We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turned out to be a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lindner Hotel Am Michel
Ranked #19 of 322 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I booked this hotel because of the feedback on various websites. On arrival requested internet and was charged €9.95/day, a surprise, we are living in 21st century, internet should be provided free of charge as a service to the guest, theo more time spent in the hotel the better the f7B revenue. had luch at the hotel resto, staff accurate but could not get internet working on my iphone. Requested quite room but found out that wifi signal very poor and connection was not possible. Requested other room and the reception started argument that signal should be good, insisted on another room and as given on; outside this room construction activities during day and again the next morning at 7AM. Room: good & clean. Shower: good. Beds: not exactly 'banana boat' beds like I experienced in Guangzhou few weeks ago but still too soft. In most German hotels the pillows are very thin so I used two, hotel didn't offer different type of pillows and if they do have these they should make that clear and place a card next to the bed.
TV: BBC world and CBBC, no other international channels offered. Internet: reasonable fast (no fiber optic) Breakfast: additional €17 when booked in advance, good selection as in most German hotels. Check out: very busy between 8AM-9AM. Surrounding area: I haven't checked this out due to time restrictions but I did not see many resto's or bar's within eyesight of the hotel. It takes 15min form the hotel to the main train station.

Overall I rate this hotel 'average' due to the high price that they charge €140/night excl. breakfast and because of the poor internet connection in the 1st room they offer me (other guest have complained about this earlier) and construction outside the 2nd room, they should block these rooms until construction is finalized.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gotcha4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

The rooms are great - I love the layout (although some of my colleagues hate it - its a bit like marmite!) The beds are super comfortable, its quiet and I always get a good night's sleep.

The gym is fine if a little sparse but the sauna facilities are great.

The service is excellent - I always get welcomed back and the staff are friendly and responsive.

If internet were included on the room rate or I could have it added to the bill then I might consider 5 stars - as it is the internet service does not provide a receipt if you login using the English site, making it really hard to claim expenses, using the German site lets you get a receipt if this is important.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelight06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel is just a few streets away from the famous St. Michael Church in Hamburg. The rooms are very nice and clean. Great breakfast buffet and for the late hours of the day the bar is the place to be. If you want a spot to stay were you can easily go by foot tot the harbour or the inner city, this is your place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niconero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

One of these hotels that are clean and comfortable but will not really remain in your memory for very long.

The room is a good size and is quiet. The front desk is efficient. Breakfast buffet is varied and good. Good location with the center at walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernwehalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel on my last business visit to Hamburg. The hotel is well located near the Cathedral on a quiet street.

Rooms are very good, clean and big. Breakfast is good.

Staff was friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armando F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This beautiful, centrally located hotel (close to the Landungsbrücken), but very quiet. The hotel has very nice rooms well equipped, I felt very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was also very good and varied. I will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankFrank0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip for 3 nights. Great to check in early after red eye flight. Rooms very clean and spacious. Nice big shower for those romantic couples out there :-) bed very comfy, best night sleep I've had on a business trip. Breakfast was nice, great selection.

Was in the hotel during day for meetings, staff very attentive.

If I was forced to find a bad thing, worst was that tv had only 2 English language tv stations which were News. Buy movies otherwise. Not a terrible thing!

Overall great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_D051012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#2 of 322 in Hamburg
1,085 reviews
Neustadt
Hanse Clipper Haus
Hanse Clipper Haus
#16 of 322 in Hamburg
548 reviews
Neustadt
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#20 of 322 in Hamburg
893 reviews
Neustadt
Adina Apartment Hotel Hamburg Michel
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#18 of 322 in Hamburg
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindner Hotel Am Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindner Hotel Am Michel

Address: Neanderstr. 20, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#16 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#23 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#37 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £102 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lindner Hotel Am Michel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming Lindner Hotel Am Michel is in the heart of Hamburg and all of the city’s sites are at your feet: the location is simply perfect. The same goes for the roof-top wellness facilities with the breath-taking panorama on the 7th floor and the excellent event options. The exquisite, eclectic cuisine and the perfect combination of stylish design and cosiness add to an unforgettable stay. A four-star superior city hotel for true aficionados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lindner Hotel Am Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindner Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing