We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, immaculate, and economical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #48 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Arizona
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Convenient, immaculate, and economical”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We reserved a room in this hotel because of many favorable reviews in Trip Advisor and I'm glad we did. I call it a sparkling Spartan room because it was extremely clean, but had only the basic necessities: bed, desk, and one chair. It was not a room you'd want to spend a lot of time in, but it was perfect for our one night in Frankfurt after a couple of long flights from the US. It was a very quiet room too, so we had a nice sleep with no unwelcome noises from neighboring rooms or outside street sounds.The bathroom was immaculate and well-equipped with modern facilities.
The hotel itself is a very short walk from the Bahnhof from which we took a train to Rothenburg ob der Tauber.
The people at the reception desk were very pleasant and efficient and breakfast was excellent. The room in which we ate was large, clean and bright.
We don't travel with a laptop, but occasionally like to check or send e-mails. There is a computer in the lobby area which we rented for one Euro for a half hour, I think.
In summary, this hotel is a very good place to stay at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shen60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Tripadvisor - User,

Thank you so much for your great and detailed review about our hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and time here in Frankfurt.
We hope we were able to exceed your expectations, and that you were able to take back some happy memories.
We really appreciate your recommendation and hope that other travelers will benefit from your comments, like you did before your trip to Frankfurt.

We hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Best regards,
Sandra Diodati
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    437
    145
    26
    23
See reviews for
139
248
70
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2012

A good location from the train station and very nice hotel.
Very clean, private and secure. Everyone at the reception was very nice and friendly.
We loved staying there and hope to be back soon!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Xenofontos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Tripadvisor - User,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us about your stay.

It is nice to see that you enjoyed your time with us here in Frankfurt and were able to feel relaxed when you returned to the hotel.
We are happy that our location was convenient for all your activities and that you enjoyed our amenities.

We really appreciate your comment and we hope that other travelers will benefit from it.
Hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Best regards,
Sandra Diodati
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Classic Holiday Inn Express experience with clean, comfortable rooms, decent size & very good breakfast. It has good security with swipe card required for elevator & entry to hallway. Limited services. It is only 2 blocks from train station. Only real drawback is that it is only 1block west of red light district that can get a bit rough at night & loud but will not disturb you at hotel so long as you are careful which direction you walk.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Tripadvisor - User,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor and to share your comments with other travelers.

We are glad to see that you liked our breakfast buffet and that your room was comfortable for you.
Thank you as well for mentioning our location, it is great that it was convenient for all your activities. We are located very close to the " red light district ", none the less, these are features which come with a huge city like Frankfurt. But like you said, it is not directly affecting the hotel.

We hope you get a chance to stay with us again, thanks and safe travels.

Best regards,
Sandra Diodati
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The hotel is conveniently located just a short walk from the main station. The building is new, so everything was in good condition. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the buffet breakfast was nice and above average. The only irritation was that WiFi was not free and in addition, we were required to pay for a separate WiFi account for each device, which is most unusual! Overall, we were very satisfied and would likely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thrifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Tripadvisor - User,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts with the tripadvisor community.

We are very honored to see that you liked staying with us and that we could exceed your expectations.
Thank you for mentioning our staff as well. We work aroubnd the clock to ensure that our guests feel welcome and satisfied.

We would like to invite you to join our Priority Club Rewards Program. You can become a member a receive points every time you stay with us worldwide. You will also receive a lot of benefits like free WiFi, discounts on drinks etc.
Please sign up on Priorityclub.com

Thank you again for staying with us, we hope to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Frankfurt.

Best regards,
Sandra Diodati
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2012

After traveling 22hours, I was just ready to get settled into the hotel, but first we had to find the hotel at night! The street was easy enough to find from the train station just off of the main street, but the hotel sign was not lit so we didn't see it until we walked right up to it.

- The front desk clerk was friendly enough, but it definitely wasn't the spectacular hospitality that I'd experienced at the InterContinental the year before. When we got to the room, it was cold and couldn't find the light switch (turns out you need to put your room key in a wall pocket to turn on the lights).

- The room was immaculate and beds were comfortable enough once we separated them. Nothing to write home about. The air/heater until was terrible. When you leave the room you take the key out of the pocket and it shuts everything off, lights tv etc. BUT it also turns off the heat!! This was the worst because we were there at the end of November and out of the room all day, when we got back to go to bed we were freezing. The heat would take hours to warm the room so it wasn't until 3-4am that the room temp was adequate - it felt like it was warmer outside than in our room!!!!!

- Thank god for that shower though! After the cold nights in the room the best thing to wake up to was the amazing shower! The shower head was brilliant and the water ran SO hot it felt like you were taking a steam in a spa.

- Breakfast was your typical German spread and definitely added value to the hotel.

- You do have to pay for the wireless internet in your room and there is no business center, just a small computer area in the sitting area of the lobby - so no privacy. That was the biggest disappointment.

- Also, if you're driving, they have very secure parking. But you do need to tell the desk in advance you will be parking during some or all of your stay. It is very secure, that you need a code to punch in and can only access the garage with your room key. That was a great comfort to have in a large city.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cemayrho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Dear Tripadvisor - User,

Thank you for taking the time to share your honest and detailed feedback about our hotel.

We are very honored that you chose our hotel over the countless options we have in Frankfurt.

We sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations and let you leave th hotel unsatisfied.
We value you as a guest and our top priority is your satisfaction.
Please know that we appreciate you bringing the issues to our attention.

Our intentions are to peovide the best service and value to our guests, and anything less is unacceptable.
We are terribly sorry you experienced so many challenges with your stay. We would love the opportunity to make it right if you would be gracious enough to give us the chance.

Thank you again for staying with us and we wish you all the best in the future.

Best regards,
Sandra Diodati
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Very good location, short distance from the airport (about 15 min with train and 10 min walk). Then there is about 30 min walk to the city center. The hotel is very clean and everything very nice. The staff was very helpful. The shower was new and excellent, probably one of the best hotel shower I have used. The breakfast was included in the price and was simple and good. The air conditioning was not working but I didn´t talk to the staff about it, so I don´t know if it was broken or my fault.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjaminj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Dear Tripadvisor - User,

Thank you so much for the kind review of our hotel. We really enjoyed reading your comments and are honored that you chose to stay with us.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt the value matched the service you received.Thank you also for mentioning our staff. We do our best to provide the best service and value to our guests.
Regarding the AC is to say, that is was not your fault, we had some issues with our AC for the past few weeks, we certainly apologize for.

It seems like you enjoyed your stay in Frankfurt and we are very happy to be a part of that.
We certainly hope your comments will benefit the Tripadvisor community and encourage others to visit our hotel.

We would love to have you stay with us again and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alma, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stayed here for three nights. After a night flight from Toronto to Frankfurt we were very pleased to have been able to check in when we arrived which was around 9 am in the morning. Very much appreciated this as we could sleep some before we toured the city.The location was very good, we could walk to almost everything. Very near to the train station which was handy when we took a day trip to Heidelburg, beautiful old city, highly recommend this day trip. There are tours but we found it was easy to do it on our own. As other reviewers mentioned it does fill up with Japanese men on the weekend but that did not bother us. The bed was quite hard, the room smallish and the rug was not the cleanest and had an indistinct odor. However, the bathroom was very nice, and new with a glass shower stall. The breakfast was very good. The best we had on our whole one month trip. The price point for this hotel was also very good about 90$ a night. Good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neverenoughtravel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Dear Tripadvisor - User,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and the Tripadvisor community.
We really appreciate your comments and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for mentioning and recommending the tours through Frankfurt and Heidelberg. We really hope other travelers will benefit from your experiences.

We do apologize for the issues you experienced inside your room. We have already looked into your claims and are in the process of reconciling.

Overall we hope you enjoyed your stay in Frankfurt and we would love to welcome you back here at the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof.

Best regards,
Sandra Diodati
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Victoria Hotel
#29 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Townhouse Hotel
#37 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Frankfurt - Alte Oper
Bahnhofsviertel
Ambassador Frankfurt Hotel
Ambassador Frankfurt Hotel
#96 of 269 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Innenstadt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
#24 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof

Property: Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Address: Elbestr. 7, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Bahnhofsviertel , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#35 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#55 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof. In the heart of Frankfurt, next to the “main station Frankfurt“, the new Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof Hotel recently opened in March 2011. Just a few minutes walk to the city centre and famous sights of Frankfurt like the Opera Frankfurt, the Staedel Museum, the German Museum of Architecture, the Goethe House or St. Leonhards’ Church. The Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhofis the perfect place to stay to discover the famous business city Frankfurt am Main. Our 116 comfortable air-conditioned, non smoking bedrooms, with flat screen colour TV, offer a telephone, a safe, high speed Wi-Fi internet connectivity, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. Our continental breakfast buffet is included. We have integrated the dynamic philosophy of the Holiday Inn Express brand into the meetings sector and look forward to your request for a professionally run conference. 1 modern meeting room, 25m² with air conditioning is available for your meeting.We are looking forward to your visit at the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing