We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ambassador Frankfurt Hotel
Ranked #109 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
hong kong
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not a good choice”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stayed two nights there. The location is good, very close to the train station and there are restaurants and shops nearby. The buffet breakfast is fine, though the choices are limited, the quality is good. The breakfast room is trendy and fresh and it is the best of the hotel.

The room was clean, however there was no air-conditioning and it was hot. During my stay in Frankfurt, the temperature went up to 34 to 35C. One can imagine it is intolerable to stay in the room during day time. At night you must open the window but it was not safe if without using any bars. It was because each room has emergency stair outside and you can climb to other floors or rooms. I tried to lay down the window bar curtain but it allowed little holes to air. For two nights, I could hear noise (people's talking) after mid-night. In the morning around 7, noise again as a result of throwing of rubbish or moving tables or something. My husband and I both think it is a bad choice to stay in this hotel. Anyway we were a bit lucky as our room faced the backyard. If the room faced the main street, it could be a lot noisier and disturbing.
You don't need a key card to use the elevator to go up the room. And there are restaurants and bars nearby and I think the security is not very high. During the trip this time, I also stayed in another Ibis styles hotel in Berlin and it was much better. Good security and has air-conditioning and this will not affect the sleeping quality due to the noise.

Room Tip: choose a hotel room with air-conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happylittlewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    305
    220
    77
    40
See reviews for
148
162
130
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

walking distance from central location. With Ibis branding. room was good. staff were very helpful and friendly in recommending local hot-spots. Room was booked in on B&B and the breakfast was absolutely lovely. wonderful ambiance and convenient location. thumb up!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roshie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Spent 2 nights in a single room which was small but practically furnished. Bathroom small as well but cleanliness was o.k. No aircondition, so the room was pretty warm. Not suitable during a very hot summer and Frankfurt´s valley location. There are big balcony-like doors to open, but located directly to the hotel´s fire escape route. If you open the door, remain in your room, because everybody else would be able to enter your room.
Breakfast buffet was very good, fresh fruits and yoghurt and all the basics you need to start your day. Nice Nespresso machine for that very fresh cup of coffee! Definitely more than a classic continental breakfast.
Location is close to the central railway station and city center but also directly in Frankfurt´s red light district. It is o.k. during the day, but be a little careful after nightfall.
Can be too pricey during a major fair or main travel season for a non-aircon room.
Water temperature was changing from hot to cold and cold to hot during my morning shower and a little tricky to regulate.

Room Tip: rooms located towards the inside court are quiet but can be too warm and sticky during summertime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank watchhans18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

From what I can tell, Ibis bought the hotel next door and are renovating to add to their hotel. I got one of the latest renovated rooms, which was very nicely done. Stylish, Practical, modern and bright... I really liked being there, where normally I cant wait to get out of a hotel room. Not sure but I think each room may be individual styled too. Staff where good, breakfast average but with plenty of variety. Wifi was free in the room and was good quality. I really cant fault this hotel except to say the bed was hard, which was minor for me as sleep quality was still good. I would recommend.

Room Tip: If you stay over a weekend, ask for a room at the rear and you wont have the noise from the bar acro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oz70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed on june during hot days, and there was no air conditioning in the rooms. That was the only quality exception, but big enough for a poor evaluation. Clean and organised environment, good attendants.

Helpful?
Thank grdaminelli
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers are raving about these Frankfurt hotels

Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I booked this hotel because it was conveniently located for the business trip I had to make. This turned out to be the worst choice ever. The hotel shares an entrance with the Ibis Styles where I stayed previously. Where the room in the Ibis was of acceptable quality, the room I got by booking in the Ambassador was not. The hotel website indicates that airconditioning is not standard in all rooms, which would have been acceptable had the room not have had single pane windows. With a noisy bar across the very busy street this equals no sleep. In addition the walls and doors were, just like the windows, paper thin so it was extremely easy to overhear other guests' conversation. When booking a hotel room for less than 100 EUR I don't expect 5-star service but I expect the rooms to be up to a minimum standard and this was not the case. I would never book here again and I would certainly not recommend it to anybody !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackTrost, Manager at Ambassador Frankfurt Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Guest,
we are sorry that you did not have a relaxing stay with us and that you did not have a restful sleep. Usually the bar has to stop any music after 11. If you would have informed the reception, he might have been able to either change your room or contact the pub. We do have many room s that have air-conditioner and you could have requested one.

all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Townhouse Hotel
#25 of 269 in Frankfurt
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bahnhofsviertel
Memphis Hotel
Memphis Hotel
#122 of 269 in Frankfurt
221 reviews
Innenstadt
Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Frankfurt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Frankfurt Hotel

Property: Ambassador Frankfurt Hotel
Address: Moselstr. 12, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Ibis Styles Frankfurt City)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Bahnhofsviertel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Frankfurt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassador Frankfurt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Seasons Frankfurt City Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing