We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Prinz Heinrich Darmstadt
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Darmstadt
Roskilde, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice hotel :-)”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The rooms are renovated, bath is new and nice. Spacey rooms, everything clean. We got a good deal for the weekend rate of 60 Euro. However, when checking in I noted that the hotel claims 250 Euro for smoking in the room. I asked, if they had smoker rooms as I would not want to stay in such. They said that all rooms are non-smoking. However, when entering the room of my sons, it has a fierce smell of old cigaret smoke. We got without any problems at once another room that did not smell. I just wonder how the maid could not notice the smell?? Anyway, it was very hot, and there was no air condition and as the rooms windows faced the yard, there was absolutely no air from the outside. But nicely re-done rooms and nice bathrooms and good beds. Closely located to several restaurants and the train station.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christoffersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    29
    22
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
3
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aix-en-Provence, France
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

good rooms, nice breakfast, smily service, not too far from the center.....all in all, the hotel is fine.

I travel there on a regular basis for business in Darmstadt.
Does anyone want to meet up for a drink in the evening.

Let me know :-)

See you,

Romeo

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romeo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbino, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This hotel has been newly refurbished. Furniture and appliances are new and you perceive this as a major effort by the owners to keep relatively high standards.
On the positive side: the bed was confortable and the breakfast buffet was above average with a good choice of tea, bread, cheeses, muesly, ... etc. a relatively good price-quality relationship at a walking distance from the city centre.
On the negative side: wifi is free just in the lobby. In the room you have to pay. This should be considered a basic service. Moreover, I did not like the lila and light green colours of the walls and found that the different elements (furniture, colours of walls, etc.) did not match one another. Others might like them ;-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YK-Urbino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel is well located in Darmstadt, close to the centre and close to the mayor space players in town. Although the hotel has 60 rooms it still has the atmosphere of a small family hotel.
The rooms are well equipped, including shower and hairdryer. The choice at breakfast is more then sufficient and the quality of the offered food is very good. It's always nice staying here for one or more nights.

Room Tip: Rooms at the courtyard side are more quiet in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_S100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichenau b. München, Deutschland
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

In a quiet side-street not far from the old-town; uncomplicated reception and check-out; near to reasonable restaurants and many little bars.

Inexpensive for business travellers - not exciting - but who need excitement.

Will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Traditional german hotel - the unrefurbished rooms are all traditional heavy dark wood furnished. The refurbished rooms are more modern but still quite small. Breakfast bufffet is very good with a lot of choice. The wifi is somewhat dodgy and tempremental. No Air conditioning, but some rooms have fans which I have requested from reception in the past. I have also stayed in the Prinz Heinrich Apartments which are a couple of blocks away, which you are sometimes offered if the hotel is full.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The hotel is centrally located and easily accessible. It has parking space which is very convenient. The hotel has a traditional German rustic appearance, a lot of solid wood and overloaded decoration. The room is of good size with all what is needed. There is no minibar or coffee / tea machines. There is no air conditioning either. The bathroom is good enough, nothing special, functional. Breakfast is fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huyggens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darmstadt hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Darmstadt City
Ibis Budget Darmstadt City
#9 of 33 in Darmstadt
326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Darmstadt City
Ibis Darmstadt City
#4 of 33 in Darmstadt
296 reviews
0.5 mi away
IntercityHotel Darmstadt
IntercityHotel Darmstadt
#7 of 33 in Darmstadt
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Maritim Konferenzhotel Darmstadt
0.6 mi away
Welcome Hotel Darmstadt
Welcome Hotel Darmstadt
#1 of 33 in Darmstadt
364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Darmstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prinz Heinrich Darmstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prinz Heinrich Darmstadt

Property: Hotel Prinz Heinrich Darmstadt
Address: Bleichstr. 48, 64293 Darmstadt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Darmstadt
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Darmstadt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Prinz Heinrich Darmstadt 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Prinz Heinrich Darmstadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing