We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location ,location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #61 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Visited the beautiful city of Frankfurt in early Dec and stayed for three nights in the Holiday Inn Express on Elbestrasse.
The hotel is ideally located being close to the main train station and just a 15 min.walk to the old town and Christmas markets.
I am aware that some of your reviewers have issues both with this location and also the proximity of "Adult " interest activities .Please remember that by locating in what are regarded as secondary locations, these hotels are able to offer great rates which make it possible to visit so many cities.Which of us ,from where ever we come from do not have areas in our major cities which might be less than salubrious ,but are populated ,in the main by decent people much like the rest of us .The "Adult "area is visible from a few hundred yards off ,so if you dont like it ,its easy to avoid .
The hotel itself looks brand new ,a nice reception with friendly staff .
The rooms are a good size ,with the bathrooms nicely tiled ,and super clean.
Tea and coffee making facilities and a room safe and comfortable beds made for a very enjoyable stay .
The breakfast was the usual Continental fare ,cold meats cheeses ,cereals ,tea coffee, juice and plenty of bread, fruit ,crossies ,pastries .Great.
The hotel staff were pleasant and helpful ,assisting us with the printing of our boarding cards ,the printer on the public computer in the lobby was having an off day ,providing us with extra tea bags and such when asked .They also dispense drinks from a bar located in the reception area.
All in all a very pleasant stay in this hotel ,which I would highly recommend and hope to return to in the future

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor with a street facing room ,no probs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elvis38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 922 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2012

The Hotel is very clean and modern in design for the price. Location is spot on as is close to main station and some very good restaurants which is why I chose to stay here and invite my team to stay here also.

What lets it down bigtime however is the bad attitude of the staff. I travel alot and stay in many hotels but the staff here are the least accomodating that I have come across to the extent that I had to make my point here on this forum. Its quite dissappointing that the services and hospitality are not up to basic standards!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eghe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

I would be interested to investigate your comments further in terms of the offered Service.
I can be contacted on diana.brueggenhorst@fmhso.com if you wish to be in touch so I can investigate further.
I hope that you will give me and the team the opportunity to change your perceptions of the hotel once again in a more positive light.

Kind regards

Diana Brüggenhorst
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I recently stayed at this property whilst visting the Christmas markets. It was the ideal base for our break.

The hotel itself is a short walk from the main train station very easy to find. As noted on previous reviews this does appear to be the red light area but we found there to be no issues whatsover with this. There were plenty of restaurants/ takeaways and shops in the area and we always felt completely safe.

To go to the city centre we opted to turn right out of the front door and then left up the main street to the Willy-brand-Platz from here you can continue to various parts of the city. Alterntively turning left out the hotel you can continue down until you reach the street upon which the trams operate and take one of these to the centre.

As for the hotel the staff were very friendly at all times and happy to assist in directions. The access to the rooms and corridors is by electronic key fobs only so no one other than paying guests can wonder round the hotel. The rooms were fantastic for a budget syle hotel. They were large and spacious for 2 adults and would comfortably accomodate a family if required. The bathrooms were very nice and the extra large shower with power head made were great. They come with tea facilities and in room safe - although its not large enough for an ipad or laptop.

We spent very little time in the room however when we returned after our evening meal it was disspointing to find we couldnt watch anythingon the tv as the only english channel was the news network.... shame if you wanted to relax in the room. We did find the airconditioning/heating to be quite drying on the air however this hotel does have windows which open so you can get some fresh air if you wish.

Breakfast in the hotel was very nice - continental selection warm croissants , pan au chocolat, fruits, yoghurt, museli, toast, boiled eggs plenty of coffees and juices. This was enough to set you up for the day. As we were there for the markets I was glad of the simple breakfast as all we seemed to do was eat and drink wonderful german foods.

The hotel has a small bar and wifi is very reasonable 1 Euro for 30 min or 5 euro for the day.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a convinient base for a city break. We were glad of the short walk back to the station as we had heavy snow over the weekend and may have had to take a taxi for a longer distance.

Thanks

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachaelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback.
Glad to hear you stay with us when you can, and when the price is right for you.
We look forward to seeing you again in due course.


Many thanks

Diana Brüggenhorst
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Got taxi straight from the airport to this hotel cost approx €30. When we arrived we didnt expect our rooms to be ready but we were checked in straight away which was great. Staff were courteous. Rooms vary in size- we travelled as 2 couples- the other couple's room was slightly bigger but our room was fine. Nice new hotel so everything was nice & comfy. We found the rooms to be very warm & there is a temp control gage on the wall to adjust so dont know what the other reviewer was talking about. On the first night we actually had to open the window as the room was so warm. There was however some noise outside so our sleep was disturbed but it only lasted awhile however if you're a light sleeper so should request a room to the back of the hotel. Bathrooms lovely & clean -Shower was amazing- really great power shower!
Breakfast was fine both mornings- there was plenty of croissants, rolls, bread & danishes. Cereal, fruit, yogurt, cheese & cold meat. Oh and there was also hard boiled eggs. They keep refilling anything thats running low which is good. If you like you're Irish/ English tea bring your own- the tea over there is terrible!!!
We found one lady on reception to be lovely- Guiliana (hope I spelt that correctly) I think she was a trainee manager. She was lovely and very helpful each day and she wait for it......actually smiled!!! She told us about an ice-rink called Eissporthalle Frankfurt -which is a big indoor & outdoor ice-rink with ice hockey etc. And organised a taxi for us. For €10 (€6 entry & €4.50 for skates) per adult to skate for as long as you like which is pretty good value. Taxi cost us €15 which was cheaper & handier than trying to figure out the tube. However arrange for the taxi to collect you at a particular time- we didnt and we were stranded there for ages until we eventually flagged one down after walking 10mins into town.
The area around the hotel is perfect- my friend & I walked many times up & down to the xmas markets without the men & never felt uncomfortable. Yes the 'red light district' is close by but its a few streets over & we only saw it once on our way back to the hotel after taking a different route. Train station is about 5-10mins walk. Xmas markets are 10mins walk. Tube stop is about 5mins from the hotel. Theres a great bar/restaurant about 5mins walk from the hotel called the American Bar/Chicago Meatpacker Restaurant. Be warned its mental busy at the weekends & you need a reservation however you can wait for a table but you could be there for ages depending on what time you're there at. Also you cant just go in for a drink- you must wait to be seated at a table or the bar- all very regimental!!! But once you're in the food is great & so are the cocktails!
This is my second time to Frankfurt for the xmas markets but I dont think I'll go back to Germany- I just find most of the Germans cold and rude & they really let the weekend down for us which is a pity because the city is beautiful particularly the old town.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel would obv be quieter. Bring your own teabags for the rooms- German...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happiest-on-hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your fabulous feedback.
I will certainly pass on your positive comments to the team, and in particular Giuilia, she is great! So pleased you found our team helpful, we do strive to ensure that they are all fully knowledgeable and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon when you are next in Frankfurt

Best regards

Diana Brüggenhorst
Assistant Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

"Terrible" is a understatement for what we went through! We checked in two rooms, one large and one small. Both were cold with cold draft coming through windows. We asked the night shift staff and manager to either switch us to another room or another hotel under the same chain. They basically did nothing to amend the situation and never got back to us. Even though heat was powerful, we could still feel cold draft. Finally we figured out ourselves that there was some sort of ventilation device on each window, from which cold draft came in. BTW, it was 19F outside. We had to stick towels into those devices to prevent cold draft from coming in. So that was our first night at this hotel! Even more annoying was the second evening when we saw the same night shift manager. He didn't bother asking about our situation. We asked him for two extra teabags for the room and he looked at us as if we were beggers! He gave us an attitudinal speech that teabags were only to be used in rooms and no extra to be given. Guess what! I didn't bother to leave any tips in my room as I usually do! Oh did I mention that beds were very small with tiny, narrow comforters?

Room Tip: Don't bother going there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Dear Sheila H,

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and discomfort you have experienced due to the room accommodations and service received from our hotel staff. Rest assured, your review will be forwarded to the appropriate departments and will be used to reconsider improvements needed. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Again, thank you for your review. We hope to have another chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Stayed here recently for business. On the plus side it is close to the train station which has a direct train to the airport. It is also 10 minutes from the Christmas markets. The staff are very friendly and helpful. As you would expect for a budget hotel the rooms are fairly basic but they are clean.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlayboyPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We stayed here for one night as we were due to catch an early flight to Caracas next day. This appears to be quite a new hotel and everything looked to be fresh and up-to-date. Our room wasn't enormous but it was perfectly acceptable and everything worked properly. Good continental buffet style breakfast is included in the very reasonable room rate. This hotel is no more than a seven minute stroll from the main railway station and is very convenient for the airport train, which only takes 15 minutes. There is really is no good reason to stay out near the airport when the train is so convenient and reasonably priced.
There is a room safe and WiFi, although the WiFi is not free. Various packages are available and the minimum charge is 1Euro for 30 minutes. If the Wifi had been free I would have rated this 5 stars as I couldn’t find any other fault.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mps1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Victoria Hotel
#36 of 269 in Frankfurt
525 reviews
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#7 of 269 in Frankfurt
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Scandic Frankfurt Museumsufer
Bahnhofsviertel
Ibis Styles Frankfurt City Hotel
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#18 of 269 in Frankfurt
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof

Address: Elbestr. 7, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Bahnhofsviertel , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#42 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#54 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: £70 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof. In the heart of Frankfurt, next to the “main station Frankfurt“, the new Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof Hotel recently opened in March 2011. Just a few minutes walk to the city centre and famous sights of Frankfurt like the Opera Frankfurt, the Staedel Museum, the German Museum of Architecture, the Goethe House or St. Leonhards’ Church. The Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhofis the perfect place to stay to discover the famous business city Frankfurt am Main. Our 116 comfortable air-conditioned, non smoking bedrooms, with flat screen colour TV, offer a telephone, a safe, high speed Wi-Fi internet connectivity, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. Our continental breakfast buffet is included. We have integrated the dynamic philosophy of the Holiday Inn Express brand into the meetings sector and look forward to your request for a professionally run conference. 1 modern meeting room, 25m² with air conditioning is available for your meeting.We are looking forward to your visit at the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing