We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel, lively location”
Review of ARCOTEL Rubin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ARCOTEL Rubin
Ranked #67 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Modern hotel, lively location”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

In line with its name, the hotel has a ruby theme to its design. The overall design is modern, my room was spacious and comfortable. There were two minor down-sides. Firstly, the desk chair is not really a chair, so getting some work done at the desk was a challenge for my back. Secondly, there is free internet access but the connection is painstakingly slow, actually so slow that one gladly pays a little extra (EUR 9 for 2 days) to get access to the faster connection.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank tmk010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELRubin, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Rubin, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Rubin Hamburg and for taking the for your feedback.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

Your praise and suggestion are motivation for us to continue to do all that is possible to make our guests’ stay comfortable, relaxing, and satisfying.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you back to ARCOTEL Hotels and Resorts in the near future.

Kind regards,
MONA DÜSENER / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    329
    112
    17
    18
See reviews for
62
297
47
162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gelnhausen, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed for one night in August. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. For 75€/night, it was very reasonable. It is located by some seedy sex shops and hookers, but they are harmless. There is a very nice oriental sweet shop next door and quite a few Döner Kebap joints around. It is within a reasonable walking distance of tourist sights, and fairly close to the main train station. The windows have very good noise isolation, so it is very quiet. The air conditioning isn't anything to brag about, we had it set on "16°C," and still felt warm. Underground garage parking is 15€/24 hours. There is also a nice sauna and fitness center available for free.

Overall recommendable if you don't want to spend a lot on a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank maria00715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELRubin, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Rubin, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Dear Maria

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Rubin Hamburg and for taking the time to fill in your feedback.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

Your praise and suggestion are motivation for us to continue to do all that is possible to make our guests’ stay comfortable, relaxing, and satisfying.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you back to ARCOTEL Hotels and Resorts in the near future.

Kind regards,
ARCOTEL Rubin Hamburg

SVANTJE NAGEL
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

So its in a slightly dodgy area but the hotel itself really makes up for it. It was modern, clean and the staff were incredibly helpful. The hotel is part of a chain and there is another one in Berlin which is just as good. Thoroughly recommend, even the walk through the 'dodginess' is entertaining!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mitchoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELRubin, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Rubin, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Dear guest

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Rubin Hamburg and for taking the time to fill in your feedback at www.tripadvisor.de.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Rubin in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Rubin Hamburg
SVANTJE NAGEL
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights midweek. We paid approx 130 in total for the 2 nights which was very reasonable for Hamburg. The hotel itself is very nice. Rooms are very clean and well presented. Bed was very comfortable. The hotel bar is very nice, if a little bit pricey.
It is actually a very good location being about a 10-15 min walk from the Hauptbahnhof, however to get to it you have to walk through what I suppose you would call a mini red light district - a few sex shops, quite a few prostitutes and a couple of dodgy looking pimps hanging around! We found this to be more amusing than anything, but some may not. We never felt in any way unsafe walking to or from the hotel.
I would definitely stay here again and have no hesitation recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissOrgana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELRubin, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Rubin, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Dear Miss Organa

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Rubin Hamburg and for taking the time to fill in the guest questionnaire.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Rubin in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Rubin Hamburg
SVANTJE NAGEL
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

After planning our European trip for 6 months, a month before our departure I was diagnosed with cancer. I have been cancelling all of the lodgings and almost all of them have been very understanding to the reason for our cancellation (certainly outside of our control) and have even sent messages. This hotel however simply stated that our room was non-refundable and our card will be charged! Well Arcotel, assuming that I am alive next year and we try our trip again your hotel will not be on the list!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SadCanadians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELRubin, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Rubin, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to fill in your feedback at www.tripadvisor.de.

First of all I would like to say that we regret the unfortunate circumstances about your health and would like to send our best wishes for your future.

Of course we do understand your wish to refund your money. However I am afraid to inform you, that this is not possible due to the cancellation policy that goes along with the booking of a non refundable rate. We kindly like to tell you that this is mentioned on our homepage. Your credit card was charged already right after you made the booking.

Nevertheless we hope that you do have understanding for our policies and would like to welcome you any time again.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Rubin Hamburg

SVANTJE NAGEL
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Good location close to railway central station, and underground. Good restaurants in the vicinity. Staff at reception professional and gentle at the same time. Very good room size and equipment. Same for bathroom. Wonderful breakfast in very comfortable facilities. Very good wired free internet connection available in the room and wi fi in common spaces. Only complain is for slow check out due to overcrowded reception, may be groups should be treated separately.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELRubin, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Rubin, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Dear Mrs Edumas

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Rubin Hamburg and for taking the time to fill in the feedback at www.tripadvisor.de.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

Your praise and suggestion are motivation for us to continue to do all that is possible to make our guests’ stay comfortable, relaxing, and satisfying.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you back to ARCOTEL Hotels and Resorts in the near future.

Kind regards,
ARCOTEL Rubin Hamburg
SVANTJE NAGEL
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

POSITIVES -
The public areas of the hotel were beautiful and well-kept.
The junior staff were polite, pleasant and worked hard to try to respond to guests and their needs.
The hotel is kept immaculately clean throughout.
The breakfasts, although overpriced, were good.

NEGATIVES -
The immediate local area was very seedy with sex-shops, hookers and a large immigrant population.
The so-called 'Comfort' rooms might better be described as 'DIScomfort' rooms.
I was told after the third night to move rooms because (unbelievably) there was to be overnight noisy building works near my first room!
These rooms were only quite basically furnished with cynically cheap materials and furnishings.
We had to endure six very expensive and uncomfortable nights because of issues with the air conditioning - which although advertised as room-controlled, are actually centrally controlled. So no matter what temperature you choose, the rooms remain at an uncomfortably warm 22 C throughout the night.
The duvets were also far too thick for summer use which only added to the discomfort.
The so-called black out curtains were of a poor quality cheap thin material which let in sunlight from 4,30am making sleep very difficult after that time.
Naturally, l complained to the general manager about these issues, but he did not bother to reply or apologise but sent instead a junior member of staff who was unable to resolve any of these matters.
. From the very top down, there exists a state of utter denial about such issues which senior managment did nothing to resolve and only offered weak excuses and feeble self-congratulatory justifications for inaction.
I was angry because as a so-called four star hotel, the rooms are far from cheap.
I would certainly never have booked a hotel where the guests had no room control over air conditioning,

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pigchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCOTELRubin, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Rubin, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We apologise for not meeting your expectations during your stay.
Unfortunately we had no opportunity to achieve this.

We thank you again for your stay and wish you all the best for the future.

Kind regards,

MONA DÜSENER / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#20 of 318 in Hamburg
792 reviews
St. Georg
STAY! Hotel Boardinghouse
STAY! Hotel Boardinghouse
#110 of 318 in Hamburg
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARCOTEL Rubin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Rubin

Property: ARCOTEL Rubin
Address: Steindamm 63, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#60 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#67 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ARCOTEL Rubin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hamburg and its trendy cultural district of St. Georg, the 4-star superior design hotel is the ideal starting point for city and business trips. The city centre, numerous sights, the river Alster, Hamburg's exhibition grounds and the central railway station are situated within walking distance or a short ride on public transport. The ARCOTEL Rubin lets guests' eyes sparkle in Hamburg, the "Pearl of the North". The 4-star superior hotel offers both genial Austrian hospitality as well as top-class service thus treating its guests to an enjoyable stay in the Hanseatic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ARCOTEL Rubin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Rubin Hamburg
Arcotel Rubin Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing