We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect delicious food in german style”
Review of Atschel

Atschel
Ranked #9 of 2,508 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Sachsenhausen-Nord
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Perfect delicious food in german style”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I saw many good reviews about this place ,so i decided to visit this restaurant during my business trip to Frankfurt.
It was monday , afternoon , so without problem i found free table.
I ordered pigs cheeks and beer.
Dish was very , very tasty , with smooth red wine sauce and
crispy spatzle.
As a drink i ordered traditional frankfurter apfelwine.
My next visit in Frankfurt will be have name Atschel!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Malanese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    414
    83
    26
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Schweinshaxe and schnitzel are GREAT!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Atschel is one of the restaurants that made us love German cuisine. The schweinshaxe (pork knuckle) and schnitzel were absolutely fantastic and we definitely want to go there again if we'll be in Frankfurt!

We went to Atschel for a late lunch on a weekday during our stay in Frankfurt based on the good reviews in Tripadvisor. We hadn't eaten any schweinshaxe in the previous six days of our first Germany trip, so we wanna find a good place to try the schweinshaxe - and we definitely made a good choice!

The schweinshaxe in Atschel was nicely roasted with a super crispy skin and soft meat. It was absolutely delicious and I finished the whole schweinshaxe! We tried schweinshaxe in another restaurant nearby afterwards and we could conclude that Atschel did serve a tastier schweinshaxe.

We also ordered the Frankfurter Schitzel mit Grüne Sauce and it was also fantastic. The schitzel was nicely fried and the highlight was the Frankfurt Green Sauce. This fresh green source made the fried dish less oily and tastier.

Atschel is on the other side of the Main River (cf. the Romans) but it's quite close to Eiserner Steg (<15 minutes by walk if you know the way) and it's easily reachable by tram (Textorstraße, Line 16 from Frankfurt Hbf). If you're visiting Frankfurt and wanna try good German food, you should definitely go for this.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank germainecsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere - German style”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Loved the place. It was my first time in Germany and Atschel made an impression.

It's a bustling, rowdy sort of place where beer-drinking German men laugh heartily and one can simply let loose and have a good time with friends. I loved that down-to-earth atmosphere of Atschel, and to top it off, they serve fantastic food and drinks!

I loved the trademark Frankfurter Schnitzel, as well as the unique apple wine served in the bembel. The schnapps were great too. Seems like there's hardly anything about the place I wasn't pleased about.

Highly recommended - go eat, drink and be merry with friends!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirls B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We went on a Friday night, which tends to be the busiest. We arrived around 18:30 hrs without a reservation and managed to grab a table to ourselves between the main part of the restaurant and the garden, most reservations are from 20:00 hrs so that is plenty of time. They serve the second best Haxe in Frankfurt in my opinion, fantastic value and very good Apfelwein. Well worth a visit, but if you want to take your time definitely book a table a few days before.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Porkstore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Local Experience”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The staff was welcoming from the very first hello! The food was authentic, and perfectly prepared. We especially appreciated the local flair, sharing with us how Frankfurters enjoy some of the more regional dishes. I was shocked at the very end to find out that the servers, realizing it was my birthday, invited us to share a shot of an amazing local drink. We will be excited to return next time we are in Germany, and would recommend this to anyone planning to be in the area!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atschel also viewed

 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Atschel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing