We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CONVENIENT HOTEL IN LESS THAN DESIRABLE NEIGHBORHOOD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #56 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“CONVENIENT HOTEL IN LESS THAN DESIRABLE NEIGHBORHOOD”
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel for just one night. On the plus side, it is near the main train station, about a three block walk. The hotel is clean, and the rooms are comfortable. It is near the financial district, about a three block walk, and there is tram service at the corner. It is also close to the opera.

On the negative side, the neighborhood is somewhat run down, with low-end stores, food outlets, and shops selling cheap suitcases etc. While i was never worried about crime, I would not want to walk through this neighborhood late at night. The other negative was the breakfast that was included. It was just not very good, with limited choice and lower quality food.

I think this is a good value if you are passing through, but would suggest areas closer to the main shopping area that probably cost the same but are in nicer areas.

Room Tip: there is a self-serve laundry around the corner, which makes this a good place to do laundry if on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buoybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Tripadvisor - User,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience at our hotel on this blog.
With us being located in downtown Frankfurt, it is very easy to get around using public transportations.
But you are as well expected with having the typical downtown environment.
We hope you'll get a chance to stay with us again.
Best regards,
Yvette Hernaez
Guest Service Assitant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    448
    154
    29
    25
See reviews for
150
253
72
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ipoh, malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

stayed here 2 nights on Nov 2011. was pleasantly surprised to see how clean n well maintained the room . room size is ok but i find the bathroom with the standing shower rather small . basic toiletries but its fine with me. the only thing which bothers me , is the the lack of hanging space in the bathroom and also the room itself. the closet itself is so small ... Internet is not free, paid 10euro (i think) . Location wise, 5 min walk to train station and if you like kebabs and chinese food then this is the place for you .

will come back again if its for 1 or 2 nights stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missylee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Tripadvisor-User,

Thank you for taking the time out and give us a feedback with a precise example on what we need to improve.
It is one of our priorities to keep everything maintained and of course clean it all times, that way we know our housekeeping staff is doing a good job.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you in our hotel again.

Best regards,
Yvette Hernaez
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghaxaq, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We checked in without any problems. Security is good as one has to use the electronic card to go up the elevator, to enter the floor of one's room and obviously to open one's room. The room was superb in cleanliness and maintenance. It was very quiet during day and night. The location is excellent if one arrives to the city by train as it is only a five minute walk away from Frankfurt's main train station.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Tripadvisor-User,

Thank you for your review and choosing our hotel for your trip.

It is good to hear that you were completely satisfied with your stay. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you at our hotel again.

Best regards,
Yvette Hernaez
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burlingame
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Chose this hotel for close proximity to the train. Didn't realize that the neighborhood leaves a little to be desired. It's a bit of a rundown area with many ethnic businesses, restaurants etc.. The hotel had complimentary continental breakfast, the room was very spacious, the shower was gigantic, but the English-language TV was minimal. There was a bar but no restaurant. Quite a walk to the Christmas markets.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suefromCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Tripadvisor-User,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with the Tripadvisor community.

It is great to hear that you liked our spacious rooms and the shower.

We are very happy that we were conveniently located for you, since we are very close to the main train station. It is a little bit of a walk to the Christmas market, but catching the train nearby, it doesn't take longer than 10 minutes.

We really appreciate you choosing our hotel, out of the numerous options we have in Frankfurt, and we would love to have you stay here again soon.

Best regards,
Sandra Diodati
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varies all the time
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

The hotel is quite near to the main railway station but still on a quiet street with no heavy traffic. There are several tram lines with stops appr. 200 m from the entrance, so it is a good place as a hub for exploring the city. The whole building seems to have been renovated not so log ago. The reception, breakfast room and our room were all in good condition. Room was relatively spacious, but our bed was only 120 cm wide and very trampoline-like. There was a window with a view to the inner yard - no traffic noise. Also the hotel itself was rather peaceful place to stay, if you don't count the loud sounds of closing doors (a problem in most hotels). Breakfast was ok: nothing fancy but all the necessities you could expect in this category. When we arrived to the hotel after a day out we discovered that our key cards did not work. The clerk at the reception took care of it - no apologises however. Without this minor incident I wouls say that the place is ok and safe choice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SneakerGeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Tripadvisor - User,

Thank you so much for the kind review and for choosing our hotel for your trip to Frankfurt.

We are happy to see that our location was convenient for all of your activities.

Our entire staff works around the clock to ensure our guests satisfaction and safety, such as 24 hour front desk or key cards you need to enter the hotel and every single floor.
We really liked your feedback regarding our rooms. They are fairly new and it is always good to hear that our guests feel comfortable.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with other travelers and we hope you will get a chance to stay with us again.

Best regards
Sandra Diodati
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Clean, well designed rooms, walking distance to station or city center (yes on the border of the red light district but hey might be a plus for some!)

Price was very cheap for European standards, consider that in Frankfurt and you realize it is great value!.
Check in was quick and flawless.
Breakfast was ok.

Overall a pleasant experience and above expectations for a Holiday Inn Express.

Would definitely consider if you are trying to keep within that travel budget but want to avoid the early morning flight! Many restaurants of all types/price range around for an evening bite.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessandro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

6 of us stayed here for a weekend break from 2nd - 4th Dec. The prime reason selecting this hotel was proximity to the Xmas market and cost.
The hotel is as new being spotlessly clean with excellent staff. Rooms are very comfortable with showers that will blow you away. You get some street noise but not enough to cause sleepless nights. Breakfast is included and whilst it can be busy the staff are constantly refuelling and clearing away so everything is fresh.
We paid £108 for a double room for two people for two nights and booked through Booking.com.
That's £54 per night inc breakfast which has to be terrific value.
It is 5 minutes walk from the main station and therefore close to tram and bus lines.
If you're staying for a couple of days you must buy the Frankfurt Card at Terminal 1 in the airport. This gives you unlimited travel on all public transport and 50% off admission to museums, plus other vouchers. This will pay for itself the first time you use it.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDavidHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Tripadvisor - User,

First thanks to you. We are thrilled about your positive review and that our hotel has exceeded your expectations.

It is definitely a goal of ours to " wow " our guests and provide the best value for their money.

We are delighted that you mentioned our staff members in your review, especially the breakfast team.
We really appreciate your recommendation as well and we hope other travelers will benefit from your review.

Thanks again for sharing your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Sandra Diodati
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Frankfurt - Alte Oper
Townhouse Hotel
#26 of 269 in Frankfurt
277 reviews
Victoria Hotel
#35 of 269 in Frankfurt
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#8 of 269 in Frankfurt
780 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#28 of 269 in Frankfurt
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof

Property: Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Address: Elbestr. 7, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Bahnhofsviertel , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#39 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#55 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof. In the heart of Frankfurt, next to the “main station Frankfurt“, the new Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof Hotel recently opened in March 2011. Just a few minutes walk to the city centre and famous sights of Frankfurt like the Opera Frankfurt, the Staedel Museum, the German Museum of Architecture, the Goethe House or St. Leonhards’ Church. The Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhofis the perfect place to stay to discover the famous business city Frankfurt am Main. Our 116 comfortable air-conditioned, non smoking bedrooms, with flat screen colour TV, offer a telephone, a safe, high speed Wi-Fi internet connectivity, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. Our continental breakfast buffet is included. We have integrated the dynamic philosophy of the Holiday Inn Express brand into the meetings sector and look forward to your request for a professionally run conference. 1 modern meeting room, 25m² with air conditioning is available for your meeting.We are looking forward to your visit at the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing