We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great price, great authentic Vietnamese savors”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Quan Van

Quan Van
Ranked #537 of 2,454 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Innenstadt
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
290 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Great price, great authentic Vietnamese savors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Pleasant restaurant with what seemed to be a nice terrace in summer time. Off the plane from Geneva, I guess the price is bound to 'great'- but 20Euros for dinner (no wine or beer) seems fair to me.

Like most good Vietnamese meals I've had around the world the food at Quan Van was fresh, unpretentious and full of flavor. The ladies are in the front managing the customers and the men are in the kitchen- and on the Tuesday night I dropped by the restaurant was 90% full.. With no German I got by without issue with my English. Menu seems quite extensive (perhaps a bit too ambitious?). The decor could do with some sprucing up but the bathrooms were impeccable.

My mango salad and roasted duck were excellent, though I the steamed rice could have been just a little less soft.

That said, I fully enjoyed my meal and the smiling service. Easy to recommend for those who love Vietnamese cuisine or those who would like to discover it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeDude13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    16
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wine and Vietnamese Degustation - must try”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Once a year of so, the owners of Quan Van team up with Jacques Wein Depot and do a degustation menu mainly to pair up a wine with each course of the Vietnamese menu.
Usually one does not associate wine with Asian food as the food itself is either too delicate or too spiced. I've been to one of these degustations over 3 years ago and this time got another chance to try it.
For around 54 Euro inclusive of mineral water, it is not cheap, but at 5 course meal with 6 drinks - it is good value for money.
Started with a Gruess from the kitchen - a very crunchy noodle wrapped prawn with a Venetian Chardonnay Spumante. I'm usually not a fizzy wine drinker - but this with the prawn was excellent.
Followed by a spicy rice noodle soup with a strong sherry Manzanilla. That was an interesting combination with a strong tasting soup and equally strong sherry both balancing each other very nicely.
The salad was very typically vietnamese herby and went well with the Bonfile 2010 Chardonnay chosen. The Chardonnay itself was quite bland but once drunk with the salad it took on a whole new taste palate.
The braised dorade with the Languedoc Alain Maurel Rose was slightly disappointing. The Rose I've had once with Vietnamese food and is as usual excellent. On it's own, this Rose never impresses, but mix it with Asian food and it tells a whole new story. The Dorade in this dish was a bit overwhelmed by the sauce it was in.
This was followed by the renowned Duck in 2 sauces with a robust Shiraz which matched perfectly the delicate sauces without overwhelming it.
The meal ended with a banana pudding with sago (also food-wise a bit disappointing, too gloopy and unripe bananas) but the Vieux Marc de Bourgogne made up for it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PickyMonkeyYK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't miss the DUCK!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We went a little out of our way to this fab vietnamese place based on reviews and we were not disappointed! The duck was OUT of this world - crispy skin, wonderful tender juicy duck meat on top of veggies. The curry was perfect, not as hot as I expected but flavor was great. The spring rolls were fresh and authentic. Prices were incredibly reasonable. And you can't beat the fried bananas and ice cream for dessert!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marnietravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miesau, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hours of operation?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

I've been dying for a bowl of pho. Read the reviews from this site and decided to drive 90 minutes to Frankfurt and give this place a try. Arrived there around 1 pm. It was closed. I wished someone posted up the hours of operation.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oberursel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“super”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Delicious Vietnamese food. The service is a little slow, but very friendly. The starters and soups in particular are delicious. The menu range is a little limited but this is made up for by the quality. A good idea to make a reservation over the weekend. Good luck with trying to find a parking space in this area.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdoberursel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quan Van also viewed

Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 
Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Quan Van? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing