We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant B&B in the leafy suburbs”

Das Gastehaus der Elb Lounge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Das Gastehaus der Elb Lounge
Ranked #11 of 78 Hamburg B&B and Inns
Menerbes, France
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Pleasant B&B in the leafy suburbs”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I found this place almost by accident, while attending a function in the sister establishment, the Elb Lounge. This is a classy B&B in a residential area of town, with friendly staff. It is very quiet, providing a good night's sleep. There are a few restaurants a 5 minute walk away, and the S-bahn is also 5 minutes away and takes 20 minutes to the city centre.

Only one drawback: For us brits, there are no English TV channels. (I had NBC for a while, then it switched to German).

An affordable touch of class, with easy access to the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    30
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
25
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
vadodara
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I have recently stayed during my visit to Hamburg and found to be nice small hotel or a guest house as they say. The room in which i stayed was small but good for single person but the important thing i liked was direct excess to terrace . Hence during summer time you can enjoy . Also they have reasonably good breakfast. The problem i faced was that wifi was good in the lobby but in the room it was difficult surf.

Room Tip: If you do not have a car than try to avoid this place as they dont have any restaurant .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nishant77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in January 2013 for two nights, our party comprising of two adults and a baby.

The rooms are modernly furnished and are full of nice touches. These included well thought out bedding (a textured bed sheet and good UK-style pillows which do not need folding over), a towel set for our baby, a selection of shower gels/shampoos, little chocolates by the beds, fresh flowers all over the place, tea/coffee/water/fruit available on tap, and the list goes on.

There is a secure parking garage but with only 9 spaces, so get in there quick!

The breakfast is of a continental style and is very good for only €7.

Very minor negatives are a couple of cobwebs on the ceiling and the silly orange chairs in the rooms - whoever picked them out clearly has more artistic flair than sense. I'm nitpicking here though and my wife is insisting that I add that she indeed liked the dodgy chairs!

Very good and we will be returning.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim1983_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Google maps pointed me to this pleasant hotel. I needed to be in the general vacinity to visit family. The place has a college dorm atmosphere to it. Numerous rooms with a common area on each floor with free coffee and tea. I stayed in Room 8 and also saw Room 7 while they cleaned it in the morning. These two rooms were cosy. They are meant only to be slept in. These rooms are doubles with minimal closet space and a desk with coloured plastic chair. The bathroom has a 70's feeling to it.

My son spilled some powdered candy on the bed so I had to remove the bedding and shake the mattress. I won't go into details but the cleaning staff should clean more thoroughly. The staff was very friendly but the breakfast staff speaks no English nor German. Breakfast is a traditional Continental Breakfast and is not included with the room

Hard to say if I would stay there again. It's simple and nice with friendly staff but a little expensive for the elemetary service.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miguel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I have awarded the Elb Lounge five stars as it delivered exactly what we had expected. But future guests need to be well-informed about its location and service arrangements, in order to match with their needs and expectations.
Using Tripadvisor to plan a tour of Northern Germany and a visit to Hamburg, I had found it difficult to find B&B accommodation similar to my experiences in Britain and in France. I also wanted to ensure reserved parking, preferably in a private car park. Thinking that a journey into Hamburg by public transport would actually be preferable to one in our own car, The Elb Lounge seemed a good choice. And so it proved to be.
The Guest house was built by BP in the 1980's as overnight accommodation for staff and visitors to the real Elb Lounge, a mansion around the corner used for meetings and conferences. (It has now been sold on and is hired out for for similar purposes and for weddings. You can't actually access this property directly from the Guesthouse.) The bedrooms are of an acceptable size, but with seating areas in abundance on the landings and terrace. Luckily I booked early and was able to secure one of the two spacious suites, with kitchenette to boot.
It's true that the information to get you into Hamburg could be clearer, that you need to 'hunt the coffee' (it's on the first landing) and that there is a chance that if you arrive after 4pm you will need a charged-up phone to ring for access, but, in our experience, the positives outweighed the negatives. We loved being in an upmarket suburb where we could walk down to the Elbe to watch the ships come up the river. We loved our afternoon tea at 'The Witthus' in the park -499 Elbchaussee (a bit pricey, but lovely.) And, last, but not least, we loved Hamburg!
Tip - if you are worried about grounding your car, don't attempt the slope into the underground car park; we didn't and were very happy to leave it on the street (it's a good neighbourhood.)

Room Tip: Our suite -no.31 I think- was great. It didn't have a balcony, though. Don't know if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChocoloverBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This small and friendly hotel provided a perfect base for connecting with our relatives who live in the nearby area and for exploring the city. The hotel is very well maintained, furnishing and accessories are new and made with good taste. Our room, a suite, was impeccably clean and spacious enough to accommodate two adults, a kid and a baby. The hotel staff even supplied us with a baby soap! A snack corner is a great touch, especially enjoyed by kids. The breakfast is not something to rave about but has a pretty good value for money. The only downside I would mention, is poor e-mail communication. It might be due to a language barrier, but some of our e-mails with specific questions and requests got left unanswered.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuchka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

This is small and nice family run hotel mostly attended by Germans located in the quite surrounding. Building is historical and there a couple of photos on the wall showing the history of house. There are apples, water, tea and coffee available on each floor. Rooms is modestly decorated, but clean. We were there by car, so can't say any word about public transportation to the downtown which seems to be rather far away.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DmitryStPetersburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Blankenese
Strandhotel Blankenese
Strandhotel Blankenese
#144 of 317 in Hamburg
41 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#7 of 317 in Hamburg
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Louis C. Jacob
#11 of 317 in Hamburg
472 reviews
Auszeit Hotel Hamburg
#1 of 78 in Hamburg
227 reviews
Hammerbrook
BO Hotel Hamburg
BO Hotel Hamburg
#7 of 78 in Hamburg
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Gastehaus der Elb Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Gastehaus der Elb Lounge

Property: Das Gastehaus der Elb Lounge
Address: Manteuffelstr. 39, 22587 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Das Gastehaus der Elb Lounge 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Das Gastehaus der Elb Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing