We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not four star”
Review of ARCOTEL Rubin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ARCOTEL Rubin
Ranked #62 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 17 July 2011

POSITIVES -
The public areas of the hotel were beautiful and well-kept.
The junior staff were polite, pleasant and worked hard to try to respond to guests and their needs.
The hotel is kept immaculately clean throughout.
The breakfasts, although overpriced, were good.

NEGATIVES -
The immediate local area was very seedy with sex-shops, hookers and a large immigrant population.
The so-called 'Comfort' rooms might better be described as 'DIScomfort' rooms.
I was told after the third night to move rooms because (unbelievably) there was to be overnight noisy building works near my first room!
These rooms were only quite basically furnished with cynically cheap materials and furnishings.
We had to endure six very expensive and uncomfortable nights because of issues with the air conditioning - which although advertised as room-controlled, are actually centrally controlled. So no matter what temperature you choose, the rooms remain at an uncomfortably warm 22 C throughout the night.
The duvets were also far too thick for summer use which only added to the discomfort.
The so-called black out curtains were of a poor quality cheap thin material which let in sunlight from 4,30am making sleep very difficult after that time.
Naturally, l complained to the general manager about these issues, but he did not bother to reply or apologise but sent instead a junior member of staff who was unable to resolve any of these matters.
. From the very top down, there exists a state of utter denial about such issues which senior managment did nothing to resolve and only offered weak excuses and feeble self-congratulatory justifications for inaction.
I was angry because as a so-called four star hotel, the rooms are far from cheap.
I would certainly never have booked a hotel where the guests had no room control over air conditioning,

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pigchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELRubin, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Rubin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We apologise for not meeting your expectations during your stay.
Unfortunately we had no opportunity to achieve this.

We thank you again for your stay and wish you all the best for the future.

Kind regards,

MONA DÜSENER / Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2011

This is a very modern and comfortable hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.. It is only one stop on the metro system from the Hauptbahnof . Our only citicism is the charge for breakfast of 20 euros per person. Naturally we did not bother and went to the Stadt Backerei on the nearby Lange Reihe for coffee and rolls. We also recommend the vegetarian cafe at 66 Koppel for meals

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mherbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We stopped here for 2 nights and paid 160 Euro's in total (the 1st night - a Sunday was much cheaper than the 2nd). Had an enjoyable stay. We chose the hotel because of it's location near the Hauptbanhof. It's probably about a 5 min walk down one street. I was slightly concerned after originally booking it seeing reports of it being in a sleazy red light district. Ignore this. On the road from the train station to the hotel there are some sex shops etc but also just normal shops. It didn't cause us any concern whatsoever.

We didn't book breakfast as it seemed expensive. There was a nice pastry shop (I think it's a German chain) halfway to the train station where we got breakfast for about 3 or 4 Euros each. Room was nice, a tad on the small side than expected, but no issues at all. Staff were pleasant although we didn't need to call on them much other than check in and out.

For eating out, take a short walk down Danziger Strasse to Lange Reihe (paralled street to hotel). Plenty of good bars and restaurants without the need to stray far from the hotel.

Hamburg is a fab city to visit. Loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ginger_Rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELRubin, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Rubin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

Dear Rachel

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Rubin Hamburg and for taking the time to fill in the guest questionnaire.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Rubin in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Rubin Hamburg
SVANTJE NAGEL
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

The hotel operated very efficiently but most of the staff lacked warmth. We couldn't get into the room till the advertised time of 3.00pm but if we wanted to pay for an upgrade then one was available immediately. Strange that.

The rooms were comfortable. The bar staff were obliging, even if the prices were rather high.

The location is good, given it's near the HBF and there is a Lidl store directly opposite the hotel. The red light location is neither here nor there. Just local colour.

Certainly the three computers in the lobby were free but their reliability was lacking.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Our room was very clean, reasonably spacious, and the bed was very comfortable. The location is fine - the area is run down but not unsafe, and not sleazy by Hamburg standards.

What a pity that the management sees fit to charge so greedily for every extra. No drinking water was supplied and the cost of a 500 ml minibar bottle of still water was nearly 5 euro. At the Lidl supermarket across the road you can buy a 1000 ml bottle for .27 cents. Surely it wouldn't kill them to provide one bottle of water as a welcoming gesture.

There was no soap, just an all-purpose bottle of liquid soap/shampoo/conditioner - unacceptable in a four star property.

The breakfast buffet costs 17 euro per person, way too much for the average quality and limited range of hot food. There is not even an egg-cooking station, just a bain-marie of scrambled eggs plus a heated container of overcooked hardboiled eggs. The coffee was weak and nasty and no cream was provided.

The internet in rooms is charged by the hour and the free WiFi in the lobby is slow and patchy. This is unacceptable in a four star hotel.

The reception staff were efficient but off-hand.

We would not stay there again as we felt ripped off by the extra costs.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPANDAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

I stayed here at the start of May with my husband for one night. OK the hotel is in a dodgy-ish area as far as sex shops etc go (!)- but it didn't feel too bad, and we were not approached by any of the (ahem) ladies walking near the hotel. So don't let that put you off, maybe the sun brought them out during the day!!!!!

Very convenient for the main station and the underground network. if you would prefer not to walk past the red light area shops the underground is about 30 seconds away and by-passes all that. First impressions on entering the hotel were very favourable, looked very modern and stylish, staff really great, very friendly. We had been upgraded to a superior room, and when we walked in the room we were amazed at the size of it - loads of storage and light from huge windows. Bathroom pleasant but quite sparse and the lighting was a bit harsh, but just a minor point....

Definitely the highlight of the stay was the bed, easily the most comfortable hotel bed we have ever stayed in, and had the best night's sleep. The pillows were just gorgeous too, and the linen felt top notch. Look out for the small touches like the red and green light on the door numbering system, to indicate if you are in or out.... Overall we agreed that we would stay here again for the Christmas markets maybe, and the hotel (and Hamburg) certainly got the thumbs up from us. Just don't be put off by the area, it has character shall we say, but we didn't feel uncomfortable returning later at night (although we did take the underground!).

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Really typical German hotel, functional and clean. Rooms sort of basic but have everything you need - but what is it with those quilt duvets, would prefer sheets myself. Room bottled water nearly €5!!! Lidl convenience store across road. Breakfast choice reasonable. Nothing special really so not great for luxury or romantic break but overall was satisfied with value for money.

Fre lobby internet access/printing on 3 PCs which was a surprise

Rooms not ready at 2 pm, but amazingly upgarded rooms available at extra €10 pppn, Hmmm.

Don't be too put off by red light area reports, fairly harmless and no signs of hustling. very close to train station although street scruffy but safe.

Beware the reception recommendations for restaurants (no concierge), twice way off what we wanted.

Room Tip: Research restaurants yourself,dont use hotel ideas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny-Alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#19 of 321 in Hamburg
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammerbrook
Prizeotel Hamburg-City
Prizeotel Hamburg-City
#15 of 321 in Hamburg
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARCOTEL Rubin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Rubin

Address: Steindamm 63, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#60 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#67 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £55 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ARCOTEL Rubin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hamburg and its trendy cultural district of St. Georg, the 4-star superior design hotel is the ideal starting point for city and business trips. The city centre, numerous sights, the river Alster, Hamburg's exhibition grounds and the central railway station are situated within walking distance or a short ride on public transport. The ARCOTEL Rubin lets guests' eyes sparkle in Hamburg, the "Pearl of the North". The 4-star superior hotel offers both genial Austrian hospitality as well as top-class service thus treating its guests to an enjoyable stay in the Hanseatic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ARCOTEL Rubin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Rubin Hamburg
Arcotel Rubin Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing