We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, does the job”
Review of ARCOTEL Rubin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ARCOTEL Rubin
Ranked #66 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, does the job”
Reviewed 29 July 2009

I found this hotel was a good compromise between value and quality. Front desk service was polite and efficient, bags were taken up to the room by a porter. Lifts require room card, which is good for security.

Rooms themselves are quite spacious, and use the Rubin rubyred colour scheme, which gives a sense of quality. Beds were very comfortable. good quality TV, but just had the usual 30 or so German cable channels. DVD player was a nice addition, especially as it had a USB slot. Bathroom was always clean and quite spacious, only problem occurred when shower gel (the type in a dispenser on the wall) was replaced with hand soap by accident - a quick call to reception rectified this with miniature shampoos and shower gel.

Used internet in the lobby - three computers which were rarely all occupied, and seemed quite secure, deleting your session when you logged off.

Area is not fantastic, you do have to walk through a slightly grotty, seedy area to get there, but it is well lit and on a main road, about 10 minutes walk from the main train station, and two minutes from the nearest U-Bahn. The slightly rough-and-ready surroundings mean that there is plenty of nearby nightlife, with lots of atmosphere.

Overall, highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank badoerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    341
    114
    18
    18
See reviews for
64
305
47
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2009

It’s odd that this hotel is rated so highly. It is walking distance from the main train station, but is on the wrong side of the tracks. You have to walk through a seedy little red light district lined with hookers, casinos, beggars and so many sex shops. That didn’t bother me, but if you had kids or were a lone female it could be a problem. The strip can be avoided by walking the back way from the station, but then you are passing countless gay bars, like The SLUT Club.

The hotel itself is nice and does the job. I had a superior room which was adequate in size, with a good bathroom. It was certainly clean and in good order.

Forget about the bar though. Had one person working in it for about 50 customers. Not much choice in the immediate vicinity though. Heading directly north into the St Georg main area, there is a couple of nice bars. Hamburg is certainly not Munich or Berlin in terms of bar choice anyhow.

I would recommend staying closer to the lake. That’s a much nicer area.

  • Liked — Clean, neat and modern. Close to major rail station
  • Disliked — Horrible area
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E_Hemingway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2009

Hotel was nice, location close to the train station convenient.

We did not realise that our booking excluded breakfast and assumed, it was part of the deal. The check-in staff explained in detail the where and when but did not mention anything about additional cost. The unexpected surprise came at the check-out, when an additional charge for breakfast of €17 per person per night was put onto our bill. If you stay for a couple of nights it adds up pretty quickly.

This experience unfortunately spoiled the impression we took home from your trip and leaves one with the uncomfortable feeling of being ripped off.

My tip: Double check if breakfast is included in your booking. The reception staff will not mention anything at the check-in, probably pinning its hope on making some extra money at the check-out.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelschmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2009

We reserved a room at the Arcotel Rubin based on excellent reviews and rankings here for our last night in Europe, before an early morning flight back to the States. We arrived in Hamburg on the train, and--as we were advised that the Steindamm was right outside the train station--walked the few blocks to the hotel, past what seemed like a phalanx of sex shops. I was really nervous about what we were in for, but just before the hotel, the neighborhood abruptly quieted down, and the hotel itself is pleasantly upscale.

We ate in the hotel bar, which offered good food at decent prices, with very nice service from the bartender. Our room was clean and offered everything we needed. Bed was decently comfortable, our wakeup call was prompt, and while the cab we ordered to the airport was a few minutes late, we made our flight with time to spare.

It's not a luxurious hotel, but upscale and comfortable--good, but not outstanding, value for money.

  • Liked — Clean, nice service in bar
  • Disliked — location near sex shops
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebOChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2008

We were travelling by train so wanted a hotel within walking distance of the main station. The hotel fitted the bill perfectly being about 10 mins walk. The reviews mentioned the immediate area which whilst there are a few sex shops thease are next door to grocery stores, restaurants etc. The road and pavements are wide well lit and much better than I was anticipating! Nothing like the Reeperbahn area where the sex is in your face!

The hotel is modern, very clean and attractive! There is good parking in the basement. There is an attractive bar/coffee shop on the ground floor and a excellent cocktail bar on the first floor.

We were on the 7th floor and had a nice view of Hamburg. the rooms are light bright and very comfortable. There is free internet access with reception suppling a cable if required. There was also a sauna and gym on this floor which we did not use.

We had breakfast which was a wide selection of hot and cold dishes with tea and coffee. Expensive, but that seems to be the way in hotels these days.

The staff are first class, excellent english and extremely helpful. A pleasant stay with no complaints

  • Liked — Modern, Clean & Bright
  • Disliked — Expensive breakfast
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MalmoFitandfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2008

Great hotel in the St George area of Hamburg which is about 10 minutes from all the main attractions, also very close to the railway station and numerous restaurants. The hotel itself is very smart and has had a refurbishment recently, the staff were very friendly and helpful and also very knowledgeable about the local area.The main reason we went to Hamburg was to visit the Xmas fairs and this did not dissapoint as they are a great sight and the atmosphere that is generated around the food and drink stalls is superb. All in all i would recommend the hotel and hamburg for anyone seeking a relaxing but highly enjoyable time

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank traces266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2008

Hotel:
big lobby, an area where you can access internet for free, a cosy Café (only negativ point: people could smoke in it), on the 1st floor you find a cool bar
Rooms:
Spacious rooms, clean, nice designed
Wellness Area:
3 Saunas plus various surprises like a rainforest/aroma shower. The machines in the gym are very up to date and the bycicle even has a TV integrated (don´t forgot to bring your earphone with you).
Location:
Around 10min max walking distance to the central station. 5min to the "Lange Reihe" - a famous street with a lot of nice international Cafés, Restaurants, Shops. 10min walking distance to the lake Alster.
I strongly recommend that Hotel because you have an easy access to the Metro, Internet access in the hotel, good Cafés/Restos around and for doing some sport the gym is fantastic and the Alster is very close.

  • Liked — Design of the Hotel, Wellness Area, Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Alsterperle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
STAY! Hotel Boardinghouse
STAY! Hotel Boardinghouse
#117 of 319 in Hamburg
97 reviews
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#18 of 319 in Hamburg
832 reviews
St. Georg
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
#52 of 319 in Hamburg
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARCOTEL Rubin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Rubin

Property: ARCOTEL Rubin
Address: Steindamm 63, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#60 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#67 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ARCOTEL Rubin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hamburg and its trendy cultural district of St. Georg, the 4-star superior design hotel is the ideal starting point for city and business trips. The city centre, numerous sights, the river Alster, Hamburg's exhibition grounds and the central railway station are situated within walking distance or a short ride on public transport. The ARCOTEL Rubin lets guests' eyes sparkle in Hamburg, the "Pearl of the North". The 4-star superior hotel offers both genial Austrian hospitality as well as top-class service thus treating its guests to an enjoyable stay in the Hanseatic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your ARCOTEL Rubin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Rubin Hamburg
Arcotel Rubin Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing