We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent unajyuu (鰻重)”
Review of Fujiwara

Fujiwara
Ranked #97 of 2,474 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Sachsenhausen-Nord
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent unajyuu (鰻重)”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Frist time at this restaurant for me. I've lived in Japan for 8 years so I always try to find authentic Japanese food places in Europe, between the myriad of "fake sushi shops" out here. As literally everyone in the restaurant was Japanese (staff and customers included) I thought I'd go wild and order my fav dish "Unajyuu" or eel-in-a-box. And boy was I surprised to find that it was simply delicious! I have a hard time finding "delicious" Unajyuu in Tokyo, and the fact that this EU restaurant is able to produce it to my high quality standard is simply amazing. I can only guess, but the rest of the menu must be equally delish. Will return there soon!

Helpful?
Thank Victor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    26
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
All over the place
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Refreshingly Authentic!”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

To echo the sentiment of a previous reviewer, Fujiwara is certainly not "cheap", but in this case we felt we most definitely got what we paid for. My wife and I lived in Tokyo for four years and can say without hesitation that our meal at Fujiwara was a carbon copy of the wonderful sushi meals we'd come to love (and take for granted) in Japan. It's tough to articulate how excited we were to walk through the door (first patrons of the evening, precisely at the posted opening time of 18:00) and hear a joyful "Irashaimase!" directed at us. Our waitress was a delight and spoke more than adequate English (never an expectation of ours, but rather a luxury in our opinion) and the chef gave us a gracious bow and thanks on our way out the door a mere 55 minutes later (we had to catch a concert at the Alte Opera). We will most definitely be back and recommend reservations for dinner, as every table was booked on the evening we dined here in late May.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason1076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
141 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“best Japanese in Frankfurt”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I love Japanese food and have tried almost all of the top places in Frankfurt; in my opinion, this one is the best. The best, however, comes at a price, and this one is decidedly not cheap. It is also tiny and impossible to get into without a reservation. That said, it's worth the effort. I have been on multiple occasions and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ExpatTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great sashimi”
Reviewed 13 January 2012

This restaurant has very authentic Japanese food. We ordered the salmon sashimi, the agedashi tofu, yakitori, and the tempura soba. The tempura dishes are fried very well, only complaint is it doesn't provide tentsuyu for the tempura (maybe it's because my tempura was part of the soba dish). The people running the restaurant and the sushi chef are japanese so they should know better. They're really cute though, totally gentle and quiet and very eager to make sure everything is perfect for you.

my boyfriend adored the salmon sashimi. It was very fresh, the meat was perfect and not mushy.

The restaurant is typically quite full. There were lots of Japanese and locals alike. If you are on the right side of the Main river, this is a perfect place for japanese food.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ivana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kotor, Montenegro
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Nice”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Very cute little Japanese restaurant. Excellent sushi and sashimi. Tempura is also great. Price a little bit a tall - but it is normal for the business of the city. Many Japanese visitors. No gin vodka .. .. but everything else was ok.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sea7212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fujiwara also viewed

Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 
Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Fujiwara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing