We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Works well”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lindner Hotel Am Michel
Ranked #21 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Stayed there just one night for business. Very efficient hotel, no extras anywhere, but things work well.
Only complaint would be that the gym only opens at 7am, which is not so convenient when you have a full day that needs to start very early.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013

Our aim was to see as much of this beautiful city in only five days. Location of the hotel was obviously critical to access as many highlights of Hamburg without depending on public transport and/or rental car. We definitely do not regret choosing this hotel.

Rooms are quiet, spotless clean and well equipped. The service was friendly and competent. If you don't to be charged for the breakfast, you have plenty of bakeries just a few steps away of the hotel. They serve great breakfast menus for very little money. There is also a supermarket close by, which can be quite helpful in many cases.

The hotel is really great, absolutely recommendable and we would repeat our choice without hesitation. I just found the hefty charges for the wifi access in the room a little bit annoying for an hotel in this price range.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GFR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

If you want to stay close to the City Center, this hotel is perfect.
I had some trouble accessing the Wi-Fi, but after 4-5 contact to the reception, I was moved to another room. Good and refreshing breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid room 103 NO internet connection
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LarsPio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

My husband and myself spent two nights in this hotel. The check in was fast but we the lady doing the service for us was not really friendly. We had more the feeling to be disturbing rather than being welcomed. The room was not ready as we arrived around 11.00 am. Therefore, we decided to discover the city. We had to ask for a city map as no one at reception took the initiative to give it to us. On top of it, when we received the map and asked where we were, the lady at reception looked at us with a surprised face.
The room was nice, spotless clean an spacious. Tea and coffee facilities were available in the room. The bed was very comfortable and cosy.
If you don't have breakfast included in your room rate, please go to the Bakhaus opposite to the hotel. It is very cheap and for 15 eur you can have full breakfast including fresh squeezed orange juice and coffee (plus bread, boiled egg, smoked,salmon, ham, ....) for two. The other fresh bakery is also delicious.
We would also recommend you to the bar of the Motel One (just a few meters from the hotel) for an aperitif. The place is really nicely decorated and the staff very kind. We went there a few times and we enjoyed it.
Another point was the parking. You can not pay per day at reception so, if you need to go out with your car, you have to pay. The first day we arrived at 11.00 and since we had to go out for dinner, we had to take the car and we paid 18 ear, a rip off considering it was our first day. When we came back from dinner, we decided to park the car outside, in the street.
The day we left, the guy doing the check out was extremely kind and asked us if we enjoyed our stay on the hotel.
I don't know if we will be back to this hotel again. If they have reasonable rates, maybe.

Room Tip: Take an interior room, it will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coockie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Stayed for two nights in Lindner Hotel Am Michel. Very good hotel with all the highlights within walking distance. Clean room, good bed and good facilities (gym, sauna). We didn't use breakfast or restaurant.

Hamburg is a great city which combines old an new perfectly. On one hand you have the old city with its tipical buildings, churches, market places. On the other hand is Haven City, a new development in the old port area with impressive modern buildings and architecture. One tip: skip the famous Reeperbann. it doesn't add anything to your trip an is mostly fake and a tourist trap. We stayed in Hamburg in the first week-end of december which means lots of christmas atmosphere, Weinachtsmarkten, Gluhwein and so on. Very nice. I can imagine myself going back here for the summer to see what it's like when the beachclubs near the fishmarket are open. I think i could stay here for 4-5 days easy.

Room Tip: I wanted a room with a bathtub, which was only possible in combination with 2 seperate beds. But the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Everything you would expect from a quality chain hotel. Nice location in a quiet area and ten minutes walk to central Hamburg and the Alster. Easy access to the galleries and the opera house on foot, about fifteen minutes. Lovely room with gorgeous shower.

My only complaint was the high cost of Internet access. €9 a day is too much for what most would feel is an essential of modern life and should be included in the price or have a fairly small token charge.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosenau65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Have been here twice in October for a week once with my family on a business trip then another time alone. The family stay was nice since the room upgraded to a superior room was spacious and it was easy to arrange for a cot. Location is very good, close to grocery stores and downtown. Small downside is that they broke my luggage handle but dealt with it quickly by paying for it through their insurance company. I stayed there again on business 2 weeks later and room was a little standard. 2 double beds, the basics. Internet isn't free which I find a little odd in this day and age and restaurant/bar was decent. Overall inexpensive for the quality of the hotel and I would recommend for a business traveler or family.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 76Randy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
Adina Apartment Hotel Hamburg Michel
Empire Riverside Hotel
#25 of 321 in Hamburg
1,282 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 321 in Hamburg
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#18 of 321 in Hamburg
1,663 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#66 of 321 in Hamburg
1,083 reviews
Neustadt
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindner Hotel Am Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindner Hotel Am Michel

Address: Neanderstr. 20, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#23 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#26 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#37 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £103 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lindner Hotel Am Michel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lindner Hotel Am Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindner Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing