We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to the train station”
Review of Pension Alpha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pension Alpha
Ranked #15 of 38 Frankfurt B&B and Inns
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very close to the train station”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night, checking in at 3 am after a long drive and just needing to crash. The room was on the 5th floor. Not a huge room but enough for what we needed. Most of the outlets didnt work in the room. The furnishings, linens and towels need updating but not bad. Despite the area, it was quiet. The hotel is located to the side of the train station, not in front where the area is a bit unsafe (Bahnhosveirtel). For a short stay, not bad.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    85
    71
    18
    33
See reviews for
26
39
48
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Dear,
I am not recommending this hotel. The owners are cheating. I was booking the room with bathroom 3 months ago. I had the confirmation on the reservation and price on the room. When I come the guy in reception told me that the booking was canceled (I had not any information) and can give me room with out bathroom and I have to pay 20e per night extra. It is scandal and theft. In bathroom is smell fusty/ fungus. When I went out from hotel I afraid leave my stuff in room. Never in this hotel – terrible!!!

Room Tip: I am not recommending this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Frankfurt hotels

Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Pension Alpha is one of the cheapest good options in Frankfurt. location is OK, not far from the main station and the subway.
There are two buildings with rooms. I had a siingle room that felt like a small appartment under the roof. It's central, clean and comfortable, in other words, good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMetalTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
647 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Neat and clean hotel located in the immediate vicinity of the railway station, which is very convenient for travelers. The hotel is simple, but the price / quality ratio is very good. The room is equipped with everything necessary. Shower and toilet are in the room. Clean linen and towels were provided. Comfortable bed. There is a lift in the hotel and although my room was on the first floor, it`s still very convenient.
Breakfast was quite decent. Without any frills, but enough to refresh yourself before starting a busy day.
My overall impression: I recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azad690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peresvet
Level 6 Contributor
790 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

It was the cheapest option in Frankfurt city center at time of booking so I did not expect much of the hotel. Nevertheless I was quite satisfied. For me it was a good value accommodation. Located close to the main railway station it provided easy access for the airport and for city center and its main sites. Hotel was clean. I had a private room with en suite wc and shower. As the night was cold room heating was very useful and my stay was comfortable. Buffet breakfast was included in the price and was quite sufficient and decent. Although reception area was very cramped, just a counter with receptionist, their staff was efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandr550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Stayed for one night after arriving in Frankfurt. Pros: Good location close to train station. Single room at attic level was fine. Very clean. Internet worked. Breakfast was nice. Cons: Staff not very friendly. Had to walk three long flights of stairs with luggage. No help from staff so dragged my bags up. But location is good so people keep coming. Room very sparsely decorated. Bathroom window has no curtain so easy for people to look in.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sazzbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I stayed in many of the Frankfurt main station area hotels and pensions but this is by far the worst. I know it's well located and it's one of the cheapest but if you try out some travel websites, you'll get a decent room for the same price - at least I did. Here, they do everything to make you feel uncomfortable, starting with the reception up to the bathrooms. I guess their main purpose is to cash in on the fair and exhibition guest who have to shell out 200 EUR for an average room in Frankfurt and Pension Alpha still does it at 140. And of course it's insecure as they never ask for your name when asking for the key (which is quite common for the lower end of hotels BTW). Better check Colour Hotel or Tourist, who often come for only five Euros more.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Hotel Excelsior
#62 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,511 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#32 of 269 in Frankfurt
256 reviews
Innenstadt
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
#48 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Europa Style
#40 of 269 in Frankfurt
315 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#55 of 269 in Frankfurt
577 reviews
Hotel Adler
#2 of 38 in Frankfurt
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Alpha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Alpha

Property: Pension Alpha
Address: Karlsruher Str. 7, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Alpha 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pension Alpha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Alpha Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing