We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #50 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Hospitality”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

It's always nice to find a new hotel that truly understands hospitality. This hotel located near the train station in Frankfurt offered a clean, comfortable, well organized and friendly place to stay on our just completed business trip to Frankfurt.

Natalie and her team at the front desk could not have been more helpful during the check in and check out. Pleasant and knowledgeable, their enthusiasm for providing for the hotel guests was great to see. During the evening, the front desk staff of Daniel and Markus were friendly and very helpful also in giving directions, finding a place to eat, etc.

A couple of specifics...one good and one that the hotel might work on...

The hotel's wi-fi was excellent, although not free. Often, as a business traveler, you find the hotel you're staying in has a wi-fi set that is very "iffy". Not the case here. I found this hotel's connection to the internet was excellent.

An area of opportunity might be to improve the towels in the guest rooms. It's a very small complaint, but softer, perhaps, newer towels would make the in-room guest experience quite a bit better. But, again, not a major issue at all.

So, thank you to the team at this hotel for making a quick visit to Frankfurt a very pleasant experience. Nice to see such efficient and pleasant hospitality is still in the hospitality industry. Very well done, all the way around.

Room Tip: Room up and away from the street was incredibly quiet and great for sleeping. Italian restaurant acr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabletopjournal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraad, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear tabletopjournal,

thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful online review full of praise.

We are delighted that you were made to feel at home during your stay due to our helpful and friendly staff. We are so pleased to see that we had such a positive impact on your visit!
We are glad that you found our wifi connection to be very reliable and worth the fee.
Thank you for bringing the towel issue to our attention, we will see what we can do to try and improve this in future.

Once again thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit.

Kind regards,
Natalie Grice
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    445
    150
    27
    24
See reviews for
145
253
70
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The hotel is 2 blocks away from the main hauptbanhoff ( train station ) in Frankfurt. It is about 3 blocks away from the old town of Frankfurt and it's famous cathedral Dom St. Bartholomaus. The surrounding structures of the hotel is not impressive as some heave even describe it as the red light district but it's convenient location between the citys main attractions and the main train station makes up for this reputation. The hotel itself looks new and secure ( The entry door to the rooms is locked and can only be accesed by room keys) The staff are friendly. The breakfast buffet is not so good with limited choices. I was given a big corner room due to my gold member status which was great.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel are good due to the fact it could be quiter than the ones in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraad, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Marvin M,

Thank you for writing an online review for our hotel.
We thank you for your gold member status and are glad that you enjoyed your priority club room.
It is easy to go into Frankfurt sight-seeing or shopping on the Zeil due to our location and we are pleased to see that you enjoyed this.
Breakfast is included so all of our guests can have a good start to their day and we are sorry that you were not impressed by the variety on offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof.

Kind regards,

Natalie Grice
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed here on the last night of our trip to be close to the hauptbahnhof in order to catch the train to the airport the following morning. The hotel is an easy 10 minute walk from the station off a side street in an area that contains a lot of activity and diversity. The staff was pleasant and our double room was of a decent size, contained adequate storage space, very clean, modern, comfortable and quiet. Free Wi-Fi included. The continental breakfast was typical European and the eating area was fairly large and adequate. The hotel is security minded as we needed our room card key to get through elevator/doors to return to our room. After our late afternoon check-in we took a random walk that wound up taking 4 hours through the financial area, a Christmas market near the Cathedral of St. Bartholomew (a must see) and along the River Main. Spectacular views at night! We always felt safe at night including the area around the hotel. The price was reasonable (89 Euros) and served our need for easy access to the airport. We would not hesitate to stay here again under similar circumstances.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_5581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraad, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Steve_5581,

Thank you for your online review.

We are pleased that you chose our hotel due to its practical location. We are delighted to read that you were so satisfied with the design of your room and hope you had a good nights sleep.
Our magnetised keycard system is currently used in most hotels and we feel it gives our guests peace of mind knowing that such an advanced system is operating in our hotel.

We are glad that you did a lot of sightseeing during your stay and we hope you will choose our hotel again.

Kind regards,
Natalie Grice
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The staff were very pleasant and could all speak some English, it's about a 10-15 minute walk from the Christmas markets which was fine, it's a bit tricky to work out how to get to the markets at first, but easy to remember once you have done it! It's not far from the train stration, the trams or myzeil. The breakfast was a normal basic european breakfast, but it was nice enough. The room was really nice, the views outside were terrible but what to you expect in a city! The shower was a lovely big walk in shower too. The rooms were cleaned everyday as well. The area the hotel is in is supposedly "the red light district" however other than busty dollys one street up it was fine, and that wasn't even seedy or anything, everything is well hidden! Theres a lot of turkish shops around the area, however if you walk 5 minutes up the road it's all german, it's good for a budget holiday, we had a nice stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bekkrawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraad, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Bekkrawr,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a pleasant review about our hotel.
We always appreciate all feedback from our guests and it is greatly important for us that our guests feel happy during their stay.
We are glad that you benefitted from our practical location and hope that you enjoyed your time at the Christmas market! We are also pleased to see that you were satisfied with your room, it’s facilities and the cleanliness.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Natalie Grice
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Basic room for one person. Prohibitively expensive (270 € per night for one person).
And no free WiFi access!
Breakfast, with only the local deli, orange juice more water than orange.
Such a benefit is not worth the price paid.
To be avoided, there are many other hotels in this area!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agn_s_G123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraad, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Agn_s_G123,
Thank you for your online review.
I believe your stay must have been during the fair in Frankfurt, at these times the rates are increased in all hotels due to the demand for rooms. I apologise for any inconvenience that this may have caused.
Breakfast is free of charge for our guests to help you have the best start to your day. There is a varied selection to choose from so there is something for everyone.
Wifi is free of charge for our IHG Rewards Club members and available to all non-members throughout the hotel for just 5€ for 24 hours.
I am really sorry that you were unsatisfied with your stay with us this time; however I hope you will give us a second chance to improve upon this.
Kind regards,
Natalie Grice
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We arrived after a very stressful day travelling from Zurich due to train delays, so were quite tired and we were hoping for a nice hotel and to our delight we found just that! A very clean, modern and well maintained hotel. Big rooms by European standards and a nice big bathroom. Only flaw was the mattress was lumpy, but was sorted by staff who bought a another doona for us to put on it - problem fixed. Breakfast was a great choice, staff very friendly and was convenient especially if you are catching a River Cruise, as the River is just a couple of blocks away. Some nice restaurants close by and very well priced. Well deserved high rating.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mawsonAdelaideAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraad, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear mawsonAdelaideAust,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to see that you could relax and enjoy our hotel after a long day’s journey.
I’m terribly sorry that you had an issue with the mattress, although I am glad that we that quickly found a suitable solution for you.
We are glad you were able to make the most of your stay due to our practical location and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Frankfurt.
Kind regards,
Natalie Grice
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This was our last in Europe after staying at 13 other hotels around Germany, Italy and France. The hotel is in a great location, it was about a 10-15 min walk from the train station. This was the best value in Frankfurt at the time ($150 night). The room was very modern and gave the appearance of a new hotel. The bathroom was spotless and new as well. The staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. We walked to "old town" for dinner (15-20 walk) but could have taken the tram as it is fairly close to the hotel. We checked out early due to our flight and found the breakfast area open. We will definitely consider the HI express when returning to Frankfurt.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockobarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraad, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear rockobarr,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review of our hotel.
We are really pleased to see that you enjoyed our hotel and location and are really glad that you were impressed with our services. Our customers’ satisfaction is greatly important to us and we are always delighted to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay.
Thank you for your stay and we hope to welcome you back to Frankfurt.
Kind regards,
Natalie Grice
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Townhouse Hotel
#31 of 269 in Frankfurt
271 reviews
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Frankfurt - Alte Oper
Victoria Hotel
#39 of 269 in Frankfurt
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bahnhofsviertel
Ambassador Frankfurt Hotel
Ambassador Frankfurt Hotel
#111 of 269 in Frankfurt
727 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#8 of 269 in Frankfurt
774 reviews
Innenstadt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
#24 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof

Property: Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Address: Elbestr. 7, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Bahnhofsviertel , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#35 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#55 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof. In the heart of Frankfurt, next to the “main station Frankfurt“, the new Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof Hotel recently opened in March 2011. Just a few minutes walk to the city centre and famous sights of Frankfurt like the Opera Frankfurt, the Staedel Museum, the German Museum of Architecture, the Goethe House or St. Leonhards’ Church. The Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhofis the perfect place to stay to discover the famous business city Frankfurt am Main. Our 116 comfortable air-conditioned, non smoking bedrooms, with flat screen colour TV, offer a telephone, a safe, high speed Wi-Fi internet connectivity, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. Our continental breakfast buffet is included. We have integrated the dynamic philosophy of the Holiday Inn Express brand into the meetings sector and look forward to your request for a professionally run conference. 1 modern meeting room, 25m² with air conditioning is available for your meeting.We are looking forward to your visit at the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing