Wall shopping area and the Rathaus.

If you have a chance, get to Hamburg in December, before Christmas. They have a really nice Christmas market. Not anywhere near as big as the ones in Cologne, but much better food and more fun.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MABostonPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

its contemporary medium sized hotel, room is decorated to simple and sleek standards. TV screen size could be bigger, choice of channels is not that great specially for non-german people. BBC CNN and CNBC is the only english choice! rest in german or dutch.
wi-fi is not included in standard rate nor does the breakfast, however if you take bussiness package you pay for the breakfast cost and get the wifi free!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libra007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
Adina Apartment Hotel Hamburg Michel
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 321 in Hamburg
1,054 reviews
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#16 of 321 in Hamburg
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Hanse Clipper Haus
Hanse Clipper Haus
#18 of 321 in Hamburg
476 reviews
Empire Riverside Hotel
#24 of 321 in Hamburg
1,247 reviews
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#21 of 321 in Hamburg
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindner Hotel Am Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindner Hotel Am Michel

Address: Neanderstr. 20, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#23 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#26 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#37 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £108 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lindner Hotel Am Michel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lindner Hotel Am Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindner Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing