We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Paulaner

Paulaner
Ranked #13 of 2,454 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Altstadt
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fantastic Atmosphere!”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

On a cold December night we stumbled upon this establishment which was warm and welcoming but really busy. Lots of people were already eating whereas we only wanted drinks. The hostess was very helpful and quickly found us a table which was available for 1.5 hours, more than long enough for us. The drinks menu was extensive and my friends and I chose red wine ( a very large carafe for only one person), a radler (shandy) and a raspberry schnapps. All were served promptly by very happy staff but the schnapps was very strong! It made my eyes water just sniffing the glass so look out. We had other plans for dinner but the appearance and smell of the food being served looked great and very tempting. Will definitely eat here on my next trip to Frankfurt.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    420
    110
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
538 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 533 helpful votes
“Great Beer and Schnitzel”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We took the Frankfurt Foot Tour with Sam, and he invited the group to join him afterwards for a drink. I really liked the Paulaner beer a few years ago in Muenchen (Munich) so I thought “great”. I had the Pils option of the Paulaner choices. I ordered the Jager Schnitzel, which is schnitzel in a creamy mushroom sauce. Yummy! Other half had the local Applewein, which he thought was just so so. He had soup and a pretzel with sausage dish. The food and service and especially the group’s conversation were outstanding. There were two couples who were about to start a river cruise plus Sam was very entertaining. When I return to Frankfurt, I will definitely try to eat lunch here again. Thanks Sam for the recommendation. The prices were very reasonable for this part of town. No complaints whatsoever!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BerlinG-ParisF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tashkent, Toshkent City, Uzbekistan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Традиционный немецкий ресторан”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Very nice place, great decor and interior of the restaurant is situated a good rest and mood. We were late to the previously booked time at exactly 2:00, but the hostess kindly provided us with a table, the staff are very attentive and considerate. Pilzner beer was the best of the tried three varieties. Ordered traditional sausages, cabbage and mashed potatoes .. everything was tasty, big portions. People on Thursday were a lot better to book in advance ... near beautiful Lutheran church.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“huge portions!”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We decided to go there as it is considered to be one of the locals' favourites and I'm glad we did. Although the decor is very "touristy" food is really great and authentic. I found the prices normal (average) comparing to the huge portions! Would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gkullis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great pub”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Beer is very good, there are several types such as dark, weizen, etc. The food is great also, the plates are always overcrowded with meat. You can also buy a souvenirs like beer cups there with Paulaner logos. Very good place!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MastaEngtch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paulaner also viewed

 
Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Paulaner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing