We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget choice if you're travelling alone!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Michaelis Hof Hotel
Ranked #127 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The best thing about this hotel is its convenient location. Taking the green line from the airport you can get immediately at the station next to the hotel (Stadthausbrucke) for just 3 euro and, also, you can walk to all the main sites from here. If you don't like to walk, then the subway is a few feet away!
The room is cosy, it has enough space for luggage etc, and I find it ideal for when travelling alone on a business or a study trip. My room had a desk next to the window with a great city view, so with the internet access I could easily and pleasantly work from here.
There is a bit of noise from the cars in the street, but generally it is quiet.
There is no breakfast, but they do serve complimentary coffee and croissants, which is great when you want something small to fill you up just enough before going to explore the city. There are many places to have a proper breakfast nearby.
Finally, it feels like a safe place to stay and safety is always a concern when travelling alone, and it's very affordable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheByzantinist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed here for 3 days and it was really nice. The stuff was very helpfull and friendly. There is a reception on the right side of the hall and you could take a breakfast on there. The room is nearly triple times bigger than standart hotel rooms.

Room Tip: Corner suites have beautiful view, especially rooms on the road side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kemal Ogün I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Interesting idea, and very nice to have this kind of option as a traveller.

As others have mentioned, it occupies one floor in a Christian conference-type building connected to the church next door.

It is suffering heavily from the major renovations happening to the rest of the building - but you shouldn't let this put you off.

The hotel floor is completely as expected; the rooms are fairly large with a great bed and shower, free wired internet in each room, a small breakfast bar and a part-time reception. Location and price are the absolute winning factors for this comfortable hotel. You'd be paying at least double to stay this close to the center of town in another hotel.

If you want the luxuries (24/7 reception, wake-up calls, bar, room service, etc) then this place will never be for you. If you want a comfortable, well-maintained 'base' for your stay in the center of Hamburg, then you can't do far wrong than the Michaelis Hof Hotel.

p.s. very grateful of the immediate response when the check-in machine didn't work for me (due to the building works). A quick ring to the number provided and they were down in a shot! Excellent.

Room Tip: One side looks out on to an office building (bit awkward when walking around after a shower!) and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smsfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Location is perfect. Short walk to the main tourist attractions. And is just beside the train station. Rooms are big, nice and clean. Fair price comparing to the market in Hamburg. The offer free coffee (taste really good) and croissant. Just a bit complicated to access. There is no reception, make sure you get a code to open the main door and your booking number to get the room key. Their employees are very helpfull and kind.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idavidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Michaelis Hof occupies the fourth floor of a building near the church by Ludwig-Erhard Strasse and Herrengraben. However, once through the fourth floor door you suddenly find yourself in a pleasant little hotel in a decent location in Hamburg (easy 15min walk to Hafencity, and a minute to the local station). Room was a nice size, very clean, comfortable, good heating, windows that open, clean bathroom, though perhaps the furnishings were a bit basic. Breakfast is definitely minimal but they do say that (croissant and coffee/tea, no more). Overall for the price, location and city, I have to say worth the stay. When I visited there was a lot of building work around it which made it tricky to find in the dark. The entrance is most visible on Ludwig-Erhard Strasse 10, down some steps to the door and the key-pad for getting in although you can get in from the much less obvious entrance on the other side facing Herrengraben. So it's hard to find and unless you read your instructions, hard to get in (wait after typing the door code BTW - it takes several seconds and there is little indication the lock has released), and with building work in the halls the day I went, did not look promising. I did find the building work threw up some dust which made me a bit wheezy but I understand it is nearing completion so won't be like that much longer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobJDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights. At the time the exterior was undergoing renovations. I initially overlooked the large signs giving direction to entrance but I eventually found my way and had no problems with automated check-in. The room was not large but recently renovated, clean and good value Not being religious I was initially concerned about the co location with the Catholic collage however that proved to not be an issue.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARK521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We found this hotel a great solution to staying right in the middle of the town without paying the earth. It is about 1 minute's walk from the S Bahn, which connects you to everywhere in Hamburg, including the airport. It is about 10 minutes walk from the Rathaus and all the surrounding shops and of course the Alster.
The rooms are clean and well equipped and everything looked pretty new.
Access out of hours is by a key pad with a code you type in - which is part of your booking papers, so no problem getting in, whatever time you arrive. Our plane was delayed and we arrived pretty late at night, but with the automated system, there was no problem. Reception staff were on hand every morning and were very helpful.
We would definitely stay here again. The only drawback as far as I was concerned was that there weren't tea making facilities and I did miss being able to make a cup of tea!

Room Tip: Ask for one on the 'garden' side, as you then get a view of the Michael church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
Hotel Stella Maris
Hotel Stella Maris
#84 of 321 in Hamburg
212 reviews
Neustadt
Hanse Clipper Haus
Hanse Clipper Haus
#16 of 321 in Hamburg
522 reviews
St. Pauli
Commodore
Commodore
#177 of 321 in Hamburg
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#2 of 321 in Hamburg
1,066 reviews
Neustadt
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
#35 of 321 in Hamburg
791 reviews
Ibis budget Hamburg City
#53 of 321 in Hamburg
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michaelis Hof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michaelis Hof Hotel

Address: Herrengraben 4, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: £77 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Michaelis Hof Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Michaelis Hof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing