We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, clumsy service but with a genuine touch”
Review of Casa Nova

Casa Nova
Ranked #271 of 2,490 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$47
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Discover that there is more to Italian cuisine than the usual pizza and pasta dishes. Here in Casa Nova, you can take a seat in the cane chairs or in the bright conservatory, and enjoy delicious Italian cooking in a lively and friendly setting. Whilst most of the interior has been predominantly decorated in white, there are also a variety of Venetian masks looking down upon the guests from the walls. The daily menu determines what is on offer, with a great focus set on freshness. Fish straight from the sea can be found here, along with homemade pasta and desserts. Accompanying your dinner, there is also live entertainment, from music to comedy acts, providing all the necessary ingredients for an enjoyable evening.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice food, clumsy service but with a genuine touch”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

A bit ouside Sachsenhausen, with excellent parking. Nicely decorated but starting to become vintage or see it as traditional italian. At least to food tradition is a joy. Wines are nice. Ample of bottles of water but expensive.

All in all an upper tier Italian restaurant with good food and with friends a nice place to spend the evening.

Sitting outside is a bit crampy with an ugly flat in your back

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    50
    11
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Xanthi, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Food and Environment, Bad hospitality”
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

We had dinner last night at this italian restaurant, based on Trip advisor's high ranking and some beautiful photos. Indeed, it is a quite cosy, romantic place, creating a feel of warm atmosphere thanks to it's house like decoration. However, we arrived at 9:30, half an hour before kitchen closure, fact that explains ,but doesn't justify, the rush in which we were treated. There was an annoying hurry to order and then ,after we ate some well cooked spaghetti dishes, the waiter made circles around our heads like a fly willing for us to finish our wine! It was only 10:30 and the restaurant would close at midnight, so what was all that impatience for? And be aware, the restaurant isn't a cheap one.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nikos E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good italian food and excellent service!”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We've been in this restaurant twice during the trade show. Nicely decorated and spacey restaurant, commode arm chairs. It has a very practical location, not far from the center, accessible by train and by car with it's own parking for customers.

We had there an excellent sea-bass baked in salt, extremely fresh and very well presented. The waiter was very nice and helpful. When we didn't like the wine he advised us, he accepted to take it back and replaced by another one.

It's a good place to take your business partners to.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, service was rushed”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

My wife and I had a 2100 reservation because we were driving into Frankfurt late. Given that the restaurant was open until midnight, we thought we had plenty of time to take our time. The service felt very rushed from the very beginning. I asked for the wine list which was very extensive. I was having a tough time picking out a wine so when the waiter came over I asked what he would recommend. Without hesitation he recommended a wine that was on the page I was looking at. I wouldn't even call it a recommendation, it was more like "this one is good". We ordered our appetizers and entree at the same time of our wine. It didn't seem more than 10 minutes before we got our food. Now at the time, it didn't feel rushed but as soon as we were done, our entrees were out in front of us. The time now is 2130. We were one of a three tables in the restaurant. After we got our food, we felt like they were hovering around us, just waiting for us to get done so they could bring out dessert. Right on the money, as soon as we were done, they took our plates and literally rolled the dessert tray in front of us. I remember looking at my watch and it reading 2155, thinking to myself, it hasn't even been an hour. Needless to say, we took our time with the rest of the wine and basically told him we'd let him know when we were ready for our dessert. But even then, they were still hovering around our table waiting for us to signal them. The whole experience felt like I was back in the United States, which is not what I came for. Overall the food was great, but the service was rushed, which made our experience awful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kyle Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

A very friendly atmosphere, good comfortable surroundings, and great food. A genuine Italian feel with professional and attentive service. Some local dishes that change daily depending on what's in season.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Miles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Nova also viewed

 

Been to Casa Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing