We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #49 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good business stay”
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Have in the hotel for fair for 4 nights the hotel is new , small but nice .
Staff was good , friendly , and gave us good service.
The room were new , clean , and nice.
The hotel breakfast little small but ok .
The location is good near central station 5 minutes walk.
Nice Italian restaurant across the street and many other Turkish restaurant near by.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sirisyos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Sirisyos,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt HBF. We are happy to read that you liked our facilities. Yes, breakfast is Continental only but also free of charge.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards
Arndt Writzel, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    437
    145
    26
    23
See reviews for
139
248
70
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We were a family of four and used this hotel as a base while we were in and out of Frankfurt. We agree with what we found with most of the reviews. Hotel was clean and conveniently located close to the train/subway station and within walking distance to the old town which was a must for our travel purposes . The staff was polite and respectful. The breakfast was acceptable but became tiresome the longer we stayed there. However, It is conveniently located close to fruit markets, restaurants ( including fast food) and grocery stores. The area can get seedy but overtime we got used to walking through it. In all the different rooms that we stayed in, we had one consistent problem: the room can get stuffy, and hot. So hot, that we had to open the windows and keep it open until the air conditioning ( or rather fan?) gets going, which could take awhile..So while we were trying to sleep, we were uncomfortable.In hindsight, I'm not sure now whether the great location was worth the sacrifice in comfort level.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebang8689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Ebang8689,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof.

I am very sorry to hear that the room temperature was not acceptable. We have forwarded your comment to the responsible technician with immediate effect in order to find an appropriate solution for this situation.

I regret that this will not have a positive effect on your stay anymore yet we hope that you will give us another try during your next stay in Frankfurt.

Kind regards
Arndt Writzel, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Was in this hotel for two nights. Needed a hotel near the main train station and the exhibition centre. The hotel is well located. Staff is friendly with some good check in/check out proceedures. The room is spacious, bathroom with very large Shower. The condition of the room was good, clean and although no mini bar, there is a coffee maker. TV programs could be updated as there are channels not working. During the night, depending on which side your room is allocated there can be some noise from the road especially in the early morning hours. Overall a positive stay. Will return if needed.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oberwil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Oberwil1,

Thank you very much for patronizing Holiday Inn Express and your time to review our hotel. We are happy to read that you liked staying with us and that you intend to come back your next time around.

We are currently working on improving the selection of television channels so that you can choose from a wider selection of channels during your next stay.

Kind regards
Arndt Writzel, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
312 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This was our first experience of the low cost Holiday Inn Express type hotel and we now wonder why we bothered to stay in the regular Holiday Inns. This one is clean, modern and just what you need as a traveller. Breakfast is suitable and across the road is a fantastic Italian Restaurant that should not be missed.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InquisitorX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear InquisitorX,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt HBF.

We appreciate reading that you liked your stay and we fully agree with you: There is no reason to go anywhere else.

Best wishes
Arndt Writzel, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Booked two rooms on line. Nothing too much trouble for the pleasant front desk staff. Lots of local,cheap cafes with good food just outside the hotel. Only two blocks from main station and a short walk to the CBD. Good breakfast, very pleasant experience,will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeebeeQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear PeebeeQld,

Great, many thanks for your very positive review!

I fully agree, there are plenty of good eating choices around. May I recommend "Hamsilos & Schenk" fish restaurant across the street? Now, travelling to Frankfurt fresh seafood would not be the first thing that crosses your mind. But their food off the grill is great and prices are low. Combine that with a chilled glass of white wine and your evening cannot get much better. Unless you are staying with us.

Kind regards
Arndt Writzel, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The location of the hotel is good - you can reach the center or the river by foot (but you do have to walk for several minutes).
Parking was difficult to find near the hotel. The hotel has it's own parking, for a fee of 15 euros, but the space is limited and when we arrived, there was no room left. Spent some time finding parking...
The surrounding area is not so problematic as mentioned in other reviews. There are cafe's and restaurants near the hotel, there are some immigrants areas, but it's all seemed OK and safe. Nothing intimidating.
The receptionist wasn't very welcoming and let us the feeling we were bothering him. He gave us just 1 card to the room, although we were a family of 4. You need the card for the elevator, you need it again to enter the corridor and again in the room (for electricity), which is not so comfortable.
The room itself is fine, big enough, clean. Big flat screen TV.
The design was dull, with dark walls and no pictures to break the dullness.
The bathroom is fine, the shower cap was fine, with a good current.
Didn't like the fact that the sink in the bathroom was higher than usual - not comfortable for short people. Also, the buttons to flush the water in the bathroom are located behind the toilet lid, which makes you have to close the lid each time you want to flush the water.
Breakfast was good - besides the usual jams, there were different breads, hams, cheese, fresh cucumbers and tomatoes, many fruits, yogurts, hard boiled eggs, big croissants and a good coffee machine.
Wi-Fi internet costs money, but priority club members get it for free.
All in all - a nice hotel for a short stay in the center of Frankfurt, but with flaws.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Transy,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt HBF.

I am sorry to read that you were not fully satisfied with our services. We will address your comment on staff friendliness in the next staff meeting. I fully agree with you that a good hotel must provide a warm welcome.

As for the parking we are unable to find a better solution I am afraid. We have a limited number of parking lots available but there are plenty of parking garages around the area. Free parking is either luck or requires a lot of patience.

We hope to welcome you back here during your next time around.

Kind regards
Arndt Writzel, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I travel a lot and invariably use the Holiday Inn brands as I know what to expect. Generally they offer basic but comfortable accommodation, decent food, and friendly, helpful staff. Unfortunately this particular hotel fell short on both the food and the staff. Perhaps I should of checked, but there is no restaurant in this hotel. This isn't great when you're travelling on your own and don't want to roam the streets looking for somewhere to eat. It also means that breakfast was a poor range of cold cuts and croissant. The staff were abrupt and didn't seem particularly interested in anything that I needed. This included nothing fancy, just a wake up call request, and a taxi booking. Needless to say, I won't go back to this particular hotel.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Not_that_Potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Mr. Not_that_Potter,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt HBF.

I believe you may confuse Holiday Inn with Holiday Inn Express. We are the latter. The main differentiators to a Holiday Inn are:
* rooms are slightly smaller
* breakfast is "only" Continental
* hotels do not have a restaurant

As for the breakfast you may have noticed that we did not charge for the Continental type we provided. This is a standard with Holiday Inn Express.

I will make sure to include your comment on staff friendliness in the next staff meeting. I fully agree with you that a warm welcome and attentiveness to guest requests is a key concern.

Kind regards
Arndt Writzel, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Victoria Hotel
#33 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Townhouse Hotel
#34 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Frankfurt - Alte Oper
Bahnhofsviertel
Ambassador Frankfurt Hotel
Ambassador Frankfurt Hotel
#95 of 269 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Innenstadt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
#24 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof

Property: Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Address: Elbestr. 7, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Bahnhofsviertel , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#35 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#55 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof. In the heart of Frankfurt, next to the “main station Frankfurt“, the new Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof Hotel recently opened in March 2011. Just a few minutes walk to the city centre and famous sights of Frankfurt like the Opera Frankfurt, the Staedel Museum, the German Museum of Architecture, the Goethe House or St. Leonhards’ Church. The Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhofis the perfect place to stay to discover the famous business city Frankfurt am Main. Our 116 comfortable air-conditioned, non smoking bedrooms, with flat screen colour TV, offer a telephone, a safe, high speed Wi-Fi internet connectivity, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. Our continental breakfast buffet is included. We have integrated the dynamic philosophy of the Holiday Inn Express brand into the meetings sector and look forward to your request for a professionally run conference. 1 modern meeting room, 25m² with air conditioning is available for your meeting.We are looking forward to your visit at the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing