We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option in Frankfurt”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frankfurt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Schmaerrnche Restaurant-Gaestehaus
Ranked #8 of 43 Frankfurt B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Years ago I lived in Bornheim and, when moving to Switzerland, stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights after our apartment had been packed up. I was back in April 2013 and had forgotten what a nice hotel and restaurant the Schmaerrnche is. I love Bornheim and the Berger Str., so always try to stay there when I'm in Frankfurt on business. I had dinner in the Hof (courtyard), which was very pleasant. The rooms are small, but clean, quiet and there is free internet. It's within walking distance of the Seckbacher Landstr. and Bornheim Mitte U-Bahn stations (Line U4), so you can easily get around on public transport. Lots of night life along the Berger Str. and the Ostpark is a 15 minute walk away. Very friendly staff. The breakfast left a bit to be desired - there were no 3-minute eggs available when I got down at 8:30 a.m. But otherwise it's a delightful place to find refuge from the hustle and bustle of downtown Frankfurt. I know I will be back.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are quiet. The entire area is pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

Had a pleasant stay there. Price reasonable. Free internet was a very nice touch. Friendly staff.
Although the hotel is located in the city, it has a very special and charming "village like" atmosphere. Definitely a good choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cabbagetowntoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Most citizens of Frankfurt would not know that the "Schmaernche" Restaurant--an institution with 140 years of tradition--also has a small three-star hotel associated with it, with 11 rooms in several half-timbered buildings. Tripadvisor did not even have one review posted regarding the hotel, so I want to spread the word.

We stayed at the "Schmaernche" in late October for four nights. The hotel is located on a small square in the heart of Bornheim, one of Frankfurt's most traditional neighborhoods, right opposite the St. Johannis church. While easily reachable with the U4 subway (10 minutes from the city's main railway station), the neighborhood has a village-like feel, with small houses, narrow streets and alleys, and cute neighborhood stores.

We had a nice corner room overlooking the square. It had everything what one usually needs at a hotel, except for a room safe. Beds were nice and firm, but pillows a bit flimsy. Breakfast in the well-known restaurant was good and plentiful, with members of the owner's family doing an excellent job in taking care of their guests. The hotel seemed fully booked when we were there, but everything was very quiet and relaxed. Room prices seemed a bit on the high side for Frankfurt (there is keen competition between the many three-star hotels), but breakfast was cheap (€5 per person) and Wifi was free and fast.

We would recommend the hotel if you are looking for a different hotel experience in a part of Frankfurt that has retained its rural character.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SGECHAMPION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

This is really a strange hotel: in the middle of the Frankfurt high rises, you all of a sudden stumble into a collection of houses and additions in which quite a number of rooms are available. The place is clearly family run, and these people are all very friendly. The reception is located inside the bar/restaurant that looks like a real German 'Kneipe': you know what I mean; dark wood, rustique interior, Bayerisch stuff...
The room I had was small and very, very basic: a single person bed, a small desk with a chair and a small bathroom. But everything was clean, and I had a really good night rest.
The hotel parking is 'scattered' between the different buildings that belong to the hotel, and it really needs quite some driving skills to get your car parked. But anyway, there's parking space, and that's really a necessity in Frankfurt.
The breakfast was OK but basic as well. Unfortunately, at the time I was there, there was no smoking prohibition yet, so the reception/bar/restaurant/breakfast area had that unmistakable sigaret smell. I used to be a 2 packets a day smoker, but now I can't even stand the smell of sigarets anymore, so that was a bit of a burden.
Good to go in, lay down, close your eyes, get up, shower, breakfast and go. Very basic, but OK for one night. Next time, I think I will take a 'hotel chain' facility again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

This place was very reasonably priced, clean and suited us and friends as my brother was getting married and he live around the corner, our group had about 6 rooms for two nights, very helpfull but very basic.

There was breakfasts included, it again it vas reasonable for the price

Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
Thank stephensayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John_Doe-AC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank georghasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Libertine Lindenberg
#1 of 43 in Frankfurt
72 reviews
Villa Orchard
#4 of 43 in Frankfurt
88 reviews
Innenstadt
Pension Alpha
Pension Alpha
#14 of 43 in Frankfurt
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Niederrad
Kleine Villa Frankfurt
Kleine Villa Frankfurt
#9 of 43 in Frankfurt
11 reviews
Innenstadt
Arena Villa am Wasserpark
Arena Villa am Wasserpark
#20 of 43 in Frankfurt
36 reviews
Hotel Adler
#3 of 43 in Frankfurt
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schmaerrnche Restaurant-Gaestehaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schmaerrnche Restaurant-Gaestehaus

Address: Kleine Spillingsgasse 2-10, 60385 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Bornheim , Innenstadt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Frankfurt
Hotel Class:3 star — Schmaerrnche Restaurant-Gaestehaus 3*
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing