We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below the average”
Review of Hotel Ernst Ludwig

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ernst Ludwig
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Darmstadt
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Below the average”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I spent 3 nights in the hotel. I paid 90 euro per night per person (breakfast included).Quality of the room lower than average. Breakfast rather poor with small selection of food.
The only advantage is the location - walking distance to the main old square - few minutes, and close indoor parking under the shopping mall - cost 5 euro per entrance.
Next time during the fairs I will stay in Frankfurt.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WBPoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    6
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
5
4
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

It's more a hostel than a hotel. Old beds, uncomfortable bathroom, dirty towels, poor breakfast. We booked double room with balcony, wrote a confirmation letter about this type of room and instead of this we'd got a twin room without balcony at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Innelein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Darmstadt hotels

the netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Snoring neighbor or ringing phone of the reception - everything well audible in the guestroom with virtually no sound isolation. Shower primitive, floods all bathroom floor by design, poor bathroom supplies. Bedroom with poor sleeping comfort, sticky plastic flooring. Hotel located in the pedestrian shopping area, parking far away and difficult to find. Breakfast OK. Overall: never again!

Room Tip: hopeless, I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank germaniris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bergamo
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

This hotel attracts people to the center position, but in reality, then you can not sleep!!!
In fact, the 'hotel had a bar on one side disc with loud music until 4 am, on' the other hand, a greengrocer noisy from 6 am.
Torture however is that all the rooms' interior had a temperature of 30 degrees! Then you have to open the window because it lacks air conditioning!
Maybe in January you can sleep.
During the night at 3 am, I went down to the disco bar to plead to lower the music volume.
The Saturday morning we present ourselves at 8.00 for breakfast with two hungry children (breakfast from 7.30 to 9.30). Desert! Breakfast still closed. No one answered the front desk. So mobile phone calls! The lady says they are still in bed .......at night they were late!!! She says: "Have breakfast at the bar, we will refund the cost (4 persons)."
But when I paid the bill, only 5 euro discount for non-breakfast and music at night!!
Thanks to hotel Ludwig !!! I don't return

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank GiuseppeBergamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2008

Simple but good hotel.
just openened in the middle of the center in Darmstadt.
You can't get there by car so you have to put this one first in a garage. (3 minute walk).
Rooms are simple but clean and new! Good beds.
Breakfast is ok and included!
Good price and quality!
Location in the middle of the center in Darmstadt!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no parking
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RoboHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darmstadt hotels
0.1 mi away
Bockshaut Hotel Restaurant
Bockshaut Hotel Restaurant
#21 of 34 in Darmstadt
50 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Darmstadt City
Ibis Darmstadt City
#6 of 34 in Darmstadt
288 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Darmstadt City
Ibis Budget Darmstadt City
#8 of 34 in Darmstadt
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#9 of 34 in Darmstadt
10 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hornung
Hornung
#25 of 34 in Darmstadt
24 reviews
0.8 mi away
H+ Hotel Darmstadt
H+ Hotel Darmstadt
#5 of 34 in Darmstadt
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ernst Ludwig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ernst Ludwig

Property: Hotel Ernst Ludwig
Address: Ernst Ludwig Strasse 14, 64283 Darmstadt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Darmstadt
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Darmstadt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ernst Ludwig 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Ernst Ludwig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing