We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intercity Darmstadt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
IntercityHotel Darmstadt
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Darmstadt
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Great, reasonably priced hotel. Rooms are modern, clean and well appointed. Attentive staff, good breakfast. Stayed here twice.Next to the train station it has several restaurants within five minutes walk.

Room Tip: Ask for the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Go_Blues2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012

The hotel is a truly bran new building, you can smell it! The room is quite small but clean and comfortable. The bathroom is very tiny, with just two towel, no amenities and no fan.
There is no complimentary internet connection, no international tv channel but 2 english and 2 russian channels.
Therefore the daily price does not include any breakfast, parking fee or any complimentary service, that make this hotel NOT a business hotel, except for the daily rate.

Room Tip: Make sure to chose a city view room, the railway room are quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barbara235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I stayed there for just one night. The room was clean, linen white, decent towels in the bathroom. The bathroom was very small - just a tiny washbasin, toilet and a shower. OK for a short stay. The room was also small, but with a seif, which is not very common in rooms these days. Hairdresser available but it's a standard, I guess. LCD TV, small fridge, internet for which you need to pay extra (cannot remember the price). The big plus is the location- just next to the railway station. My room was overlooking the railway station but it was quiet inside with windows closed. The city centre is approx 2-3km away so bear in mind you need to walk to get to the park or the shopping centre. I had no breakfast so I cannot comment on that. Decent hotel for a decent price (55EUR)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franeczka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Despite doing business in Frankfurt, I chose to stay at this hotel because all the hotels in Frankfurt were either full or extremely overpriced (there was a car convention in town). Darmstadt is only 20 mins by car or by train from Frankfurt so it is a good place to know about if you cannot get into a Frankfurt hotel.

The hotel itself is located perfectly for train services as it is right at the main train station. It is a brand new build and the furnishings in the hotel are nice. When I checked in, I was on my way to my room within a matter of minutes and the staff at the front desk were very chatty and pleasant. Do they really care if you have had a good journey to Darmstadt? Probably not, but they make you feel welcome which is lovely.

My room was on the 1st floor (if you are in North America, that means the 2nd) and overlooked the car park. No great views there but I arrived when it was dark so it wasn’t as if I would be peering out of the window anyway. The room was ok, not overly spacious, but typically German in the sense that it was functional. What I didn’t appreciate was the fact that the hotel chain seems to err on the side of thrift when offering its guests what they need. What do I mean by that? Well, there was only one pillow on the bed and no further ones in the closet. Only one single duvet for a double bed and again not further blankets in the closet. Only one bath towel and one hand towel in the bathroom, again no further towls were to be found in the room. The soap and shampoo were in those awful dispenser bottles which may as well have “industrial-strength” or “cheap” written on them for that is the impression you get from them. There was no individual items at all really. No body lotion, no face cloth, no sign saying that if you had forgotten any toiletry item such as a toothbrush or razor that reception would be there to help you out. In fact, the only sign in the bathroom is of the emotional blackmail kind asking you to hang your towel back up when you are finished so that we can save the environment from huge laundry bills. Well, at €150 a night when I stayed there, I felt as if I had been short-changed.

The TV was of the flat plasma kind and the wireless internet (charge €14.50 for 24 hours) was fast (the hotel uses MyCloud as the provider). The bed was not the most comfortable and the bed linens did not feel like cotton to me. I am guessing that theirs is a blend of polyester and cotton. Despite that, I slept reasonably well and managed to have a hot shower to wake me up and get me on my way the next day.

I chose not to have breakfast as I opted for another 30 minutes in bed, so I cannot comment on their service.

The question I always ask is whether I would ever return to Darmstadt to stay there. The answer is probably not. If I did, would I opt for the Intercity Hotel? Perhaps not. While the build is new and looks nice and while the staff are full of smiles and “may I help you?”, the room itself was just not worth the money I paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ascottowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertus d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank Eventnixxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank adoniix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darmstadt hotels
0.2 mi away
Maritim Hotel Darmstadt
Maritim Hotel Darmstadt
#5 of 34 in Darmstadt
264 reviews
1.1 mi away
Welcome Hotel Darmstadt
Welcome Hotel Darmstadt
#1 of 34 in Darmstadt
383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Darmstadt City
Ibis Darmstadt City
#6 of 34 in Darmstadt
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
H+ Hotel Darmstadt
H+ Hotel Darmstadt
#3 of 34 in Darmstadt
69 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Darmstadt City
Ibis Budget Darmstadt City
#9 of 34 in Darmstadt
353 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Darmstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IntercityHotel Darmstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IntercityHotel Darmstadt

Address: Poststr. 12, 64293 Darmstadt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Darmstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Darmstadt
Price Range: £56 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — IntercityHotel Darmstadt 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the InterCityHotel Darmstadt located at the main station and immediately adjacent to the city centre. Its favourable location in the centre of the Rhine-Main area and at the edge of the Bergstrasse (the Mountain Road) makes Darmstadt an attractive destination for every traveller. All of the sights of interest in Darmstadt, the exhibition and congress centre, can be reached easily by bus. You might like to seize the occasion and make use of the FreeCityTicket included in the price of your room. We provide you with it for the complete duration of your stay at our hotel in Darmstadt. Our guests will find 140 spacious airy rooms of the latest InterCityHotel generation, and 4 conference rooms equipped with state-of-the-art technology combined with the attentive service in our appealing conference hotel in Darmstadt. For all InterCityHotels concerned the usage of the WLAN is free of charge up to 256 KB/s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your IntercityHotel Darmstadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing