We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pork knuckle and german fried potatoes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ratskeller

Ratskeller
Ranked #7 of 368 Restaurants in Darmstadt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$22
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pork knuckle and german fried potatoes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Authentic experience. Eat on the square in summer or inside for better service. Upstairs usually has a salad bar, which is just about the only way you are going to get any green in this place. The food and beer are awesome.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank i r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    111
    45
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“German perfect experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Bratwurst, wienershnizel, pretzel, spätzle and of course good beer you can find all in this typical german restaurant. The best thing is that brat, pretzel and spatzle were the best i ever eaten in Germany therefore this is the perfect place to try local specialties

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Braccialetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vada, Italy
Level Contributor
73 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wiener Schnitzel in Markplatz”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

This pub is placed in Marktplatz, where you can feel the atmosphere of a German town, with glasses of beers, typical buildings, and people walking around. I took some potato soup and a Wiener schnitzel. The food is not that bad, and it is nice to sit there in a pleasant June evening, but there is nothing special to remember about the meals. I'd say a regular place, as you find many in this area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Giacomo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“I really liked this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

This is truly a place with gemutlichkeit! The bar is certainly boisterous, but the restaurant part is calm. Lots of outdoor seating on the marketplace. Traditional German food, but some items have a slight culinary twist. Some excellent vegetarian options, like sliced dumplings in a delicious mushroom sauce. Salad bar available as well. The spaetzle is definitely homemade! I would go back in a second!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaytraveller982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potenza, Italy
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Excellent Beer, average food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

I had a dinner a this historical brewery and restaurant of Darmstadt. The building is nice, the rooms comfortable and the atmosphere as well.

I had twice an excellent weiss beer.
The brewery has outdoor seating where you can enjoy probably the best beer in Darmstadt.
For dinner I had a soup and a lamb dish.
I enjoyed the soup but not completely the lamb. The lamb was served with a too much complex sauce. My stomach didn't appreciate it! Probably I did a wrong choice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Guido M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ratskeller also viewed

 
Darmstadt, Hesse
Darmstadt, Hesse
 

Been to Ratskeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing