We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left stranded without parking - very poor, rude service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #56 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Left stranded without parking - very poor, rude service”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Despite confirmations that we require parking the line at the desk upon arrival is that we do not confirm parking only confirm reservations. Two-faced cover for parking spots already given out. From there the service got ruder and aggressive. The area is also suspect for families.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyBungee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Tripadvisor - User,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof.
Your willingness to share your thoughts is much appreciated, we always want to hear what our guests would like, in order to make their stay an enjoyable one.
We are sad to see that your expectations were not met while staying with us. We do apologize for any inconvenience this has caused to you. We try to move heaven and earth in order to accomodate every guests request, but sometimes circumstances limit us to do so.
Unfortunately, we are not able to reserve parking spots ahead of time. We only have limited parking, so it leaves us with no other choice.
We are working hard to provide the best possible product to our guests and we hope that this situation will not defer you from experiencing our hotel again, we sure hope to see you in the future.
Best regards,
Sandra Diodati
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    448
    154
    29
    25
See reviews for
150
253
72
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

we stayed here only for a night as we had a stopover in Frankfurt. The hotel room was HUGE, so modern, looked brand new, modern bathroom, comfy bed, easy fast check-in, but the best part of all was the breakfast! we traveled to 5 countries in 11 days and stayed at 5 hotels during the time, and this was the BEST hotel of all! cons: I don't really like the location and there was no free wifi.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe Skye K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Tripadvisor - User,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other Tripadvisor users.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Since we are only a few minutes away from the main train station, we are ideally located if you have a stopover in Frankfurt.

The city center is about a 15 minutes walking distance away from the hotel.

We hope to see you on your next trip to Frankfurt.

Best regards,
Jens Döll
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

This is the first European Holiday Inn Express that we stayed at and we were impressed. However, I noticed that upon check-in there were no chocolate chip cookies like in North America. It is modern and the room that we were in was large by European standard. It was spacious and it had a fairly large desk and a sofa bed. The shower is a good size and the shower head was fantastic. Breakfast was okay and their signature cinnamon buns were no where to be seen. We would definitely stay here again if we need to overnight in Frankfurt as it is conveniently located close to the train station with easy access to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Tripadvisor - User,

Thank you! We really enjoyed reading your review and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you had the chance to overnight in one of our spacious Priority Club rooms. You seem to travel a lot, we definitely appreciate your comments regarding the differences between European HIEX and the ones in North America. Like youmentioned, we do have different standards, especially when it comes to breakfast. Nevertheless, we are delighted to see that you liked our rooms and enjoyed the entire stay here in Frankfurt.
There is nothing more satisfying than having our guests recognize our efforts.
We hope that next time you are in Frankfurt you choose our location, to show you our always improving service and value.
Best regards,
Sandra Diodati
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Founex
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Nicely furnished room, good breakfast and really friendly staff. Centrally located near the main railway station.
The only negative thing to mention was the extremely poor Wifi (payable), a real ripoff.

Overall excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mats M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed in this hotel on the stop over flights to South America. It's only 15 minutes away from the airport by train. The Hauptbahnhof station is about 5 minutes walk from the hotel. We had 2 different rooms for each stay. The first one was a bit disappointing because the room size was very small. The second room was a lot bigger and facing the back of the hotel. The bathroom facilities're the same for both.

The staff who checked us in was very nice and we got free WiFi and breakfast for two which were included under business package. I think the hotel rate was reasonable for what they offered and I would definitely stay there again if I go back to Frankfurt.

Room Tip: I got the room 114 on my second stay. It's facing the back of the hotel but the room was big and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tingleboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Tripadvisor - User,

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay in Frankfurt.
We are happy that you liked our breakfast and that we were conveniently located for all your activities. I am sorry that we weren't able to give you a bigger room on your first stay, glad to hear that everything worked out for you on the returning stay, though.
We hope our staff could do everything to encourage you to stay with us again.
Thanks again for your honest and positive comment.
Best regards,
Sandra Diodati
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel for just one night. On the plus side, it is near the main train station, about a three block walk. The hotel is clean, and the rooms are comfortable. It is near the financial district, about a three block walk, and there is tram service at the corner. It is also close to the opera.

On the negative side, the neighborhood is somewhat run down, with low-end stores, food outlets, and shops selling cheap suitcases etc. While i was never worried about crime, I would not want to walk through this neighborhood late at night. The other negative was the breakfast that was included. It was just not very good, with limited choice and lower quality food.

I think this is a good value if you are passing through, but would suggest areas closer to the main shopping area that probably cost the same but are in nicer areas.

Room Tip: there is a self-serve laundry around the corner, which makes this a good place to do laundry if on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buoybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Tripadvisor - User,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience at our hotel on this blog.
With us being located in downtown Frankfurt, it is very easy to get around using public transportations.
But you are as well expected with having the typical downtown environment.
We hope you'll get a chance to stay with us again.
Best regards,
Yvette Hernaez
Guest Service Assitant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipoh, malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

stayed here 2 nights on Nov 2011. was pleasantly surprised to see how clean n well maintained the room . room size is ok but i find the bathroom with the standing shower rather small . basic toiletries but its fine with me. the only thing which bothers me , is the the lack of hanging space in the bathroom and also the room itself. the closet itself is so small ... Internet is not free, paid 10euro (i think) . Location wise, 5 min walk to train station and if you like kebabs and chinese food then this is the place for you .

will come back again if its for 1 or 2 nights stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missylee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Tripadvisor-User,

Thank you for taking the time out and give us a feedback with a precise example on what we need to improve.
It is one of our priorities to keep everything maintained and of course clean it all times, that way we know our housekeeping staff is doing a good job.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you in our hotel again.

Best regards,
Yvette Hernaez
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Frankfurt - Alte Oper
Townhouse Hotel
#26 of 269 in Frankfurt
277 reviews
Victoria Hotel
#35 of 269 in Frankfurt
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#8 of 269 in Frankfurt
780 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#28 of 269 in Frankfurt
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof

Property: Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Address: Elbestr. 7, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Bahnhofsviertel , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#39 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#55 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof. In the heart of Frankfurt, next to the “main station Frankfurt“, the new Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof Hotel recently opened in March 2011. Just a few minutes walk to the city centre and famous sights of Frankfurt like the Opera Frankfurt, the Staedel Museum, the German Museum of Architecture, the Goethe House or St. Leonhards’ Church. The Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhofis the perfect place to stay to discover the famous business city Frankfurt am Main. Our 116 comfortable air-conditioned, non smoking bedrooms, with flat screen colour TV, offer a telephone, a safe, high speed Wi-Fi internet connectivity, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. Our continental breakfast buffet is included. We have integrated the dynamic philosophy of the Holiday Inn Express brand into the meetings sector and look forward to your request for a professionally run conference. 1 modern meeting room, 25m² with air conditioning is available for your meeting.We are looking forward to your visit at the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing