We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and not very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Messe
Ranked #58 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Basic and not very comfortable”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed there for 4 nights on a business trip.
Checkin was friendly. I also appreciated they had some snacks, beverages (including beer) one can buy right from reception, even in the middle of the night.
The location is right across the Frankfurt fairgrounds, and a short walk from an S-Bahn stop. Its a 20 min walk to the main station and maybe 10 mins from a brand new shopping centre (which also has a food court).
Rooms facing the train track will be subject to noise, even though the rooms have "sound proof" glazing. There are freight trains coming through during the night.

I would not count the stay as one of the high points in my life. The room was really small and basic. The "double bed" was just two singles pushed together, which defeats the idea of sleeping in a large bed.
Towels were of the rough sort. Seems cheaper hotels are nowadays using these towels to make people refrain from taking them home. Oh my...

Breakfast is reasonably cheap (forgot the price but felt it was worth it). Not the biggest choice but definitively ok. The dining room however feels like a canteen or youth hostel, its not really inviting.

Overall, i would avoid it for my next stay as i prefer a bit more comfort.

Room Tip: Rooms facing train tracks will be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception Staff at MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Messe, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Geast,

thank you for your honest comment. We really appriciate that.
Nice to hear, that you had a nice Check-In and enjoyed our breakfast. We regret, that the comfort we offer is not what you expected. MEININGER described itself as a mixture of hotel and hostel, and we therefore only provide basic standard rooms and all our rooms are equipped with two single beds.

It's a pity, that you would avoid MEININGER for your next stay and we would be pleased to anyway welcome you another time.

Kind Regards,
Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    265
    105
    21
    21
See reviews for
92
99
52
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed in Meininger Hotel Frankfurt /Main Messe in December 2013. The first thing I mostly adore in the hotel is the best location of the Trade Fear center of Frankfurt. The Subway S-Bahn is very close as well just a few steps from the Hotel. The hotel is very modern, clean and well decorated. The price is also the one attracts the Urban Travelers.

The special thanks to all reception guys and all the staff for offering the best Customer Service that you will never see often.
The guest Kitchen Room is also good value of money. I definitely recommend the hotel everyone travelling in Frankfurt.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khatia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Reception Staff at MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Messe, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Khatia,

thank you very much for your great comment! We are glad, that you enjoyed your trip so much and recommend us to the other users.

We would be very pleased to welcome you again!
Your MEININGER Team Messe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very centrally located in Frankfurt. It is in the vicinity of the city by 1-2 km give or take. The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the central station or two minute walk to the station just before the central station. The hotel cost us for one night something like $71 aud, which is very reasonably priced. The hotel was ideal to us as a young couple as we hopped off a flight and just wanted something clean easy and simple. The rooms are warm and beds are fantastic. Reception is very friendly and open 24 hours which makes it all the easier.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lucachizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Messe, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hi Luca,

thanks for your nice review.

We are hoping to see you soon in Frankfurt.

Kind regards,
your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013


This place felt very vanilla to us. It was right on the S-Bahn line, so it was two easy stops to Frankfurt (Main) Hauptbahnhof. The nice variety buffet breakfast was a good deal at €7.50. However our room was tiny, no appropriate location to place luggage, and two people could not fit in the bathroom at the same time unless one were standing in the shower. The hotel itself has a utilitarian feel to it, with communal kitchen, low light energy efficient bulbs, furniture fits in such away - it could be moved around like game of Tetris. We did get it at a reasonable price, so we got some value.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Messe, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for your open words, only like this MEININGER can improve and thank you for advices!
We hope to welcoming you soon again!
Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Located near the exhibition areas in Frankfurt and about 15 minutes walk from the railway station this hotel is extremely efficient, clean, quiet and comfortable and was ideal for my business trip. Although my room was adjacent to the lift I did not hear anything outside the room with the clean comfortable environment being good for working assisted with the efficient free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DerekH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Messe, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Peter,

thank you very much for your nice comment! We are always happy to make our guests satisfied!
We hope to welcoming you soon in our MEININGER Hotel!

Kind regards
Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights during the book fair. It's very modern and clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. The only complaint we had was that the breakfast was a bit limited. But what there was was quite nice. The location is right beside the exhibition centre and it's about a twenty-five minute walk to the city centre. There is free wi-fi and they have a 24 hour reception.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomoturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Messe, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Tom,

thank you for your open words! We are happy that you were satisfied with your stay in our house and want to thank you for the advice with the breakfast! We always trying to improve our Service and this depends on open feedback like yours!
Hope to seeing you soon in Frankfurt!
Many greetings
Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recife, PE
Level Contributor
151 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Great place to stay! Staff very helpfull, hotel very clean, very comfortable, and pretty close to a metro station - about two minute walk from Messe station. but for me, the best part was that the hotel was in front of Becks' Factory, Awesome!

Room Tip: all rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YasminRodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Messe, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
It is very nice to hear that you were absolutely satisfied with your in our Hotel!
We hope to welcoming you soon again,so you can show us where the Becks factory is :)
Many greetings
Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
#45 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#29 of 269 in Frankfurt
244 reviews
The Corner Hotel
#56 of 269 in Frankfurt
376 reviews
Hotel Excelsior
#55 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Messe

Property: MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Messe
Address: Europa-Allee 64, 60327 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Messe 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... and MEININGER is right amongst it. Five minutes away from the southern entrance to Messe Frankfurt you will find the MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt am Main Messe in the Europa district. Main railway station, banking district and the Frankfurt Stock Exchange are only a few minutes away. The first budget hotel right next to the trade fair offers superbly equipped rooms and of course the legendary MEININGER atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger Hotel Frankfurt/Main Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing