We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of NewLivingHome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
NewLivingHome
Ranked #110 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Eilat, Israel
Level Contributor
143 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The location is perfect - the U entrance right next to the hotel, the trip from the center is about 15 minutes. This direction always was useful, everything we needed was on this branch. I loved the fact it was a nursing home, for me it was an additional attraction to have a peek to old German (rich) folk's lives.The pool was lovely and mostly empty (we went there every day and usually were alone). It opens at 7:00 AM and closes at 10:00 PM, so you can use it before and after you day trips, it is very helpful for feet after all day walk. Breakfast was wonderful! The best I have ever saw in budget hotels. You can have also lunch and dinner, coffee and beer whenever you wish, but all this in a cute clean-cut classic music porcelain atmosphere, so be prepared this is not a pub!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    27
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
10
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hotel is more like a residence mainly of people of older age. Its clean, and breakfast was good. Travelling with my family and for my three kids was given a two room apartment. Clean comfortable beds. Location is great. next to metro station that connects to centre. Also the zoo is very close walking distance. Highly recommend visit to the zoo if time is available. Wifi is not free.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wajjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

In the North West part of Hamburg you will find this interesting hotel.
Roughly 46 hotelrooms and 146 hotel apartments, which are rented to old aged people who have chosen to enjoy the luxury of a hotel versus ending up in an old age home. . Surroundings are far from intersting however the location and facilities of the hotel are good. Reasonably priced and good restaurants. Various rooms for family and other special events are available.
Rooms are comfortable and clean. Bathrooms well equipped.
Very friendly and professional staff.
All in all a pleasant hotel however where the middle aged and elderly mix together

Room Tip: No suggestions
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thijm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabro, Denmark
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We enjoyed a nice weekend in Hamburg staying here. The rooms very big - we had an small appartement with large bed room, even larger living room, where the kids slept. There was a seperat kitchen with fridge, and large bathroom.
Service was good, and the food in the restaurant - breakfast and dinner - was of high standard with fresh ingredients.
The pool was nice, and there is a little park surrounding the hotel. It is not only a hotel, but also a home for elderly people. This is working fine, but sometimes we felt, we entered their home, and had to consider this in the behaviour of our two small children.
The location is very near the zoo Hagenbeck Tiergarten, and the train to Hamburg Center is just a 2 minute walk away.

Room Tip: There is some traffic noise, so ask for a room to the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Rooms were clean and comfortable and of a reasonable size. The pool is not full size but is great for kids but doesn't have a shallow end for kids. Probably about four feet deep. The breakfast included in the price was fantastic. Buffet style continental breakfast and the option to have eggs fried or scrambled if you wish. The kids were delighted to be offered hot chocolate!

Excellent rail links to the centre of Hamburg and within five minutes walk of the zoo.

Very quiet place in atmosphere but not in number of guests. There are a large proportion of elderly guests but at no point did we feel unwelcome or out of place. The staff were very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MummyMoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Århus
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This is a normal hotel where you rent rooms for the night, but it also has a lot of old people staying here for longer periods of time.

The rooms are handicap friendly with wide doors, a little seat in the shower and big elevators. Rooms have a small kitchen and seperate bedroom. Elevator music is playing everywhere.

The restaurent is ok. Typical german food with good beer and nice deserts. They put bacon on everything except the ice cream for desert.

Very friendly staff.

Very quiet - you will get a good nights sleep here!

Room Tip: I think every room is about the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tausick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Good hotel, nicely situated, fifteen to twenty minutes to downtown Hamburg on the subway. Right beside the zoo and aquarium. Good amenities including pool and sauna. Staff was extremely friendly, especially taken into account we do not speak a word of German. Breakfast in the morning was very complete. We had dinner at the hotel's restaurant on two occasions and both times it was very good. Once again, the service was very good. The room was large and we had ample space for our family of four.

The hotel also doubles as a senior's residence. The residents we met in the hallway were very friendly.

The hotel is a bit hard to find, with the entrance at the back; the taxi we took at the airport clearly had never been to this hotel The internet is extra; the connection is very reliable. We had a suite with kitchenette, but no plates, cutlery or anything with which to cook. We asked and were told there was a fee to obtain them. The hotel is not over-priced - the price is fair - but, charging for the internet and some dishes seems unnecessary. Frankly, the price should be all inclusive.

Overall, we enjoyed visiting Hamburg and the hotel served our purposes nicely.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanRoberge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Eimsbüttel
TRYP by Wyndham Hamburg Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Hamburg Airport
#75 of 318 in Hamburg
386 reviews
Eimsbüttel
Hotel Restaurant Engel
Hotel Restaurant Engel
#162 of 318 in Hamburg
87 reviews
Wandsbek
Steigenberger Hotel Treudelberg Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NewLivingHome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NewLivingHome

Property: NewLivingHome
Address: Julius-Vosseler-Str. 40, 22527 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Eimsbüttel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — NewLivingHome 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Odigeo, HRS, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your NewLivingHome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing