We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near the Hauptbanhof and the Main; easy to recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Five Elements Hostel Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is definitely one of the most conveniently located hostels I've ever found in Europe; heading straight from the Hauptbanhof main entrance you can get there by foot in a few minutes. You aren't lost if you see a lot of brothels and strip clubs- the hostel is indeed in the midst of Frankfurt's tenacious red light district. You may (especially after dark) have to forge your way through gaggles of tenacious hucksters, but that is hardly enough of a problem to make Five Elements not worth your while.

The staff were very sporting about accommodating multiple last-minute schedule changes, and I ended up with a pretty good setup in one of their 6 bed dorms. The rooms and communal showers are well maintained and clean, and you have more than enough at your disposal in the hostel's facilities to make the 20-30 Euro price more than worth it. Collocated in the basement is a small but well-equipped kitchen and a reliable washer/dryer setup. The soap is provided in a separate box, so you can hand wash individual garments for free if you don't have enough to want to was as a full load.

They have staff on hand to lead guests on the occasional walking tour, and the hostel rents bikes hourly or daily; I got a bike for the day for about 10 Euros, and wit their proximity to the bridge it's a good place from which to explore the city without being consigned to the U-bahn the whole time.

Finally, the ground-level lounge is big and laid out with large tables to facilitate socialization. To further this end they have a well manned bar and nightly happy-hour deals on cocktails. Throughout the week they offer free pasta and cheap grill food, and their pub crawl to the south side of the river takes you to some good, surprisingly inexpensive places. There's enough space to accommodate a nihilistic descent into ethanol-fueled LCD solipsism, too, if such is to your liking. But nobody needs much help with that these days.

Ideal location (for some more than others, certainly...), great services and reasonable mid-range prices make this an easy place to recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
There are newer reviews for Five Elements Hostel Frankfurt
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

This hostel is top-notch. The atmosphere is fun and friendly, and definitely a five-star type of place. They center everything around the traveler, there's good barbeque food in their backyard at extremely affordable prices, internet to use, a nice common area, and awesome walking tours of the city offered for free. It really is everything you'd want in a hostel.

Yes, it's in the red light district. No, that's not a bad thing. It is not "creepy" as one reviewer stated, and it certainly isn't dangerous. The hostel has good security and the nice thing about being in the red light district is that the area is busy at night. A red light district is sexual, not gang related. It's a very safe part of Frankfurt, and a fantastic location for the hostel. It is also within walking distance of the central train station.

This is a modern hostel, it's very clean, and well-designed. I would have no concerns whatsoever about staying here again, and the friendly (though slightly eccentric) staff are there to help make your time in Frankfurt awesome.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllieKittie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Five Elements is a great hostel in Frankfurt near the main train station and convenient to many attractions. Clean efficient and helpful describes this top shelf hostel. They deliver clean room helpful staff and lots of added features. Book early to be sure you can get in. Stayed here in Oct 2011 and will definitely stay there again next trip but the system does not allow me to manually put it in.

Room Tip: While the neighbor hood may look a bit off this place is secure and worth it.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morningstar1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

The area is quite creepy for me (didn't know the hostel was in the middle of the red-light district)! But that's the only bad thing I can say about this hostel. The building is well managed, staff very friendly and helpful. Got lost riding the wrong bus and the guy at the reception was truly helpful helping me find my way back! Would surely go back!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank emonster_onthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This hostel is close to the main train station, not far from the river but is surrounded by strip clubs and casinos resulting in a few suspicious characters lurking about. That said, the hostel is guarded at night and has tight security. The staff are friendly and helpful. The hostel has good facilities, clean and comfortable. Reliable wifi in the whole building, DVD hire, free breakfast and much more. Good value for money.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I stayed at five elements for 2 nights. When I booked the hostel, I wasn't aware that the hostel is in the middle of red light distinct. I got a bit of a shock trying to look for the hostel when I first arrived to Frankfurt at around 8pm. I didn't feel safe in the surrounding area , there were drunk or drug dealer people or girls in their bras walking around on that street.

The hostel itself is not bad. The hostel lobby/ bar is very cosy and I was able to make friends very easily. Since I didn't feel safe to walk out of the hostel at night, I just hanged out and drank at the bar and met some awesome friends there.

The room is pretty average and the bathroom/ toilet is shared between about 10 rooms. Bad ventilation in the bathroom and toilet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

As a few people have pointed out, this is a good value, although the location has its ups and downs. The good part about the location is that it's really close from the Hauptbahnhof. It took us about 5 minutes walking, and that's excellent. The bad part is it's in Porntown, so there are sketchy-looking people. But mainly just sketchy-LOOKING, as we never felt unsafe. The area does indeed have sex, homeless people, and drugs, but it kind of keeps to itself. Except for the noise. One night we stayed was a Thursday. We had a street-side room and it was hot, so we had to keep the window open. Losers were shouting, talking, driving, etc all night. Fortunately they have ear plugs in the lobby for 20 cents. Use them. Or get a room facing the inner courtyard.

We also stayed in the seventh floor for a few nights. The rooms there are definitely nice, although there are shared bathrooms and a shared kitchen. I'd try to get an inner-court room on the 7th floor if I were to stay there again.

Breakfast is good and included, which is great. There are also other activities that are often free; for example, one night they were making free crepes in the lounge area.

We definitely liked the hotel despite its flaws, which are more the neighborhood's flaws, and not the hotel's.

Room Tip: Avoid street-side rooms if it's hot enough to warrant keeping windows open. If it's cold, th...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CostaRicaOutsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Hotel Excelsior
#64 of 270 in Frankfurt
1,526 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#7 of 270 in Frankfurt
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#10 of 270 in Frankfurt
736 reviews
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Innenstadt
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#18 of 270 in Frankfurt
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Elements Hostel Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Elements Hostel Frankfurt

Address: Moselstr. 40, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Bahnhofsviertel , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Frankfurt
Price Range: £18 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Five Elements Hostel Frankfurt 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Isn't it strange? Germany's biggest international airport, lots of interesting destinations on the doorstep, but hard to find a bed for a backpacker? From summer 2008 on these times are over! Then, the Five Elements Hostel will open its doors to the public. In a beautiful turn of the century building right in the center of Frankfurt, we created a quality hostel, from scratch, stylish and brand new. The Five Elements Hostel is wholly dedicated to you, the traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Five Elements Hostel Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Five Elements Hostel Frankfurt Hotel Frankfurt
5 Elements Hostel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing