We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, good location and good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #53 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value, good location and good service”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is one of the better Holiday Inn Express hotels I have seen around. Modern rooms, good sized bathrooms and good breakfast.

As with many budget hotels WiFi is included throughout the hotel at a good speed, including in the rooms.

The hotel is located within short walking distance to the main train station as well as the beautiful Main river banks.

Room Tip: Best to ask for a room to the backside of the hotel. The front can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YanXunLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraad, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear YanXunLong,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel online.
We would like to thank you for your pleasant words and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back to Frankfurt on your next visit.
Kind regards,
Natalie Grice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    448
    154
    29
    25
See reviews for
150
253
72
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here for three nights whilst visiting the city for the Christmas market.
The location had concerned us after reading some negative reviews but we should not have worried. The area isn't nice, but it isn't bad. We felt safe at all times and found the short walk into the city centre quite easy.
The hotel is just around the corner from the train station and a couple of streets away from some nice restaurants.
Our room was a priority club suite and was very spacious. We had a lovely walk-in shower and lots of tea & coffee.
The breakfast was standard for a HIE and the service was excellent. We found the reception staff very polite & helpful.
Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannah_Allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraad, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Hannah_Allen,

Thank you for your kind online review.
We hope you enjoyed visiting our beautiful Christmas market!
It is very important to us that our guests feel safe whilst walking around Frankfurt.
Our location is ideal for getting to the station and also for walking into the city centre and we are glad to see that you enjoyed this practical positioning.
Thank you for your praise of our staff; we are always eager to help in any way we can.
We hope you will come and stay with us again next year!

Kind regards,
Natalie Grice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
226 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Extremely nice hotel located just a few minutes from the Hauptbahnhof. Check-in was quick and friendly. Very nice lobby, with small bar and large breakfast area. Room was on the 4th floor away from the street side of the hotel, it was very quiet. Room was large with a double bed, work desk, flat screen TV, the bath room offers a large walk-in shower, Hotel does offer wi fi internet but does charge for this service unless you are a Platinum awards member or higher. Smoking in the pubic areas of the hotel or rooms is not permitted. The breakfast buffet is complimentary and has a good variety of foods on offer. Pubic transportation is less than a block away. The area is mostly middle eastern with a great many restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yvr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraad, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear yvr1,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a pleasant review about our hotel.
We always strive to ensure our guests are happy and comfortable during their stay with us, and it is really satisfying to receive such positive feedback.
I am pleased that you benefitted from our very practical location and the numerous facilities that our rooms and hotel have to offer.
I’m really glad that you had such an enjoyable stay and hope we can welcome you back during your next visit to Frankfurt.

Kind regards,
Natalie Grice
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We booked for an additional day at this property, because we were arriving early in the morning, much before the specified check-in time.. We were given a room on arrival and was never charged for the couple of hours we arrived earlier. The hotel does not have a Restaurant, but the staff was very courteous in helping us order food from outside and helped us with language too. Location amidst some facties and there is nothing around as you step out of the hotel. congested rooms..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vijay0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraad, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Vijay0601,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.
We gladly check in guests that arrive early provided we have rooms already available.
Due to our hotel being an Express hotel we do not have a restaurant, just breakfast.
I am glad we were able to assist you during your stay, we are always very glad to help our guests.
I’m sorry to hear you had a problem with the room; all our rooms are equipped with the same facilities and are of the same standard size.
Thank you again for your review and your stay in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Natalie Grice
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

we arrived at the hotel early morning hoping to leave our baggage until check in time and was told by the receptionist we could have a room straight away, excellent start to our stay. the room we got was quite big and very comfortable with a kettle and a safe. it was kept very clean aswell. the hotel is in a good location & a 5 minute walk from the main station, the main shopping areas and the river. there are plenty of cafes and restaraunts nearby. there is a bit of a dodgy looking red light area a few streets away but it doesn't spread near the hotel. the hotel in general is kept clean and quite secure inside. the receptionists were that we spoke with all seemed friendly and helpful and spoke English to a good standard. the breakfast was ok and was constantly kept well stocked up.
we only really had one complaint, don't know if it was normal practice or not, but every morning of our 3 night stay the cleaners tried to come in and clean the room between 8.30 - 9a.m,now we
know why we managed to get an early check in! other than this I would have no complaints about staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1mickt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraad, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear 1mickt,
Thank you for your online review of your stay at our hotel.
I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you benefitted from our practical location.
I’m very sorry that you had problems with the cleaners, but thank you for bringing this to our attention and we will strive to improve on this.
We hope to see you again in Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof.
Kind regards,
NatalieGrice
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

May be the best HIE experience I ever had. The price was just right,and the staff was very welcoming and warm, and extremely responsive to any guest issues. For example, my room safe wouldn't open and they were in the room within 2 minutes of calling. Luggage storage is available for guests as well - ideal for touring the city and catching a late flight. The room was modern, very quiet and clean, with typical HIE amenities, internet was included ad worked very well.
The hotel is within a short walk from Hauptbahnhof (main train station) and very manageable even with checked luggage. It is also just outside the red light district, so you can satisfy your curiosity and retreat to safe neighborhood in a snap.
Much better value than airport hotels!

FYI, the S-Bahn to/from airport is very convenient and fast and was only 4.25 Eur each way, you can pay with a credit card. A taxi would set you back more than 40 Eur each way.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MsafiriTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraad, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear MsafiriTexas,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your lovely experience with us online.
I’m so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
I wish you well and hope to see you again at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof.

Kind regards,
Natalie Grice
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We picked ths hotel because we were going to be taking the train from the airport and the hotel got good reviews on this site. It was definitely a "mixed bag". The front desk staff was not always that helpful. It definitely depended on the person. The area is not the greatest but we were aware of that. On the other hand, you are very close to the old town and to some major shopping areas. Not to mention the train station. Breakfast was definitely good and the rooms themselves were clean and modern. The biggest issue we had was the beds. I don't think the bed was even as big as a double bed (room was booked for 2 adults) and it was the worst bed I have ever slept in!!! The mattress felt like all it was was a large slab of foam rubber. Talk about bouncy! We stayed here the first and the last night of our trip and on the second visit the phone was sitting on a ledge next to the bed. It was so close that when I turned over I hit my head on it! Will be honest, if we could of we would have changed our reservation for the second night. Won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel53NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraad, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear travel53NewJersey,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate all comments and try to improve on all aspects.
I’m glad that you enjoyed and benefitted from our practical location, both near the main train station and the shopping areas.
I’m sorry to hear that you had problems with the bed; we are an express hotel and our double room consists of a queen-size bed.
Thank you again for your visit and feedback.
Kind regards,
Natalie Grice
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Frankfurt - Alte Oper
Townhouse Hotel
#25 of 269 in Frankfurt
277 reviews
Victoria Hotel
#36 of 269 in Frankfurt
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#8 of 269 in Frankfurt
779 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#32 of 269 in Frankfurt
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof

Property: Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Address: Elbestr. 7, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Bahnhofsviertel , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#37 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#55 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof. In the heart of Frankfurt, next to the “main station Frankfurt“, the new Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof Hotel recently opened in March 2011. Just a few minutes walk to the city centre and famous sights of Frankfurt like the Opera Frankfurt, the Staedel Museum, the German Museum of Architecture, the Goethe House or St. Leonhards’ Church. The Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhofis the perfect place to stay to discover the famous business city Frankfurt am Main. Our 116 comfortable air-conditioned, non smoking bedrooms, with flat screen colour TV, offer a telephone, a safe, high speed Wi-Fi internet connectivity, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. Our continental breakfast buffet is included. We have integrated the dynamic philosophy of the Holiday Inn Express brand into the meetings sector and look forward to your request for a professionally run conference. 1 modern meeting room, 25m² with air conditioning is available for your meeting.We are looking forward to your visit at the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing