We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #48 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Apache Junction, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place downtown”
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

The hotel overall was a great place to stay downtown Frankfurt Germany. Barry was located close to the main train station and in a safe area With lots of restaurants to eat. The hotel was updated with modern amenities The staff was friendly and always available. The hotel was clean with good-sized rooms everything was updated with in the past couple years. The breakfast had amazing croissants and other food. It was a cold variety breakfast but still enough to choose from.
The hotel was spotless and the cleaning team was amazing everything was always clean in the hotel.
The only two complaints I had were the beds were hard and there was a strange smell emanating from the bathroom sink and shower. In the hotel's defense we didn't complain about the shower or the sink smell and I'm convinced they would have fixed it if we would have called. Or try to fix it at least.
Great hotel I would stay there again if I'm ever in Frankfurt for sure, stayed there for two weeks and in two different rooms .....awesome place to stay..

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    437
    145
    26
    23
See reviews for
139
248
70
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This hotel is very well positioned to both explore Frankfurt and when it's time to leave it is near to the train station.The staff were very good and the room being relatively new was of of a high standard.The Italian restaurant across the street wasn't too bad either.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregS21aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I stayed twice in this hotel, 2 nights in February and 2 nights in March.
Overall everything was great.. with few negatives.

Room : Room is excellent.. spacious, clean, seems to be recently renovated.. LCD, Safe, but no Mini Bar.

Location :
This is the contravarsy.. well its a 5 min walk from the main train station, 10 min walk to the market area.. but 2 streets away from the red light area.. so at night if you wander into the nighberhood you will find your self surrounded by drug addicts and prostitutes.
The trick is to know which direction to walk,, once you've done that then you are fine.

Food:
Breakfast was ok.. not a lot of varieties, bread, cereal, juice, cheese, boiled eggs....
No room service.
A vending machine in the lobby and an ice machine.

Service: Excellent

Internet : super fast for 5 Euros per day.

The Negative:
I am surprised no one mentioned this: It seems somehow the floors and walls conduct a lot of noise, you can always here the room above you and next to you. there is constant knocking from above you and from the room next door.. its not loud.. but its just there,, it can get annoying if you are a light sleeper.
I went twice and stayed 2 nights each time,, once in the 2nd floor and another in the 4th. and I had the same problem each time. so it was not a coincidence.. its a fact.
I am not a light sleeper, so I wasn't bothered by this.. but its a problem with the building and I'm surprised no one mentioned it in the reviews.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elnahal_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puget Sound
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Not only is this HIE near the train station, almost half the journey can be completed sheltered from the elements in the underground plaza by bearing to the right and taking the next to last exit up to the street. The neighborhood has a variety of ethnic food service, small shops, and other urban stuff. It did not seem dangerous to me. The hotel is also just a few blocks from the river with a pedestrian bridge leading to the nearby museums. Even on a cold day, we weren't out long enough to be uncomfortable.

The hotel itself is clean, efficient, and fully appointed. The room was somewhat less compact than the Mecure in Essen or the Barcelo in Hamburg. A little more space a little less efficiently used providing equal comfort. The staff are friendly and patient with a guest's feeble efforts in German. Our only disappointment was that our early flight denied us a second morning of their excellent breakfast. Might be the nicest HIE I've enjoyed.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Recumbent_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

The hotel is ideally placed for the city and railway station. Not the Holiday Inn Express plastic breakfast here but a superb spread with lots of choice. The rooms are fantastic and the staff very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darwen_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, Assistant Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear Dawren,,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.

I'm glad that you were totally satisfied with our location and that you enjoyed our free breakfast and our rooms.

We hope to see you again soon

Best regards

Diana Brüggenhorst
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

The hotel is excellent loceted, close to the train station 2 minutes walk from Willy Brandt Platz.
The hotel is quite new, clean and tidy, good breakfast.
The rooms are large clean and spacious.
Large and clean shower and WC .
Nice and courteous staff.
The only problem was Frankfurt..
The city is boring, gray and lifeless.
Only if you HAVE TO come to Frankfurt come.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomersi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, Assistant Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear Tomersi,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.

We like to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and the big shower.
Frankfurt could also be a nice place. You can have a nice walk to Main. Or can go on the "Maintower" the highest building in Frankfurt from there you have got a great view all over the area.

It would be grate to welcome you the next time and our staff members woul be very pleased to show you the nice places of Frankfurt

Best regards

Diana Brüggenhorst
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAPAN
Level Contributor
344 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

First of all the hotel is not in a bad area. The nightlife area is much further north and does not protrude that far away. It's safe to walk at all times, certainly not unsafer than anywhere else. Many, many hotels are in this area. That said, this is probably the newest of them all and it looks that way. Nice, clean facade, first floor is all glass. Check in was quick, room was huge. Huge and empty. There was easily room for a ping pong table to be put in. No idea about the design. Bed was a European double which we felt was smaller than a queen size. The mattress was hopelessly soft, sleep quality was very low, we would constantly roll towards the middle, and just gently sitting down on the mattress caused my wife to be flipped into the air. Smallish but working flat screen TV on the wall. Bathroom small but functional, no tub. For older folks like us the European method of having those squeeze soap containers on the wall is not a good think. Arthritis makes it difficult to squeeze hard and these bottles must be squeezed hard. It's not a hotel specific thing, just a note to become aware and maybe bring your own soap. Towels were below our standards, too thin, too small. They could do better. Breakfast was standard, it's a small area and with lots of Chinese tourists we had to wait for a table a couple of times. Window could be opened. As Platinums we got free Internet, but only for one device. Internet was fast. Location is very central, a quick walk to the Hauptbahnhof and one can catch all local and long distance subway, trains and buses. For two day stays as a tourist I recommend stopping at the Frankfurt tourist office inside the station and purchase a Frankfurt card for unlimited travel within most of Frankfurt proper, museum discounts and much more for less than $ 15.00. Includes the train to the airport, a great deal.
Frankfurt is a nice, compact city, don't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WEISSBIER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Victoria Hotel
#33 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Townhouse Hotel
#32 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Frankfurt - Alte Oper
Bahnhofsviertel
Ambassador Frankfurt Hotel
Ambassador Frankfurt Hotel
#96 of 269 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Innenstadt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
#24 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof

Property: Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Address: Elbestr. 7, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Bahnhofsviertel , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#35 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#55 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof. In the heart of Frankfurt, next to the “main station Frankfurt“, the new Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof Hotel recently opened in March 2011. Just a few minutes walk to the city centre and famous sights of Frankfurt like the Opera Frankfurt, the Staedel Museum, the German Museum of Architecture, the Goethe House or St. Leonhards’ Church. The Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhofis the perfect place to stay to discover the famous business city Frankfurt am Main. Our 116 comfortable air-conditioned, non smoking bedrooms, with flat screen colour TV, offer a telephone, a safe, high speed Wi-Fi internet connectivity, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. Our continental breakfast buffet is included. We have integrated the dynamic philosophy of the Holiday Inn Express brand into the meetings sector and look forward to your request for a professionally run conference. 1 modern meeting room, 25m² with air conditioning is available for your meeting.We are looking forward to your visit at the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing