We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The new part of the city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of HafenCity

HafenCity
Book In Advance
More Info
US$27.44*
and up
Warehouse District and HafenCity: Guided Day Tour in Hamburg
Ranked #20 of 301 things to do in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
211 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“The new part of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed in a hotel in Hafen City, so walked around here a lil.

It is not completely finished yet, so there is a lot of constructions going on still - on weekend they have days off so is more quit.

I really loved the huge and wide promenades, buildings with glasses and lovely little shops and restaurants with nice decors. There are places where you will pay more, and others that are more suitable for my wallet.

Would have loved to stay longer to discover more hidden places.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Antoanna888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    246
    78
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tirgu Mures, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“old warehouses”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Well i can't tell too much,i see just a lot of warehouses, maybe there was more but a lot of them become very new complex buildings, with offices and other stuff. The old buildings can give kind of feeling that you are living in the industrial revolution.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fogaras A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

I liked the new place of Hamburg and the water area is a very refreshing part of a European city. The restaurants and buildings have a certain freshness to it. I stayed in the hotel there and I will get back there again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Monde S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The harbour of Germany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

walking, cruising, musicalls, elbertunnel, restaurants, ubahn, walking around, hop off hop on bus you find everything on the harbour of Germany. Pleasant place to be

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank broederwim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Cool or dull; up to you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

I loved the place. It's not beautiful, it's certainly not the heart of Rome or Paris, or monumental in scale - apart from the excellent Maritime Museum - so if you're easily bored and you expect full tilt glamour and a constant parade of wonders, try somewhere else. What I found was a quiet, stress free jumble of modern architecture and old red brick, residential and commercial, all shot through with canals and docks.
I walked in from Jungfernstieg through the red brick warehouses of Speicherstadt and explored everything on foot. Finished up walking across Baakenhafenbrücke to climb the orange HafenCity viewing platform on a very wet day, looking over the harbour, then returning through the Unilever HQ - tiny market inside on a Saturday - and warming up in one of the eateries near the Kühne & Nagel university.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank voronUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed HafenCity also viewed

 

Been to HafenCity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing