We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #54 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel in February 2014. It is well located as everyone says. Plenty of good dinning options. Breakfast is enough to get you through lunch.
It is clean and rooms are modern.
I had the misfortune to be checked in by a young lady by the name of Leib that was not having a good day that morning. Other than that, staff was courteous throughout of stay.
No doubt we would return to this hotel when in Frankfurt.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripadvfan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraad, Junior Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear tripadvfan12,

Thank you for writing an online review about your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed our good location and our included breakfast. Cleanliness is one of our high priorities and we are pleased to see that you were impressed with your room.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time!

Kind regards,

Natalie Grice

Junior Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (894)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 894 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel was the most up-to-date, modern hotel of the three we stayed at during our recent vacation. The staff were very helpful in reserving a tour to Heidelberg and with any questions we had during our stay. The only downside was our room had an awful sewage smell every day when we returned to our room. We forgot to mention it when we checked out, but hotel staff - please take note (I believe it was room 207 or something like that). It was not pleasant to walk into. :-/

Overall, the location is pretty close to the train station which was the main factor in our travel agent booking this one for us. The neighborhood seemed a little sketch, but we didn't do a ton of walking around late at night. The Italian restaurant across the street is yummy and the staff there is very kind, too - in case you need a quick dinner somewhere close.

It's a quick walk over to the Staedel Museum and the river - beautiful walking area over there, too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmc0330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraad, Junior Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear nmc0330,

Thank you for your online review.
We are delighted to see that you were so pleased with our hotel, and we hope you enjoyed your trip to Heidelberg! Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention, we will look into it immediately. We are glad that our practical location was a deciding factor in your hotel choice, and we hope that this made your stay more pleasant and easy to get about.

We hope to see you again at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof.

Kind regards,

Natalie Grice

Junior Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

close to the frankfurt central station, very accessible to all locations and downtown frankfurt. great staff, comfortable stay. simple yet good complimentary breakfast. i enjoyed my stay and will come back again while in Frankfurt.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sathish99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraad, Junior Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Sathish99,

thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us.
We are pleased to see that you found our location practical for visiting the city and also that you felt welcome and content during your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time!

Kind regards,

Natalie Grice

Junior Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel prior to leaving on our river cruise. We arrived early having flown over 24 hours and they allowed us to access our room earlier than usual which was wonderful because we were exhausted and needed to rest. The rooms and facilities were very clean. It is in a perfect location, close to the rail station and the city centre. The morning of our cruise, we walked from the hotel to the boat and it only took about 10 minutes. There are plenty of restaurants close by and we felt safe to walk around at night. The breakfast was plentiful and the staff were very helpful, allowing us to leave our suitcases at the hotel when we first arrived. They also spoke excellent English. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbug2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraad, Junior Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Travelbug2103,

Thank you for your online review.

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We cannot always guarantee an early check-in, but if we have rooms available upon your arrival we are more than happy to check our guests in earlier. We are also glad to see that you were impressed by the cleanliness and amenities in the room. Our practical location is a great advantage for many of our guests and we are pleased that you also benefitted from this.

We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Kind regards,

Natalie Grice

Junior Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel is situated 5 minutes away from Franfurt Central Station.

Within 5 minutes you get to Main waterside, within 15 minutes you get to the heart of the city with Römer and Cathedral.
The hotel is situated in an international urban district. Next to the hotel is an italian and asian restaurant as well as a supermarket.

It offers the modern Holiday Inn Express standard and adresses international customers.
I could hear English, Spanish and Chinese. Great for globetrotters.

I liked the green shade of color of the hotel logo as well as the blue shades of color in the rooms.
The room contains all essential features for a city- or business-trip, for instance a safe, water boiler, little desk, modern flat screen.
The glas shower is superb.
Not optimal is the water bassin which is to high.

Breakfast was sufficient for a good start in the day and comprised rools, rice bread, cheese, sausage, hot beverages, eggs etc.

Unfortunately, the rolls were not the best and obviously crisped up. I can not understand that as near the hotel there was a sufficient number of bakeries.

The hotel staff at the bar in the evening was very friendly and helpful and even had a smile in the face.

However, at check-in, the personal welcome was lacking. At check-out, nobody asked whether I was satisfied with my stay or not.

Within short time, this is the second Holiday Inn Express I visited where I had to criticize that.
Not understandable, as the first impression is so important in all areas of life.

Conclusion: The Hotel receives a "very good". If I receive a cordial welcome and fresh rolls at breakfast at my second stay, the hotel probably will get an "excellent".

The hotel is a very nice hotel for a city trip in this metropolis.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingMatt36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraad, Junior Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear TravellingMatt36,

thank you very much for your online review and your high rating.

We are delighted to see that you had such a pleasant stay with us and that you were satisfied with the style and ammenities in your room. We are terribly sorry to hear that you feel the welcome was not very warm and we shall work on this as it is very important for us to make our guests feel welcome and at home during their stay. The breakfast rolls, as well as the mini pain au chocolats and the croissants are baked fresh at the hotel every morning to ensure our guests have a great and tasty start to their day.

We hope to see you again next time at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof.

Kind regards,

Natalie Grice

Junior Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

A friend of mine suggested this hotel for a buisness trip I had in Frankfurt.Location is quite near the train station and only 15 minutes away from city centre on foot.It is just off the red light district but quite safe and tranquill area.
Receptionists were very friendly and could speak good English since I do not speak German.Room quite spacious and even ensuite bathroom clean and shiny.Breakfast was perfect.
Something to note on a personal level was that one night since I did not carry an umbrella,and I needed to go out ,the receptionist offered me an umbrella to make my night more comfortable.
Definitely will re stay and suggest it to friends.Guest room 222.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cliftonMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraad, Junior Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear cliftonMalta,

Thank you for your online review and high rating.

We are delighted to see that you were so satisfied with your stay. We are glad that our helpful staff made you feel welcome during your stay and that you feel we went the extra mile to make your time with us even more convenient. Breakfast is included for all of our guests and we are glad to see that you were pleased with this facility.

Thank you again for taking the time to write an online review and for your future recommendations, we look forward to seeing you again next time.

Kind Regards,

Natalie Grice

Junior Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Moderately sized room.

Clean, nice and modern styled hotel.

Good continental breakfast with satisfactory selection.

10 minutes away from main train station or 5 minutes away from other transport.

10 to 15 minutes away from financial centres, 20 minutes away from shopping centres.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RCV-MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraad, Junior Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear RCV-MT,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were particularly pleased with the cleanliness and design of the hotel and also our inclusive continental breakfast.

We hope to see you again next time at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof.

Kind regards,

Natalie Grice

Junior Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
#24 of 270 in Frankfurt
1,434 reviews
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Frankfurt - Alte Oper
Innenstadt
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Hotel
#33 of 270 in Frankfurt
503 reviews
Innenstadt
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
#47 of 270 in Frankfurt
1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof

Address: Elbestr. 7, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Bahnhofsviertel , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#37 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#54 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: £67 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof. In the heart of Frankfurt, next to the “main station Frankfurt“, the new Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof Hotel recently opened in March 2011. Just a few minutes walk to the city centre and famous sights of Frankfurt like the Opera Frankfurt, the Staedel Museum, the German Museum of Architecture, the Goethe House or St. Leonhards’ Church. The Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhofis the perfect place to stay to discover the famous business city Frankfurt am Main. Our 116 comfortable air-conditioned, non smoking bedrooms, with flat screen colour TV, offer a telephone, a safe, high speed Wi-Fi internet connectivity, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. Our continental breakfast buffet is included. We have integrated the dynamic philosophy of the Holiday Inn Express brand into the meetings sector and look forward to your request for a professionally run conference. 1 modern meeting room, 25m² with air conditioning is available for your meeting.We are looking forward to your visit at the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing