We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Classy & Central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #48 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
184 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Clean, Classy & Central”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I have to say as I've worked my way around Germany that HIEX as they refer to themselves have really set the bar. The facilities are neat, clean and modern. I've stayed in Hamburg, Schwabach and now Frankfurt. Greetings are professional, truly friendly, English well spoken and a relaxed vibe around the property.

Parking is tight and not free, but available. Security within seems state of the art, as the building is mixed use, so keyed access is necessary to get from one wing to another, and off the ground floor on the elevator. It's likely a very green property as the hallway lights are off unless there is motion in the halls at night. At first blush, unusual, but once you're there one night, it's quiet, safe and spotless.

Dinner options are non existent, but there's an adequate bar, and breakfast is standard European fare, mixed meats, breads, vegetables, yogurt, coffee, juices etc; all nicely done; and importantly...well attended by friendly servers. It's a great spot in the city centre, and literally a couple of blocks to the central train station.

Dining options abound, the neighborhood is middle eastern/Turkish but a couple walks block can take you around the world, Italian, Chinese, Australian, and oh yes German! I've enjoyed a Turkish place a half block away called Merkez. Nothing not to like here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraad, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Blue Water Lovers,

thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms really nice and comfortable! It was a pleasure to have you staying with us!

On behalf of my team I would like to thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof and express the hope to see you again in the nearest future!

Hope you have a good day!

Kind regards,

Sandra-Christina Leib
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    441
    146
    26
    23
See reviews for
141
250
70
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed 2 nights with family. Hotel is conveniently located, close to Hauptbahnhof (central railway station). Shopping is a short walk away and the river is two blocks from here. A bit longer walk to the old town, but if you are used to walking, Frankfurt in general is a very walkable city.

The hotel is very modern and clean, breakfast is good and even though the area seems small there were plenty of space available. The hotel staff was very helpful and always ready to answer your inquiries.

The only con is that rooms are quite small. Suitable for two persons but with family - if you open the sofa-bed, there's hardly any room to store your luggage or to do anything in the room. We only spent here 2 nights and did nothing else than slept in the room so wasn't a big problem for us.

Overall I think that we got a good value for money and would consider staying again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Petteri,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us!

We are glad that you chose our Hotel among the others and brought your family to stay with us, too. We are a very family oriented, non-smoking Hotel and we possess all the means to make your stay with your family comfortable-baby cribs, sofa beds, gluten and lactose free products for breakfast, special baby chairs and and opportunity to put a family into two connecting rooms.

It makes me sad to read that you found our rooms to be a bit small and experienced discomfort due to the size of your room. Some of our rooms are a bit bigger and normally we do our best to give them to the families with children. It is highly possible that we were fully booked on the date of your arrival and there was no opportunity to place you there.

On behalf of my team I would like to invite you to stay with us again during your next trip to Frankfurt and I can definitely assure you that we will do our best to make your next stay with us truly comfortable!

I wish you a great day!

Kind regards,

Elena Hannappel
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed overnight on 16th September. Hotel convenient to Hauptbahnhof (main railway station) and to all public transport, so everywhere is within easy reach. Typical HIEX property and in my opinion it's one of the better ones. Staff were friendly and efficient at all times. Public areas and room were spotlessly clean. Comfortable beds and large shower cubicle. Good breakfast included. My only gripe is that when there was a fire alarm and evacuation at 0615hrs the staff were not very pro-active in assisting the guests to leave the building. They stayed in the breakfast area and behind the check in desk. When the fire brigade gave the all clear, the staff disappeared back into the kitchen or back behind the check in desk. No-one said anything about what had happened even at check out. However, I would stay here again and hope that this was a one-off incident.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank anthuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear anthuts,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us!

We value the opinion of our guests and take all your comments very seriously. First of all, I would like to apologize to you for the incident with the fire alarm. There was no real danger as it happened due to the violation of our non-smoking policy in on of the rooms as our smoke detectors are really sensitive. We figured it out even before the arrival of the fire brigade therefore the personnel might have seemed unexpectedly calm. There was no real danger, but I am still deeply sorry for the interruption of your sleep at such an early hour!

I would like to thank you for your loyalty and your willingness to stay with us again regardless the above mentioned incident. I can assure you that we will definitely do our best to make your next stay with us just perfect with only positive surprises and no unexpected "wake up calls"!

We are wishing you all the best and looking forward to seeing you at out Hotel!

Kind regards,

Elena Hannappel
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We spent a couple of peaceful nights here. The Hotel is clean and tidy and the staff were very helpful. Breakfast is included and was an excellent start to the day.The hotel is perfectly situated to see the Frankfurt City.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solsburyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear solsburyway,

It is so great to read your brief but such a pleasant review!

We are putting a lot of efforts into making our guests happy and comfortable at our Hotel and it really means a lot to us when our customers give us such nice feedbacks. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really appreciate the high rating you gave us on tripadvisor.com!

I would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel and to wish you all the best for your upcoming trips! I hope we will see you again during your next visit to Frankfurt!

Kind regards,

Elena Hannappel
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The hotel is good, well maintain and clean, self service in all way, location is very near to main train station, its just 10 to 12 minute walkfrom station, the hotel is in the street and not on main road, you have to take right from roundabout...but rooms are good and main advantage ia so close from train station so you can just spend night and next day left for your other destination...in my point of view best for few days means 2 or 3 days....

Room Tip: all rooms are good......
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jigarthanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear jigarthanki,

Thank you for your review and the high score you gave to our Hotel!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms really nice and comfortable! It was a pleasure to have you staying with us!

On behalf of my team I would like to thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof and express the hope to see you again in the nearest future!

Kind regards,

Elena Hannappel
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

From Frankfurt Main Bahnhof, go straight and turn right 2nd crossroad, you will find it. It is about 7 minutes by walk. Many choices of low cost food nearby. Stay 2 nights there. Value for bucks.

The receiptionist for check-in is not very pleasing but OK. The security system is good, you need IC card to enter elevator and the room area. That may not be a very safe district I guess, quite many small size casinos close by.

The room looks excellent. I do love the bed especially. Breakfast is quite decent for the price.

The location has easy access to public transportation. Tram 11 and 12 can take you to Dom area for sightseeing. U4 then U7 will lead you to Hauptwache where you can go for shopping.

Room Tip: nothing special
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shunyugu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear Shunyugu,

Thank you for your review on our Hotel!

Every feedback from our guests is extremely important for us and we take all your reviews very seriously. It seems to me that you were not completely satisfied with your check in experience and we will definitely take all the corrective actions in order to improve it. I am very sorry we did not live up to your expectations in this aspect.

We really appreciate your choice of Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof! It is a pleasure to read that you liked your room and found our bed to be really comfortable! I hope your check in experience did not spoil the overall impression of our Hotel and we will see you again in the nearest future!!!

We wish you all the best!

Kind regards,

Elena Hannappel
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed only one night but everything was just perfect. Rooms are very good, big, comfortable and niceley equiped. The Area is also good, alot of foodspots just around the corner. Easy walking distance to the Hauptbahnhof (central trainstation). Despite being in the heart of the city it was very quiet in the room.The breakfast was quite good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robby2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXFRAAD, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear Robby2807,

It is really great that you enjoyed your stay with us! I would like to thank you for your time and the effort to write a review on Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof!

It is a pity you only stayed with us for one night as Frankfurt is a great city to explore and our location makes it really convenient. On behalf of our staff members I would like to express the hope to see you again and to thank you for choosing our Hotel! Loyalty of our guests is the most valuable thing for us and we would be really happy if you joined our IHG Rewards Club-which is absolutely free of charge and can bring you multiple benefits during your future stays with IHG Hotels! You can get to know more about our loyalty program on the following link http://www.ihg.com/hotels/de/de/rewardsclub/home.

Thank you for staying with us! We wish you all the best!

Kind regards,

Elena Hannappel
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Townhouse Hotel
#27 of 269 in Frankfurt
267 reviews
Victoria Hotel
#30 of 269 in Frankfurt
460 reviews
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Frankfurt - Alte Oper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bahnhofsviertel
Ambassador Frankfurt Hotel
Ambassador Frankfurt Hotel
#106 of 269 in Frankfurt
723 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#10 of 269 in Frankfurt
766 reviews
Innenstadt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
#23 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof

Property: Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Address: Elbestr. 7, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Bahnhofsviertel , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#35 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#55 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof. In the heart of Frankfurt, next to the “main station Frankfurt“, the new Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof Hotel recently opened in March 2011. Just a few minutes walk to the city centre and famous sights of Frankfurt like the Opera Frankfurt, the Staedel Museum, the German Museum of Architecture, the Goethe House or St. Leonhards’ Church. The Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhofis the perfect place to stay to discover the famous business city Frankfurt am Main. Our 116 comfortable air-conditioned, non smoking bedrooms, with flat screen colour TV, offer a telephone, a safe, high speed Wi-Fi internet connectivity, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. Our continental breakfast buffet is included. We have integrated the dynamic philosophy of the Holiday Inn Express brand into the meetings sector and look forward to your request for a professionally run conference. 1 modern meeting room, 25m² with air conditioning is available for your meeting.We are looking forward to your visit at the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing