We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be put off by reviews about the location... this property is a perfect choice”
Review of ARCOTEL Rubin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ARCOTEL Rubin
Ranked #58 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I am disappointed to hear other reviewer's comments about the area surrounding this elegant and highly professional business-class hotel. The 10-minute walk from Hamburg Central Station is through a typical multi-ethnic neighborhood that can be found in any large city throughout Europe. Personally, I don't find anything particularly 'dodgy' about the area and am quite amazed that other reviewers perceive Steindamm's Islamic influence, Turkish green grocers, quiet gay pubs, and a handful of innocuous 'adult' shops to be threatening... you need to get out more! I would hate to see potential guests at this fantastic hotel scared off by an urban street scene that is in no way different from the city centres of Amsterdam, Paris, or Berlin. Hamburg is not a sanitized suburb but a bustling, international port city with a reputation as a multicultural party town. This area simply reflects that tradition. If the Steindamm feels threatening, I would hate to see the same reviewers visit Hamburg's famous Reeperbahn in the St. Pauli district... they may never leave the hotel again!

I have stayed at the Arcotel Rubin many times for business and cannot recommend it highly enough. Excellent proximity to the S-bahn and central station for easy connections to the airport and the rest of the city. The hotel's restaurant, Wiener Kaffee, serves excellent Viennese coffee and high-quality food. The hotel's staff are friendly, polite and extremely professional. Clean, comfortable rooms. Lovely sauna and spa facilities on the top floor. Exceptional value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a street facing room for less noise from the interior courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kansasforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myriam S, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Rubin, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your feedback which shows us, that we are on the right way. Such feedbacks are very important for improving our services and for keeping them at this standard. We hope to welcome you again at the ARCOTEL Rubin.
Kind regards,
Your ARCOTEL Rubin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

I stayed in the hotel for business purposes. The staff is friendly and the rooms are good. Taste is always a matter of fact, however I found the enterior little bit over the counter with the theme "rubin". The rooms are generally quiet, however windows facing the court can be noisy at times.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room facing the court. The court light is very bright and is not switched off dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimSim_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myriam S, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Rubin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear guest ,
thank you very much for your feedback.
We are glad you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you again at the ARCOTEL Rubin.
Kind regards
Your ARCOTEL Rubin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for three nights at the end of January 2014. We are in our early 30s and it was perfect. Yes, the street from central station is very 'middle eastern' but its not an issue AT ALL. Its just another side of German culture. If you want to miss it out there is an underground stop just across the road on the blue line which is one away from central so no big deal really. There is a street that runs parallel with Steindamm called Lange Reihe (5 minute walk) which has loads of quality wee bars and restaurants for people of our age. location is not an issue neither was cost. My one and only gripe was with Jork on the hotel bar... On our first night we were obviously excited to be there so headed to bar for a few drinks before going out. He was although informative about Hamburg and the area, was a touch arrogant and managed to sell us some ultra expensive gins that were 'on special'. There was no mention of cost and he charmed about 40 quid off us for 3!! Took it all in our stride though and did not affect my overall opinion of the hotel.

Basically if this is within your budget, go for it. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Binhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myriam S, Manager at ARCOTEL Rubin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear guest,

We hope you enjoyed your recent stay at the ARCOTEL Rubin and had a safe journey back home.

Thank you very much for leaving your feedback on tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your Feedback in order to continuously improve our service and standards.
managers.

The entire ARCOTEL Rubin team is very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is a pleasure to read that we met your expectations in regards to the standards of the hotel.

Your comment is a great motivation to our team to keep up with the professionalism and service.

We would be delighted to be of any assistance in the future should your travel plans lead you back to the Hamburg area.

Kind regards,

The ARCOTEL Rubin team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We were the only clients in the hall. We were talking while watching news on tv. The chief clerk came, changed the channel and he left. Being the only customers in the room, we changed the channel again and then he came and told us, in a rude way, not to change the channel (he was watching from his desk).
We couldn't believe that!!!
It's the first hotel I've been where services are there for hotel employees not for customers.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Javier N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myriam S, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Rubin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback.
Such feedbacks are very important for us to improve our services everytime. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you have had on one day during your stay. We are promise you, that such behaviour is not your standard.

We hope to welcome you soon.

Your ARCOTEL Rubin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

After having stayed in other hotels previously, I chose Arcotel Rubin this time for a change. Stayed six nights and enjoyed it. Breakfast is good, but I've had better, and service is sometimes slow (like when you are asked if you want coffee after the second trip to the buffet...).
The room was spacious and nicely furnished, the pics don't lie. Bed was a bit too soft for my back problems, and the temperature was not really controllable, so I had to open the window most of the time even with storm "Xaver" around.
Apart from these few points I had a really nice stay and would book it again.
One more thing about the location: it is super central, but the walk from Hauptbahnhof is not through the best of areas, so women traveling alone may want to consider this.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Chinamaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myriam S, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Rubin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear guest , thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you again at the ARCOTEL Rubin. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Just back from a weekend trip to Hamburg to see the Nick Cave concert in the Sports Halle and picked this hotel mainly for location and based on good reviews.
We weren't disappointed - for us the hotel was in a great location with easy links to the transport system from the Airport and for getting around.
The hotel was clean, rooms spacious and tastefully decorated with friendly staff. The breakfast buffet had a great range although the dining room itself was quite warm being all glass.
The hotel is located at the edge of the red light district which is actually full of great bars albeit slightly seedy but all very welcoming and good fun. We didn't feel compromised at any time and if life takes us back to Hamburg would definitely stay here again.
Would recommend this hotel and would suggest that for those that have an issue with paying for breakfast separately that you book with a rate that includes this as there isn't a huge amount of alternatives within walking distance.
For a late night snack try the Bratwurst stand opposite the Police Station!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sibden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myriam S, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Rubin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback which shows us, that we are on the right way. Such feedbacks are very important for improving our services and for keeping them at this standard.

We hope to welcome you again at the ARCOTEL Rubin.

Kind regards,

Your ARCOTEL Rubin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Not in the red light district, but... a slightly dodgy street to walk on from the Hauptbahnhof. When you get to this very nice, modern and plush hotel with red everywhere, what a contrast.
Still, it is actually a really good location because you are near the lake, and from Hbf station you can go anywhere easily - Hamburg is a large city with many areas worth visiting.
Comfortable room/bed, small spa on the top floor (just ask reception to get slippers and a bathrobe, no fee), good soundproofing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank so_voyage49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myriam S, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Rubin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear guest ,
thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you again at the ARCOTEL Rubin.
Kind regards
Your ARCOTEL Rubin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#19 of 321 in Hamburg
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
STAY! Hotel Boardinghouse
STAY! Hotel Boardinghouse
#100 of 321 in Hamburg
118 reviews
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARCOTEL Rubin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Rubin

Address: Steindamm 63, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#60 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#67 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £59 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ARCOTEL Rubin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hamburg and its trendy cultural district of St. Georg, the 4-star superior design hotel is the ideal starting point for city and business trips. The city centre, numerous sights, the river Alster, Hamburg's exhibition grounds and the central railway station are situated within walking distance or a short ride on public transport. The ARCOTEL Rubin lets guests' eyes sparkle in Hamburg, the "Pearl of the North". The 4-star superior hotel offers both genial Austrian hospitality as well as top-class service thus treating its guests to an enjoyable stay in the Hanseatic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your ARCOTEL Rubin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Rubin Hamburg
Arcotel Rubin Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing