We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Welcome Hotel Darmstadt
Nearby Hotels
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$83
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$205
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$177
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pallas-Hotel(Darmstadt)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveller rating
126
209
40
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
209
40
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusiness hotelconference centerbusiness tripbar bistrofresh orange juicegreat breakfast buffetgerman hotelshotel is centrally locatedreasonable sizenice barbottle of waternice roomvery nice hotelrooms are comfortablethe air conditioningon footfrankfurt airport
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 387 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is a good option for a short stay. The location is approximately 20 mins from Frankfurt airport by car and situated in the middle of Darmstadt.

The hotel seems to be a very busy spot - there were queues to check in and check out. Mostly business guests staying for one or two nights.

The rooms are adequate - a little on the small side and contain single beds, but very clean, quiet and functional. The bathrooms are also small but again, spotlessly clean and well maintained. Rooms have free wifi.

There is a restaurant and a bistro attached to the hotel. I ate in the restaurant - decent food and reasonably priced. The staff were attentive.

There is a fitness centre also although I didnt partake on this trip.

Overall, the hotel is a good choice if you are planning a short visit and just need a comfortable place to sleep. I would not choose the hotel for anything other than a business stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing out to the front of the hotel - my room was at the back and looked out onto a brick wall. But there are nice views of the town at the front.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynseyg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stay at this hotel a few times each year. It is always clean and modern. The room sizes are average for Germany and similar to the Maritim Hotels down the road. The parking garage really makes you want to drive, as every time I've stayed there, there are plenty of spots. There is a fee for parking though. The garage is simple to get into and out of, and the roads are a bit crowded, but always moving.

The hotel is right across the street from the Darmstadt Castle and connected to a great running park. I like to keep the windows open, but being so close to the Technical University and having a nice sidewalk to hang out on can mean that it gets noisy at times.

The city center is about a 10 minute walk with a ton of shopping a food choices. Be careful, most businesses are closed on Sunday.

Also, it can be tough to get a room at this hotel, so book this on early.

The food at the hotel is usually very good. However, I've ordered the same food day after day and have gotten different portions and ingredients - e.g. one day a large salad and another day it is very small.

Staff is always very nice.

Getting a taxi can be tough, depending on the time of day - there are quite a few in the morning for the business folks, but in the afternoon, you need to ask the front desk.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed at the Welcome hotel during the week of May 19, 2014 as my partner was visiting the nearby Technische Universitaet. The room was nice and clean, but there was a very funny smell coming from the bathroom, mostly in the morning (as if someone had been smoking). The staff was very friendly and efficient. The breakfast buffet was good and extensive - I especially enjoyed the great selection of Mueslis. The one big issue which should not have been one in a business hotel was the internet. First of all, I find it very unusual that you have to pay for your internet access; as a business hotel, I think th access should be included in your room rate! But when you have to pay, the hotel has to ensure that it works which was not the case for us. On many occasions (especially later in the evening when obviously more people were connected) the connection was super-slow and broke down on various times. Not so nice if you are in the middle of writing business drafts and emails. One morning, we did not have any access at all. We spoke to the reception which was very friendly and tried to help but they could not figure out the source of the problem. In the end, they credited us the fees, but still I think this should not happen in a business hotel in modern Germany.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettinaNguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Excellent hotel located on a beautiful square in Darmstadt. Nice pub, huge screen for those football (soccer as they call it in the USA), good beer. Breakfast buffet is excellent, wonderful large clean rooms. Service was great. Only slight downside was that they need a few more people at check-out in the morning (had to wait a while as everyone was checking out at the same time for the start of the business day).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaMS_1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Nice welcome and good service.
In the city and beside a little park.
Food could be better, but as OK as in other business hotels.
Pub with small dished and nice beer, perfect to sit outside.
I used to stay there for my business trips.

Room Tip: Sometime you will have activities at the plaza area. Askfor quite room and you will stay at the park side.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitekarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews