We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in my opinion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Welcome Hotel Darmstadt
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Darmstadt
Certificate of Excellence
Spain
Level Contributor
328 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Good value in my opinion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Check in was a little slow and when i went to my room i found that it was opposite the lift which is usually noisy so i asked for an alternative. For the category of room they only had ones near lifts or a room for the disabled, so i took that, it was far from the lift and very spacious, i didn't mind the additional hand rails. I got a good quiet nights sleep. It's a pity they charge so much for breakfast so i didn't take it. No tea or coffee making facilities were provided in the room but there was some complimentary water. I paid 93 euro and i think that was worth it but wouldn't really want to pay much more for what i got...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raniSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    188
    35
    10
    1
See reviews for
19
33
22
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Very nice room, convenient bathroom, comfortable bed.
Nice breakfast, good location (tramway close)

Just few minor points to review:
- very small fitness room, without A/C (and noisy where your room is closer at the 4th floor).
- wifi non include, just a pity....

Room Tip: Avoid the room close to the fitness room (4th floor) Even the room at the first floor are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Great room, very clean and modern. I really like the bathroom/shower arrangement. Gym has an exercise bike and a treadmill as well as some kind of spa situation. Breakfast is really good. Bedding is weird, I bring my own sheets. You can walk to just about anything there is to do in Darmstadt. The only downside is the relatively high cost and sometimes poor availability.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a window with a view to the square, I have been in 6 different rooms and haven't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank i r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

The rooms were OK. Bedding wasn't very comfortable.
Room cleaning was poor.
Laundry service was substandard.
Breakfast was actually very good.
The "Wellness Centre" was abysmal. I actually tried to find a gym in the city instead.
Location was quite central and next to the University.
Staff and service was good.
Restaurant/bar was nice too.

This hotel claims to be of 4 star standard. It certainly wasn't.
If they claimed to be 3 star then I would say it was about on par, however as they don't, I was disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanTrewick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

I spent a week several times in this hotel and I was always looking forward to it ! Modern, but cozy rooms, wonderful breakfasts. In this hotel you will feel like at home ! The restaurant is really good with standard price as in the rest of city, so you don't have any need to go outside after the working day. Recommended !

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomas_K_CZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
329 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The rooms were good ie reasonable size, bathroom and ammenities very clean. It is very close to the main town which has planty of shops and restaurants. The bar and restarant served reasonable food at ok prices although drinks are cheaper in the town. The gym is very small, only one tread and no wieghts.The lifts are very slow but the stairs are easy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Welcome Hotel in Darmstadt is a good quality business hotel very near the university, the conference centre and just outside the pedestrian zone and all the shops. I stayed 3 nights as part of a conference and was pleased in nearly all respects. I would not describe this as a grand hotel but it has many elements that make it a top place to stay in Darmstadt. It is not possible to be closer to the conference centre which is a huge advantage when there are breaks in the action. The rooms are well appointed, the breakfast is diverse and the quality of the food is very good. My only complaint is that the "free" internet is remarkably slow for 2013. I did not think it was possible to have such slow connections every time you click now that dial up is not longer available. It is possible to pay a modest fee for higher speed internet and the prices are very reasonable compared to many chain hotels but I just think a bit of an upgrade in speed would make it easier to book airline tickets, go online to deal with email and so on. It is just borderline acceptable and sometimes it falls below the line.
I do have to congratulate the staff at the front desk. I had an issue with my rental car return and one of the people helped a great deal as the person they called could not speak English. He went out of his way to do a great job resolving my question. They also provided a sewing kit and bandages so they have a good store of helpful supplies at the front desk. Overall very high marks for the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChemProf9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darmstadt hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Darmstadt
1.1 mi away
Maritim Konferenzhotel Darmstadt
1.0 mi away
H+ Hotel Darmstadt
H+ Hotel Darmstadt
#6 of 34 in Darmstadt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Jagdschloss Kranichstein
1.1 mi away
InterCityHotel Darmstadt
InterCityHotel Darmstadt
#7 of 34 in Darmstadt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Darmstadt City
Ibis Darmstadt City
#5 of 34 in Darmstadt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Hotel Darmstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Hotel Darmstadt

Property: Welcome Hotel Darmstadt
Address: Karolinenplatz 4, 64289 Darmstadt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Darmstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Darmstadt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Welcome Hotel Darmstadt 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellently situated in the heart of the city immediately adjacent to the darmstadtium Science and Congress Centre, the Welcome Hotel Darmstadt provides the perfect setting for events and conferences. Fully equipped with modern 4-star amenities the hotel's 208 rooms are divided into 6 categories and offer a total of 400 beds. The Herrngarten restaurant and patio and the Moller bistro provide guests with a wide range of cuisine. There is no better way to round off a long day than by relaxing in the 130 m² of the in-house wellness centre. The hotel's central location on Karolinenplatz makes it equally easy to visit the sights of the city and to get out and about to explore the beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Welcome Hotel Darmstadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing