We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“V Good - close to Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Empire Riverside Hotel
Ranked #23 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“V Good - close to Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stopped into this hotel on a recommendation from a local Hamburg resident & friend. It was a very nice place to stay while en route from Copenhagen to Frankfurt - wished I had stayed another day in Hamburg rather than going onto Frankfurt, but that's another story. The hotel is well situated on the waterfront and has killer views of the city. The bar up on the 20th floor was very well attended by many locals - seems to be a trendy place to gather given the views and selection of beverages. The lobby bar was packed with World Cup fans cheering on their respective teams, so the vibe was certainly 'alive'. Grabbed a couple of sushi plates at the bar, which were outstanding. Good selection of bourbons and whiskeys too - nice touch. Check-in and check-out were fine, but my one complaint was that the receptionist seemed a bit preoccupied and included the breakfast as part of the charge. I had asked her not to include this, but she did anyway. Upon checkout, they had to re-run my charges a few times and seemed a bit put-out by this. Otherwise, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    441
    127
    30
    18
See reviews for
63
423
70
435
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I like this hotel and stay here quite often when on business trips in Hamburg. I often get the "corner" room, which makes two full walls purely out of window from bottom to the top. Love this. Rooms are very cozy, comfortable and quite. Fitness room is good, breakfast very good, too, with freshly pressed orange juice. Only thing I dont like about the hotel is the reception area, it's big and gives a vibe of anonymity, like in a museum hall where the receptionist cant even say hello because they would have to shout.

Also, public transport is a bit far to walk. Otherwise good location in Reeperbahn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nofretete11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Really nice hotel in general. Great views, beautiful rooms, excellent breakfast, very modern and still a warm feeling. I wasn't so happy about the service. The hotel knows that it is a good one and you can feel it. After showing the credit card in the right color I received a smile. Of course people from hamburg are known to be a bit cold but still I believe a friendly face is winning more fans.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sascha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
112 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

How convenient must it be if you are the only hotel who offers a truely astonishing view over the Hamburg Harbour. People will find you and pay the steep price to look at the ships pass by. I am one of those people, but if wasn’t for my 3 year old boy, I probably would have skipped this place. One night in a room overlooking the harbor is over 300 euro, excluding breakfast. Now it is a very nice room with big panorama windows overlooking a big part of the harbor and St.Pauli, beds were very comfortable and the whole hotel just breathed an exlusive, boutique atmosphere with a high-ceiling entrance hall. The staff I encountered were very friendly, we got a complimentary plate of chocolates and cookies and my son loved the view. Only a 5 minute walk to the Reeperbahn, where live is bustling, but walking there with a 3 year old is not advisable….so everything positive???? Pfffff, the bill from 315 euro for 1 night when I dragged a bag of breakfast stuff in from the local supermarket is a painful reminder that you got decent value but for a whole lot of money. I would not go here again, despite the fact that I liked my stay, my wallet will not allow it….

Room Tip: If you wanna see the harbour, you have to go for the more expensive rooms,otherwise there is no guar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willem_ter_Haar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puebla, Mexico
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The hotel location allows a great view of the port, the rooms are comfortable and very clean. A highlight is the bar at the 20th floor of course depending on the weather you can have great view. For conferences the Hotel is excellent! Prices are reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano, Italia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Enjoyed the view on the waterfront, the room comfort ant the most unusual amenities in the room in a nice bag saying "take me". Food and wine quality was poor and service was average, though. Slow check in and check out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agoefilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very nice room with a wall-sized window towards the harbour (QE 2 in the docks) and the Elbphilharmonie (recommended); modern design with stylish lightning and very comfy beds; the bathroom was perfect. Don't forget to visit the rooftop bar "20up" with an amazing Hamburg harbour view.

Room Tip: Harbour view, 10th floor +
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 37miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#68 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
St. Pauli
east Design Hotel Hamburg
east Design Hotel Hamburg
#24 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#20 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#9 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#28 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Riverside Hotel

Property: Empire Riverside Hotel
Address: Bernhard-Nocht-Strasse 97, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#27 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#35 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#41 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empire Riverside Hotel towers 90 meters above the River Elbe and dominates the skyline of Hamburg harbour. The hotel is located in a unique position high above the St Pauli Landungsbrücken in a triangle between the Hafen City, Elbchaussee and downtown Hamburg. Guests have immediate access to the city center and the port, and can watch ships entering and leaving the harbour from their beds. The Empire Riverside Hotel has 327 rooms starting from the fourth floor up to the twentieth floor. Most of the rooms are offering floor-to-ceiling panorama windows, extra-large beds, air conditioning, flat screen television, wireless internet, minibar and safe. The hotel restaurant waterkant serves international maritime cuisine and guests are welcome to watch chefs preparing the food in the show kitchen. There are two hotel bars: DAVID'S Bar & Lounge looking out onto Davidstrasse and the nightlife passing by, and the Skyline Bar 20up, offering an unrivaled panorama view overlooking the River Elbe and the Port of Hamburg. The RIVERstyle fitness& spa features cardio training machines, sauna, steam bath and Kneipp basin on a total of 200 square meters. The Empire Riverside Hotel is located in St. Pauli with acces to Underground and S-Bahn train in only 5-minutes-walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Empire Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Riverside Hamburg
Hotel Empire Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing