We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Delight”
Review of Chalet 18

Chalet 18
Ranked #125 of 2,473 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$110
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We serve a menu changing on a regular basis to bring out the unique attraction of each season. Our kitchen style is based on French cooking techniques and inspired by Asian cuisine. The small selection of dishes allows us to focus on the essential in quality of produce and preparation. Every dish is prepared with much love and selected ingredients. You will get the best impression by ordering our menu, but you also have the choice of ordering à la carte or add dishes to the menu. The utilisation of animal products is one of the keystones of our kitchen. They appear in almost every dish and provide us with a unique variety of aromas we do not want to disclaim. Of course vegetarian alternatives are available, but we do not offer vegan dishes. We gladly try to be considerate of light allergies or intolerances.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“True Delight”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful find! Cozy and comfortable space, top notch service and incredible food.

Our party was four and from start to finish was amazing! It's not a large space but it is a large find in a city with much to offer!

Helpful?
Thank Trent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    11
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Really good”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The venue is not large and if you want space, this may be the wrong spot for you. If you want seriously good food with attentive service in a cosy quiet atmosphere then this is one to try.
The worst thing that could happen to this spot is that more people find it.
You won't tend to find tourists in here as it is off the tourist trail.
I thought the food was outstanding and loved my dining experience here. I cannot wait to go back,

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FuntimeFreddy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere - Good Food”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had a pleasant meal with friends here. The atmosphere is cozy, and the food is pretty good. The prices are pretty high, so every shortcoming gets attention. The service was just a touch too timid/reserved for my taste. The timing of the service was perfect. We sat there over three hours and never felt rushed. The amuses gueles (2) were tasty. The snails were served in a really nice herbal sauce, but they were too small. (Either serve more small snails or bigger ones.) The ceasar's salad was good. The liver pâté was OK. The scallops were served perfectly, and five scallops made a fair portion. The asian Julienne vegetables were quite good. The beef -- steak frites -- was nicely-marbeled and perfectly cooked. The frites were good but not plentiful. The rabbit was relatively nondescript and the portion, too small. The pear tarte was served straight out of the fridge, not allowing the full flavors to come out, and the portion was quite small. The crème brûlée was more of a flan -- not enough cream. As for wine, might I suggest offering a broader range of varietals by the glass. The bottle prices are fair, and there are some interesting wines on the wine menu. The restaurant is run by a young husband-wife team, and I wish them all the best. They should concentrate on perfecting the dishes that they serve, improving the portion sizes just a bit, and not get discouraged by criticism. I certainly would go back to this restaurant, and it has its place in Frankfurt's culinary landscape. If you are visiting Frankfurt and want to get off the beaten trail a bit, this is a good tip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WandererFFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint ambiance, professional service, delicious cuisine”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We dined at this quaint bistro during a visit to Frankfurt in October of 2012. My traveling companion had been to this restaurant many times when it was under previous ownership, so it was a great opportunity for him to go back and re-visit an "old haunt". We knew the place had been sold to new, young owners so we weren't disappointed to discover that ownership had changed. Curbside, this restaurant is in a quaint neighborhood, with very limited parking, so if you are a visitor to Frankfurt, I recommend you walk there or take a taxi. Inside, the restaurant is warm and inviting, very cozy. We were very comfortable with our table for two by the window. One of the owners waited on the dining room. She was pleasant and very professional. The service was prompt and every attention to detail was looked after. The food was presented beautifully and had a delicious, fresh taste. If you are looking for a fine dining experience in a quaint, cozy venue with attentive service, I would highly recommend Chalet 18.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FUNNY146052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hessen
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Romantic little restaurant”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is a nice little restaurant. It is a great place to have romantic dinner and candle light. The food is good, prices are also okay.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Archie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chalet 18 also viewed

 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Chalet 18? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing