We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Designed for and by a depressive single man, not practical at all”
Review of Roomers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Roomers
Ranked #13 of 271 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 December 2010

I'm staying here right now and am so disappointed. I'm not sure what reason there might be for a toilet not to be private but this one has a see through glass door, and perhaps due to the lack of separation there is a bad sewer smell in the rest of the room. The shower also has a totally transparent glass door, and the sink area is inside the room. The room itself is extremely dark, perhaps for 'mood', but the result is depressing and impractical, especially in December. At midday I have all the lights on and it is still too dark in here. There is one mirror which itself appears to be tinted, which tells me a woman had no part in designing this - no good for any kind of make up application, or indeed shaving. The towels are hard and not good at actually drying, and I only have one bath, one hand towel. There is also only one pillow in the king size bed.I can not comment on cleanliness of the hotel as it is too dark to tell. The toilet itself is also unusually large, perhaps designed for bigger men - I have never noticed something like this before, but it was the most uncomfortable I have ever sat on! I would recommend this hotel to overweight single men who don't expect company, enjoy dark depressing rooms, and don't mind smelling the toilet while in bed.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelchikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCASWIN, Manager at Roomers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2010

Dear michaelchikan,

Thank you for the time you have invested in writing your comments about us, it is very much appreciated. I am sorry to hear that our room design did not meet your expectations at all. Contrary to your assumption, the hotel design was single-handedly executed by a renowned female interior designer. Our rooms were envisioned to be private spheres with open spaces, which in the case of your room, privacy could be further attained through separating the bedroom and the bathroom with a sliding door. And indeed, our design colour concept is mainly dominated by dark colours (black, mauve) - which is of course subjective to each person's taste - was intended to give our guests and locals alike visiting our hotel a mixture of feelings where cosiness, sensuality and discretion are juxtaposed. As a contrast, our service style and the ambience in our public spaces and frequently-visited restaurant and bar are in general very lively, interactive and fun, for which many of our guests and clients have appreciated - to be themselves and feel very much "at home" at the Roomers.

Regarding your comments about the fact that your room was only supplied with 1 towel/hand towel, 1 pillow and 1 duvet, it is our standard (which also applies to many hotels in Germany), whereby if the room was booked for a single use, the room would be prepared for 1 person. Of course, should a guest require further room or bath amenities, we would be pleased to accommodate the request and supply with the necessaries.

I am sincerely hoping that the rest of your stay was not too much overshadowed by your dissatisfaction with our room design and functionality, since you did not comment on our other facilities and service.

With kind regards,

James Aswin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (931)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 931 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2010

You may like or mot the fashionable (for how long?) design of this relatively new hotel. courtesy, friendliness and attention never go out of fashion. I experienced at the Romers the same welcome as in palaces in a much more relaxed and enjoyable way. I'll definitively return. The hotel also offers a nice bar as well...so long your room isn't hyst above it!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pprhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCASWIN, Manager at Roomers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2010

Dear pprhh,

Thanks so much for your great comments and for the time you have taken to write about us. It is indeed our highest priority to ensure the ultimate guest satisfaction, and I am pleased that we were able to convey that feeling to you during your stay at the Roomers. We can assure you that although according to you certain designs may not always be everlasting, our commitment to providing our guests with the best will be! : )

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Roomers, and maybe we can eventually meet in person!

Best regards and wishing you a lovely Christmas!

James Aswin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

The worst hotel to stay we were advised that the hotel was 5 star we found at to be 3 star even when you write to them advising them all the disasters the hotel did not even reply.
Out of six weeks through 3 countries this hotel was the only we found to be of the low standard.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Les255073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Entering this hotel feels divine!
The friendlyness of staff during check in was amazing! We even got offered a splendid glass of rosé champagne. We had a late dunner in their restaurant, got an excellent service and a great dinner! Rooms are indeed quite dark, but this is their house
The breakfast was very complete and well organised. Check out their terrace, amazing!
I would recommend this hotel to all business and leisure travellers staying in Frankfurt!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svalkenborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSROOMERS, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Roomers, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2010

Dear svalkenborg,

Thank you for the fantastic feedback.
This is pure motivation for us. We glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you again as guests in house. Get in contact with me next time maybe we can meet in person.

Have a lovely weekend, send some greets from ROOMERS,

Pamela Hock
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

This hotel has everything: great service, chic design, nice size rooms, awesome shower and bed, cool bar.....and best of all, the breakfast. In total 15 meters of tables with an incredible selection. It can compare to five star asian hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thorhansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Very much enjoyed this hotel.
It is very trendy and absolutely everything is black, including the soap.

It is really designed as a romantic destination hotel.
Alot of thought and effort has been put in to making this hotel different from the norm and it has worked.

Food was excellent, staff all very friendly and helpful, a really nice experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HERSHAMBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Normally I wouldn't give 2 cents about a hotel being chic or "cool", and usually opt for traditional elegance. But Roomers delivered great comfort and service with a trendy, unpretentious vibe. yes, it's different, but very well thought out. The room wasn't large by even German standards but it was super clean, quiet, and well designed. We WERE only there for a night though, and it possibly would get tiresome during a longer stay. But for value, quality, and a welcome break from traditional styling, we'll go back!

Beds were very comfortable. Bar was excellent and the staff throughout competent and trendy (not to mention attractive and stylish). We (I) left our camera in the room after checkout and they quickly contacted us to arrange shipping to us back in the US.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aldo_Nola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Altstadt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Innenstadt
Jumeirah Frankfurt
Jumeirah Frankfurt
#5 of 271 in Frankfurt
1,277 reviews
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Villa Kennedy
Villa Kennedy
#2 of 271 in Frankfurt
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
#22 of 271 in Frankfurt
1,410 reviews
Innenstadt
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof
#3 of 271 in Frankfurt
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roomers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roomers

Address: Gutleutstr. 85, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Frankfurt
#6 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#7 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#11 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#11 Green Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: £77 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Roomers 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary Roomers, where the perception of sensuality is redefined in this Member of Design Hotels™. A place where fantasy soars and the creativity of its guests is perpetually stimulated. Clear lines, structured forms and atmospheric lighting enhance every stay to become an unforgettable experience. The epiphany of burlesque elegance amidst the pulsating life of Frankfurt metropolis – created against all the ordinary standards and tiresome so-called comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roomers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roomers Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing